We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little getaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and a friend booked into Shinagawa for 1 night as a little weekend getaway. We got the room for a good deal on agoda. The hotel was beautiful! Very clean, good service and food. The room was beautiful, and the balcony view breathtaking! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We arranged a river safari tour on our second day, it was a little expensive but we chose to go with the hotel as it felt like a safer option. We really enjoyed the river safari definitely recommend it if your in Balapitiya! The reception staff have tuk tuk drivers numbers if you'd rather not pay for a hotel car and will arrange one for you as a driver lives right next to the hotel with a tuk tuk of his own. Great stay overall in Shinagawa and will probably return later this year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The River safari is one of the truly unique experiences in Balapitiya. It is arranged in collaboration with our sister hotel The River House also located in Balapitiya.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shinagawa and hope you will try the new excursions planned..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    105
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
231
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A Boutique hotel in an absolute excellent location with miles of beautiful beach, courteous service, spacious and comfortable rooms. Excellent food in all areas. I recommend a minimum stay of at least 3 days.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms give an excellent view of the beach and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your review.

I will share your review with our hotel staff for a job well done..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

great service, excellent food, nice rooms, beautiful swimming pool and beach
An outstanding hotel, we recommend this place for a family or a couple !
Around, you can see the turtle and beautiful indian temples

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The turtle hatchery you visited is located in Kosgoda the nesting grounds for 5 turtle species namly the Green Turtle, the Leatherback, the Hawksbill, the Loggerhead and the Olive Ridley.

The temple you would have seen is the Sri Pushparama Temple. This temple dates back to the year 1880 and is a must visit from Shinagawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is new and it has the necessary fasculities. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is relaxing. The hotel is seconds away from the main road. Excellent beach and sea view. The beach is very clean. Madu ganga (a world heritage) is few minutes away and therefore guests can enjoy a boat ride whcih is a lifetime adventure. The staff is very friendy and cooperative. Beautiful and charm environment as we felt home. Excellent food and other fascilities. We strongly recommend this hotel facility for anyone who think of a holiday and wants to have a relaxing time in Sri Lanka. Thanks to the entire hotel staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing beach. Rooms in upper floor have a better view in to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crishantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your river safari.

The River safari is conducted with the corporation of our sister hotel The River House.

I will most definitely share this review with our staff for a job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful experience of stay in Shinagawa beach resort, nice location just opposite beach front, they provided warm welcome, excellent service during our stay. Ideally located, all tourist places are located at the vicinity. Recommend who would to relax and get value for their money.

Room Tip: All the rooms very good wrt location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinivasa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shinagawa Beach.

All our rooms and suites are sea facing giving you an unparalleled view of the Indian ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

New experience for me to visit this Country of Sri Lanka to work at a hotel as Spa Therapist,
Before I am less convinced to come here, because I thought this place was going to make me happy,
And it turns out after I come and get this place so beautiful and relaxing,
As well as the Staff and all the German Manager was so nice and care about the same I so I feel comfortable living here,
Although this is not my Country I LOVE Shinagawa Beach Hotel Team
Thank you very much for everything,,,,,!!!! I will try to stay long here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday19862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shinagawa Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Let me start with their location, isolated from other hotels and no disturbance from locals at all(beach vendors). The hotel isn't a big crowded one, only 26 rooms all facing the sea. It has one pool which is kind of half outdoor/indoor and it has a small kids pool as well. One issue is that the pool hasn't got a heater and sometimes the water can get really cold.

From the front desk to the cleaners, all staff at the hotel are kind, welcoming and assistive. The chef cooks some of the best local food in Sri Lanka and also ensures to preserver some time to visit the guests and speak to them. The rooms are spacious with a tv, movie collection and free wifi. Each day the rooms are cleaned twice and their mini bar is well stacked.

The hotel spa is also amazing. The professional masseurs did a great job. One small problem is that they don't have a male masseur, but the hotel arranged for someone to visit and fulfill the recruitment. A permanent male and female masseur would be convenient. The hotel has a small gym as well.

During the rainy seasons, the pool deck and the entrances to the bar and restaurant get wet due to the rain water. A cover for that area would be advisable as that is one of the main locations in the hotel. The beach is clean with a security always on duty.

The hotel is a perfect destination to relax with no disturbances at all. Dinner and lunch for my family was served outside on the pool deck which was a special treat to us by the staff. Shinagawa was an outstanding hotel that treated my family very well and I hope to visit there again. I recommend it to anyone who is looking to enjoy a calm, relaxing vacation by the sea.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammad Faheem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your review.

Your comments are noted and we thank you for your comments as it is from these comments we as a resort can improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you to Shinagawa Beach again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
10.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
163 reviews
9.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure

Property: Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Address: No 30 Old Guru Niwasa Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shinagawa Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to luxury on a secluded beach like no other with its own natural rock pool. It's no wonder that Shinagawa Beach is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Our twenty four Deluxe Rooms offer an amazing view with a private balcony. The two Suites offer a panoramic view from the room, balcony and bathroom and include butler service. You'll appreciate IPTV guest systems, an LED screen and complimentary wifi. The restaurant and bar open out to sea and serve the trendiest cuisine with an exceptional cocktail menu. Dive into the pool, stay active at the gym or enjoy a retreat at the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinagawa Beach By Asia Leisure Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing