We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kadolana Eco Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Calm and quiet”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you want to get away from your busy schedules and spend some time with your friends or family Kadolana eco village is a remarkable place, situated near to a city Ambalangoda, but in a very quiet and calm surrounding you will make it an unforgettable memory.

Located on a small hilltop near madu river gives you a chance to admire the true beauty of the Mother Nature. And don’t forget to spend your eve dip yourself in the pool and see the sunset. Hotel is perfectly blend with the nature and will gives you a brand new experience.
It’s a short walk to beach, the staff will arrange you a boat trip in madu river on your request, and also if you like fishing you can try it too.

Rooms were perfectly maintained, with each having a different view of the river. The food was amazing, and altogether with the friendly staff it’s a perfect place to be

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sachith,
Thank you very much for choosing Kadolana for your holiday and for your lovely review on us. We enjoyed serving you and your group at Kadolana and hope you would visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Not bad..... Rooms are small and with minimum facilities...Foods not bad nothing too special...

Swing Pool is small but it it has a panoramic view of maduganga...

We feel freedom of our holiday... Staff is friendly...

I will be a great place if they can increase facilities and standards of meals

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First impression was good. but later turned out to be too disappointing. we were two families having kids so requested for A/C rooms but they offered us the old villa with no AC but a fan in one side on the room. They give more priority to the guests who come on spend -the -day basis than the resident guests. we couldn't use the pool the first day because the pool was occupied with some crowd till night. next day also we ware waiting more than 3hours to get in to the pool but had no luck because the pool was too crowded with some other crowd that had come on spend-the -day basis. they were just chatting in the pool more than 4 hours. Pool is too small and we didn't want to get in with a large crowd specially because we had children. then it started raining so we returned to our room with lot of disappointment just to see our bed room was under water. roofs in our room were leaking and had no electricity. the villa did not have lights because they did not have a generator to use in such situations. too bad our holiday was ruined.
Food was ordinary nothing fancy. Breakfast was not that great. desserts were not our taste at all.

If you want to have a great holiday with nice food and all, this is not the place. no value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and first of all we apologize for the inconvenience you have had to experience during your stay.

However, we do like to address certain statements made by you in the above review. When we have a large group coming into spend the day we do not encourage guests staying over and we do not accommodate large groups for day packages if there are any prior bookings for guests staying over to ensure a relaxing environment. This was clearly mentioned to the guest of your group who made the reservation that we have a pre confirmed booking for large group on the dates you requested. However, since he insisted on getting accommodation despite these conditions, we accepted the reservation but at a discounted rate. It was also clearly communicated that the A/C rooms were not available on that day but only the villa, newly renovated, fan cooled and of all the other facilities. To which he agreed prior to making the reservation. We are a small scale boutique style hotel with only 8 rooms hence our pool is usually commended as adequate for the in-house guests and even was enjoyed by the other family of your group.

We deeply apologize for the issue caused by the roof in the villa but as commented by the other family who accommodated the villa with you, our staff attended to it quickly and it was a small puddle of water on one corner under the bed. Due to these inconveniences we also offered extra time after the usual check out time for your group to stay, during which there was a power cut for 30mins in the day time, which we are indeed apologetic for as this is not a usual scenario and offered you further concessionary discount.

However, once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Since the moment we arrived, we knew it was going to be an extraordinary experience. With a picturesque backdrop the hotel far removed from the busy city. Situated at an elevation which observes the breathtaking scenery of Maduganga it is a must for any nature lover, backpacker or someone who would like a break from the bustling city. The infinity pool should be first for anyone to get used to the gorgeous sights and sounds of the wilderness, and it has a panoramic view of maduganga. The staff was exceptional, friendly, always smiling and knows exactly what you want.

The chalet type rooms were immaculately maintained very clean and big, with each having a different view of the river. The food was amazing, traditional Sri Lankan cuisine done to perfection with a variety of choices and succulent fruit juices to complement.

The boat safari in madu river should not be missed. Request the hotel for a boat safari and everything will be prepared in a matter of minutes. The boat will take you between islands and mangrove caves, to an isle which demonstrates how cinnamon is produced and bizarre foot massage from colourful fish.

The experience will be unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanishka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your great review on us. It was an absolute pleasure to have served you at Kadolana and we are pleased to have made your holiday memorable. We hope you visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotte, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

easy access to the hotel which is located south of sri lanka through highway or train with a breath taking scenery. I enjoyed relaxing near the pool with a breathtaking view of the madu lake. It also is a place for bird watchers. To top it all up , excellent service , friendly staff & scrumptious food.:).
The rooms are excellent, as we went as a group of 12 we had a bungalow which had a very unique look. It is a place for family's or group of friends like us to definitely have a worthwhile experience ,
Looking forward to visit again...:):)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manitha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of us. It was a great pleasure for us to serve you and your group and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Kadolana. We look forward to have you once again at Kadolana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There are four things which set Kadolana Eco Village apart from the average newly popped up boutique hotel down south. 1. An elevated location filled with flaura and fauna, facing Lake Maduganga, with an infinity pool which naturally blends in with the green waters of the lake, and a cooling climate due to the surrounding vegetation. 2. The staff who were extremely friendly and helpful from the time they served us the welcome drink, to bringing us a range of board games with their suggestions on what they thought were the best. Its fair to say that they were always willing to go that extra mile to satisfy our needs. 3. The architecture; some wonderfully built chale's, coupled with a restored bungalow from the mid 20th century, reminiscent of the southern Sri Lankan architecture in the years gone by. If your going in a group, book the bungalow. There's nothing like sleeping on those spooky large beds which reside in it. 4. The food; We tried the traditional Sri Lankan offerings for breakfast, which were just perfectly spiced, and not oil laden and msg infused like in most hotels. And the juices are to die for (try the ambarella juice).. And all this within a 10 min drive away from the highway.. The perfect short weekend getaway for us Colombians..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank KusalL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on us. The team at Kadolana are delighted to have served you and friends over your holiday and it is great to know that you all had a good time. Do visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was one of the most beautiful locations I have visited in the South of Sri Lanka. Easily accessible via the highway or by train. The food was awesome and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We went as a group and they attended to our needs very well. The pool was clean and ideal size for the location and overlooking the massive river it had everything one could ask for.
I would strongly recommend to anyone who would like a relaxing holiday out of the busy world.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C. So decide whether you prefer the breeze from the river or not. I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Themiya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KadolanaEcoVillage, Manager at Kadolana Eco Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind review on us. It was an absolute pleasure to have served you at Kadolana. Hope you would visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
0.4 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
3.4 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadolana Eco Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadolana Eco Village

Property: Kadolana Eco Village
Address: Andadola Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kadolana Eco Village 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique style hotel of just 8 private dwellings in a wooded area facing the Madu River. This is a dream hideaway that is rustic yet for all of the comfort you could wish for in absolute privacy surrounded by the simple woods of nature. The perfect serenity of Kadolana Eco Village will let you create a world of your own.Kadolana Eco Village lies at the edge of the Madu River in Ada Dola village, Balapitiya located between Ahungalle and Hikkaduwa, within an hour's drive from Colombo via the Southern Expressway.This makes Kadolana the perfect base from which to discover the Galle Fort, the sandy beaches, fishing villages, traditional mask carvings, cinnamon plantations, cinnamon processing and experience the famous Madu River boat Safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Kadolana Eco Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadolana Eco Village Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing