We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total bliss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I´m just back in Sweden after spending four days in this beautiful hotel, and I already long to go there again. Why? Well, the staff and I mean all the staff are just a wonder of friiendliness and politeness and always ready to make all your wishes come true even before you ask for it. It´s a small and intimate hotel that makes it even more familiar, something you never will experience in the big hotel buildings. The beach is great and the seaview is fantastic! Just a few minutes away you can go to practice yoga with a private yoga- master. The only thing that I did not like was your transfer to the air- port which was a rip- off. We got our own transfer for half the price. I will be back, see you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience here. We’re thrilled you found everything amazing and that you particularly happy with the service,View and specially the Yoga session . All your comments taken very positively and we will take your comment on consideration when we revise the Airport drop and pick up packages next time.We have pleasure of welcoming you to explore the southern hospitality with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Amazing beach kms long, perfect sea. Do consider the season since sun rays are strong, strongly advise to visit before March-Feb. Neat, clean rooms and all are facing towards beautiful sea. You will be impressed with the setup of the room, bathroom, balcony etc. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Reserve your room earlier since it's a boutique hotel with limited nr of rooms. Best for couples not families.

Room Tip: All rooms are good facing towards sea, no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GokhanAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Team.

Thank you for choosing Shinagawa Beach resort and We are extremely thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest , particularly room set up and the view from the balcony. We glad to hear our staff have matched your expectations and hopefully all of your recommendations will help for the guests who will be patronizing Shinagawa Beach Hotel in future.

We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Honestly speaking we had a wonderful time in Hotel Shinagawa with a wonderful atmosphere with the best staff who made us feel like home. We enjoyed a lot than we thought.

Actually I want to thank all the staff, who used to be kind, generous and helpful. Specially Mr Susantha (F&B) , Mr Tharindu, Mr Buddi & Mr Kasun. I don't remember all the names but every one in the staff was really amazing. And also I special thanks goes to Mr Yasas (SALES) who arranged this opportunity for me. Thanks alot bro.

I will recommend this Hotel to everyone who wants to have memorable vacation. And I wish all of you, all the very best and success in the future.

Thank you very much for everything you did for us..!!

Room Tip: Always get a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinusha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Dinusha,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Team,

Thank you very much for your stunning feed back , We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here, we're also very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us, All your compliments about the staff will convey to each one of them with out any hesitation and we look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 8pax with 4 rooms booking visited on march 29th and we were made to feel home @ shinagawa beach hotel by the friendly staff starting with front office..
Room boys were very helpful and last but not the least chef chandana and mr. Susantha F&b manager made our stay memorable with the exquisite delicacies made to our requirement.

The beach was wonderful and the indoor pool is unique.

As the saying goes nothing is perfect, even @ shinagawa there was a BUT and it is the toilet shower area, the entire toilet becomes wet after a shower, I hope the management will correct it before it's too late..

The madu river ride is just a couple of minutes away and it's a must go ride for any1 who goes to balapitiya and the attraction there is the fish therapy!!! It's wow!!!

All the best shinagawa and keep up the good work!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank RuzanNifal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team,

Dear Ruzan, We are very excited to see your review and thanking you for sharing all your true experience in the worlds largest travel site. Perhaps it will helpful for most of the guests who will patronize Shinagawa beach hotel in future. Indeed we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation .All your compliments about the staff members will share with them with no hesitation and look forward to having you stay with us again to indulge in more of our facilities and southern hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just returned from an amazing stay in Sri Lanka at the Shinagawa Beach Hotel , from our arrival after 11 pm after a long day of travelling , we were immediately made to feel really welcome and at home . They had even arranged for some fruit and sandwiches for us as the restaurant was already closed by the time we arrived . The Hotel has only been open for a few months but the staff are well trained and attentive nothing was too much trouble for them . When we awoke the following morning and opened the blinds the view was amazing .beautiful.beach ,palm trees and blue ocean What a way to start the day. The room and bathroom were excellently equipped I had been in contact with Kasun [ Front Office Manager ] who together with his team , to arrange for a surprise Candle lit dinner on the beach for our Wedding Anniversary celebration . Everything was perfect , and the service was great , A great location with amazing pool , great beach , wonderful views and amazing helpful staff .....
. A perfect vacation .. Will definately come back here .Highly Recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia leisure family!

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that the service you received during your stay was great and you found Shinagawa rooms and the bathroom were up to your expectation. As a team all of our associates are well focus on guest needs, Hopefully they have done the best to make your candlelight dinner unforgettable. Perhaps you had your best anniversary ever at our newly built beach resort and we would like to welcome you back to celebrate your next anniversary with us .Please contact the sales team directly on marketing@asialeisure.lk to reserve your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I and my husband have spent in this hotel some time (27/02/2014-03/03/2014). We had enjoyed very much time there, starting with check in we felt very much apreciated guests, because we have arrived late at the night, but still we got a good service. The hotels territory is not very big but it has everything a person could need. It is good to stay with children, because hotel is situated in a calm area and beach is nice and you can enjoy ocean with children without fearing large waves. There is also clidrens playground on teh beach, but it is not shadowed so clidren can play there in the morning and afternoon.The room we stayed had amazing view, and I will share a picture. Room and bathroom were very well equiped. The breakfast had everything a person could need. A staff at the restaurant was also very friendly. I can also say that when we got sun-burned one of front office managers have provided us aloe vera leaves to relief pain. The beach is perfect, I mean empty and clean and ocean in this zone is calm. The city centre is not so far away, so it is easy go there and do a small shoping. We enjoed it so much that we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team.

Dear Olga, We are thrilled to see your lovely comments and thank you very much for choosing Shinagawa beach hotel as your honeymoon destination . All of our associates are well trained and service oriented all the time. We are so pleased to read that our F.O.M. has attended on your needs very politely and promptly. We will share your compliments with Kasun and its an asset to have them with us.

You have described the beach and the surrounding in very colorful manner. It's a living proof that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest and we are so honored to be a part of it. Thank you very much for sharing your lovely experience with everybody and look forward to welcome back on your very first anniversary. Please contact us direct on marketing@asialeisure.lk to reserve your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My fiance and I ended a wonderful trip to Sri Lanka at Shinagawa. We could not recommend the place highly enough.

The beach is beautiful and with no other hotels for miles it is used solely by guests at Shinagawa and the local fishermen. Likewise the pool is lovely and beautifully set between the restaurant and bar.

Rooms are huge, come with first rate facilities and all look out onto the beautiful beach.

The food is exceptional. Delicious, fresh seafood, great cocktails and juices and excellent snacks and lunches. There is a great selection as well, however for the best examples of Shinagawa's cooking go for the excellent Sri Lankan curries or devilled fish burger.

Finally we want to reserve special mention for the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we have never felt so well looked after at a hotel. Three examples of their hospitality spring to mind. Firstly was after ordering a mango juice I asked if there might be any fresh at the following morning's breakfast buffet. When we arrived down there wasn't, but five minutes later one of the waiters brought a huge plate of freshly cut mango to our table, entirely unprompted. Secondly was when my fiance asked if there would be any more pancakes and a plateful arrived with us. And finally on our last day we asked if they could arrange for a small breakfast as we were being picked up half an hour before the restaurant opening time. What we got was the full service, including omelettes made to order.

Shinagawa is a fantastic hotel and richly deserves to succeed. A friendly, welcoming and peaceful place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Ayubowan.

Greetings from Asia Leisure team.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time for commenting us and We are glad that we contribute to making your stay remarkable and unforgettable.The voice of our guest is extremely valuable to us in order to improve our service culture.

We are so excited to receive such a lovely compliments with regards to the friendly service and the delicious curries while your stay and it shows our service associates have done the best for you. As we believe little things matter a lot. Great examples are, your mango platter and the early breakfast on the last day. As a part of of our rich culture, hospitality is in our blood . That is what we have been specialized to become the most popular beach resort in southern cost in no time.

We look forward to welcome you back to hotel Shinagawa your "Home away from Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,627 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
191 reviews
10.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
Calamansi Cove Villas by Jetwing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure

Address: No 30 Old Guru Niwasa Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shinagawa Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range: £93 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to luxury on a secluded beach like no other with its own natural rock pool. It's no wonder that Shinagawa Beach is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Our twenty four Deluxe Rooms offer an amazing view with a private balcony. The two Suites offer a panoramic view from the room, balcony and bathroom and include butler service. You'll appreciate IPTV guest systems, an LED screen and complimentary wifi. The restaurant and bar open out to sea and serve the trendiest cuisine with an exceptional cocktail menu. Dive into the pool, stay active at the gym or enjoy a retreat at the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinagawa Beach By Asia Leisure Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing