We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River House
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
177
25
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
25
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolmain buildingsri lankasister hotelfruit batsmagical placeboat triphotel boatspacious balconypeaceful settinga short tuk tuk rideour honeymoonmassive bathroombumpy roadstaff were exceptionalminute drive to the beachstyled beautifully
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived at The River House after being on the road for 3 weeks exploring the north central region, east and southern beaches.

This was the perfect end to our road trip. The property was super quiet, calm and gorgeous. Lots trees, water views, birds, flowers etc.,

The rooms/suites were enormous, very well appointed with pretty much everything you need, great service, superb food and excellent service.

The rooms we stayed in had a jacuzzi overlooking the river. The manager, Sudath, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we need. Amazing place.


Tip: When using the main pool, ask the staff to switch off all the lights and just enjoy the night sky and animal sounds around you. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalMachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseBalapitiya, Asia Leisure Team at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are pleased to hear about your good experience with us.

In relation to the service and food we are happy that it was found satisfactory. Thank you for the lovely statements on our staff and food which you had seemed to enjoy to great extents, the fact that you were able to feel so comfortable is indeed a huge honor.

Your special appreciations towards the staff will be conveyed without fail.

Thank you so much for the lovely comment and we look forward to seeing you again at The River House Hotel soon.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had 2 nights at the River House to end our trip to Sri Lanka. The place is amazing. It's on beautiful grounds on the edge of the river but only a few minutes drive from the beach (which you can access through its' sister hotel).

There are only 5 rooms so even when it's full its quite. All of the rooms are beautiful (we had a look at them all).

Food is great. Breakfast is a choice between traditional Sri Lanka and Western. Dishes are huge. Lunch and dinner are a variety of top-class choices, with great wines to go with.

Service is second to none. All the staff members go out of their way to make your stay amazing. They really are a talented bunch, even going out of their way to set up a candle-lit dinner under the stars on my partner's birthday.

We really had an amazing time. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseBalapitiya, Asia Leisure Team at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are pleased to hear about your good experience with us.

In relation to the service and food we are happy that it was found satisfactory. Thank you for the lovely statements on our staff and food which you had seemed to enjoy to great extents, the fact that you were able to feel so comfortable is indeed a huge honor.

Your special appreciations towards the staff will be conveyed without fail.

Thank you so much for the lovely comment and we look forward to seeing you again at The River House Hotel soon.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

idyllic location, great rooms with fantastic views of the lake or gardens (a couple with own jacuzzi), wonderful vegetarian and prawn/chicken curries, fabulous pool, attentive staff, AND a very helpful manager. I've run out of superlatives! I can't recommend this boutique hotel enough. IF you are a lover of authentic Sri Lankan cuisine, this is the best - THANK YOU CHEF JAGATH!!! And not forgetting Carith and Eril!!!! Our waiters from heaven.

Room Tip: Pick either of the rooms with jacuzzi and lake views. But all the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseBalapitiya, Asia Leisure Team at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Ayubowan!!!

Thank you for this review. Glad to hear that we were able to make your stay with us, a pleasant one. We intend, in giving our guests the privilege of indulging themselves in nature and will definitely pass on your kind words to the Chef and his team.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Team at Asia Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent the majority of our honeymoon trip at the River House this year. Having never traveled to Siri Lanka before we were a bit nervous about the trip.. Needless to say it was a wonderful and memorable trip owing in large part to the wonderful and serene calm of the River House.

The River House is a small Boutique Hotel (only 5 rooms total) located on the shore of a Siri Lankan river near the southern coast about 2 Hours south of Colombo - We arrived early and tired from our 10 hour flight from Turkey and early morning train ride from Colombo (We had opted to not use the hotels pick up service from the airport) -The staff of the hotel, led by their experienced Manager Sudath were exceptionally attentive and kind, offering us a delicious juices and a lovely temporary room while our honeymoon suite was prepared (as we had a arrived a few hours earlier than scheduled)

Our stay over the next few days was luxurious and relaxed -this is the perfect spot to get away from it all, with the calming noises of the jungle and airy colonial style suite rooms with Mohagany wood Furniture and a colonial inspired South Asian decor. . Our upstairs suite had a wonderful balcony and in-room plunge pool -along with high airy ceilings (AC and ceiling fan were used in december as it is still warm in this climate)-as for the plunge pool it was not a heated pool but it was very refereshing after a warm day walking and taking in the sights of the nearby town and river tour (highly recommended)

The staff was very attentive, this is a small hotel so one gets to know the staff quite well over your stay..we ate almost exclusively at the River House, sometimes in our room and sometimes downstairs in the open air dining area. The food was great, with both Siri Lankan and Western Options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The entire stay was well priced for a luxury resort, and wifi was available in our suite and hotel..

On our last night -The staff setup a lovely complimentary honeymoon dinner on the balcony, with candles and a delicious meal..

In all highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseBalapitiya, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mr.Ahmed,

Compliments of the season!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time, to write this lovely review. We are glad to hear about your pleasant experience with us. Thank you for selecting The River House and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you both all the very best for a great future!

Warm Regards,
Team at Asia Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent three nights at this tranquil, beautiful boutique hotel and cannot say enough wonderful things about it. The rooms, amenities, and surroundings are gorgeous, but more important, the staff are warm, efficient, lovely people whom we were sad to say farewell to. The River House put on a first-class New Year's Eve party for its five rooms of guests, and we were delighted to bring in 2014 in such a great place. Mr. Sudath, the manager, warmly welcomed us and made sure our every request was met, and Eril (on staff) was an absolute angel. We sincerely hope to return to the River House one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yallanicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseBalapitiya, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Compliments of the Season!!!

We are glad to hear about your pleasant experience with us. It was pleasure serving you both and we hope to see you again soon. We wish you all the very best for a healthy and prosperous year 2014!

Warm Regards,
Team at Asia Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews