We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michelle Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I visit this place with my boyfriend for a 2 day escape. We really had a lovely time.
The rooms are nice equipped with a big taste, which is not usual for Sri Lanka. Everything is set perfectly. It is a new hotel so of course some of the things are not set yet but the staff is doing their best.
The food is more than good, we enyojed every bite.
The exterior and swimming pool with a perfect view. What more could you wish for.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Try a Suite with Mini Plunge Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

first time in sri lanka with my family (2 childrens aged 1 and 4) and very pleased to discover this very nice hotel that was open 10 months ago. the hotel has only 16 rooms .nice modern design and architecture. very nice duplex room with seaview and a nice terrace.The room was equiped with a home cinema. you can borrow blue ray dvd at the reception (free of charge). free Wifi in all aeras. the hotel is built well above the sea with a nice pool and a big terrace offering a nice view to the sea. there s an access to the beach but the sea is very rough.staff is very kind and helpfull. very good food , amazing breakfast a la carte (there s no buffet). the aera is very quiet and you will need a transport to discover other places .
overal quality of this hotel is very good, we will come back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel between 5th October and 10th October. We stayed in the Infinity suite. Having traveled extensively I found this hotel very friendly and welcoming, staff were all polite and helpful and the suite was beautiful.

The hotel itself is very close to the sea edge. I can imagine if you were sleeping in the rooms on the ground floor the sea when rough could be quite noisy. We were elevated in the infinity suite and you could hear the sea but for us it was quite relaxing. The room was well equipped with a lovely plunge pool which was very refreshing to dip in when we wanted to.

We would like to extend our thanks to a very special man who works at the hotel called Vijaya. He is in charge of the house keeping. He made us very welcome and answered all our local cultural questions, ensured we had everything we needed in the room and looked after us very well.

Thank you Vijaya. We will come back next year and look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: Infinity room the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloucestershire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had to book this hotel due to unavailability of other nearby hotel for our weekend. Once we reached there we realized that place is amazing. Rooms are really nice and they upgraded one room as a complement. It was a nice experience and restaurant crew is really friendly. They have got nice private pool and it's really nice even for small families to go and spend a good time. There was nothing to complain about the dinner and they have a very generous breakfast with many varieties.

Room Tip: It's better to go for rooms with private pool in ground floor. It's cheaper than upstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Namal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in October for 4 nights, mum, dad and ten year old boy. Our visit coincided with that of the family who gave the hotel two 'terrible' rating. It is certainly the case that some rooms and the upper corridors got flooded - the weather was horrendous, with howling winds and torrential rain for over a 24 hour period. I've never seen the like of it before. Some of the staff were personally affected, with their homes flooded or damaged, not that they moaned about it. The power was switched off for about seven hours, presumably for safety reasons. The management certainly could have better communicated with guests that day, but I think this added context, above, was necessary.

The hotel is very tastefully decorated, albeit perhaps missing some flowers and paintings; and the bedrooms were particularly well finished, real luxury. The wifi connection was strong. The restaurant was very good with a limited, but excellent set menu. We ate a la carte on one evening and that was excellent too. Breakfast was delightful. The housekeeping and catering staff are all very enthuisiastic and warm, and they all worked very hard to make our stay a pleasure. I would however recommend the hotel focus on upgrading the english language skills of their staff, which fell short given the market they are appealing to.

I would say this is a very good hotel for couples, honeymooners and families with infants. There is very little to do - the gym is no more than a few weights; the spa was very average; and there is very little to do or see in the immediate vicinity. If however you simply want to lounge by a beautiful pool and soak up the view, and eat great food, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a new hotel situated right on the beach. The decor is white minimalist - a little stark and character-less we thought. However it is very clean and comfortable. The great thing about this hotel is the staff! They are absolutely lovely - attentive, well mannered and helpful. They just couldn't do enough for us to ensure our stay was positive. Room 16 on the end of the complex, downstairs is the best room. It has an extra large terrace because it is on the end and the waves roll in just metres away. The view is spectacular. We took a tuktuk to Galle Fort - quite a long ride but a fun experience. There is very little to do near to the hotel. However lots of R & R reclining by our private plunge pool was great.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a private plunge pool and a large private deck as it is situated on the end at the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trave11ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel and am forced to write this review to prevent others from getting cheated.

Rooms, balconies, corridoors, staircases, all flooded with water, toilet seats blocked, electricity problems, internet down, tv channels not available due to non-payment of dues, chaos everywhere, jacuzzi/toilets without hot water, compulsory shift of rooms due to floods in the room, no quilts, rain showers with low water pressure, no space for accommodating drivers, ac non-friendly rooms, badly designed toilet flooring, rooms full of architectural problems!

This is all I have paid such a huge sum for. Staff is helpless and unable to resolve these problems and the MD/manager seems to be too busy and happy with the money already in his bank account as the full payment was made in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank varun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjaka D, Owner at Michelle Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

It is with deep shock and regret I read the two negative reviews posted by two guests from the same family, currently staying with us.
At the outset I wish to state with responsibility most of the allegations and adverse comments made by theses two guests are false and
highly exaggerated.

Last morning the southern coastal belt of Sri Lanka experienced extreme cyclonic weather conditions effecting many parts including Balapitiya.
It is a fact that two of our suites had rainwater beating in with the heavy wind experienced. We were prompt in taking immediate remedial measures
to ensure the comfort of our guests who were inconvenienced and they are they are happily continuing their stay with us.

I do not wish to go into detail and embarrass these valued guests of ours but just to have the record straight, after having invested US$ 5 million on this
small property, we are not going to default our cable TV dues and compromise on standards. It is hilarious as to how he came to the conclusion that some
of our satellite channels have been disconnected due to nonpayment of dues. Any sensible person would know at once that it is fabricated and if that was the case we would not have had access to 22 channels which we have always had, in addition to the Blu Ray Home theatre system provided in every single suite with a movie library. His grouse was non availability of five Indian channels they requested in addition to the Indian channels we already have.

They claim to have paid an exorbitant price for their stay at ‘Michelle’ but I would like to emphasize on the fact, that they were lucky to get a 40% promotional discount which he has deliberately not mentioned. We have had several Indian guests staying with us who have been extremely satisfied with the overall standards of the property and these false allegations would certainly not be an obstacle
to our journey. Michelle is a place for those who know and appreciate simple but refine living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.9 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
0.5 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
191 reviews
3.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Calamansi Cove Villas by Jetwing
10.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelle Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelle Boutique Hotel

Address: 432 Galle Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range: £97 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelle Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle is the latest addition to the high end Boutique hotel collection in the country and is a true star in the making. Nestled amongst palm fringed surroundings on the golden sandy beach with a spectacular view of the horizon, It certainly is a hideout for those who seek absolute peace, tranquility and ultra modern comfort.Michelle will enchant you with its exquisitely designed maze of stunning suites refined by the extravagance of the matchless ocean view and manicured gardens. Its sixteen luxuriously styled suites with contemporary finishes, premium facilities and separate lounge / living are an indulgent `new’ to her mind and body concept which stands to reason why “Michelle” is passionately committed to allure her guests to the finest in decadent hospitality. One could reach the hotel in one hour along the southern Expressway from the Kottawa entry point in Colombo.The primary objective of Michelle is to provide good value for money "In a home away from home" setting and make dream holidays a reality. Indulge in barefoot luxury in a world of your own, the tranquil atmosphere, with luxurious comforts that will pamper you to an infinity holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelle Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelle Boutique Hotel Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing