We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

The Smugglers Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Amroth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: International, British, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at the Smugglers Bar & Grill - Amroth, Pembrokeshire, situated right on the sea front, with a perfect view of the gorgeous stretch that is the famous Amroth beach. Located at one end of the ever popular Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, Amroth is a true hidden gem of West Wales. With inside and outside seating, The Smugglers can accommodate during rain or shine, with a wide choice of drinks and food available. The Smugglers is a Family restaurant which is becoming more and more popularly known for its pirate theme and indoor 'Pirates Adventure Play Area' which is safe and fully contained at the rear of the restaurant, allowing any parents to relax and have a drink whist the kids play and act out their pirate fantasies. At the Smugglers we strive to provide a fun and enjoyable experience for all our customers, with top quality food, great service and an amazing view of the Amroth Bay. We can cater for large parties. Bookings also taken.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I have visited Amroth for a number of years and have been frequent visitors to the Smugglers at various times of the year, Some of the visits have included close family of various ages.

Our experience on each visit has been nothing short of first class. The owners, Nikki and Ed, consistently deliver a first class service to all customers. The staff are clearly inspired by the work ethic demonstrated by both Nikki and Ed. We visit the Smugglers well in excess of 10 times a year and I must state that we never once found the staff "grumpy" - they are lovely people.

The quality of the food is superb , the location is great for the beach and the facilities available for young children are first class.

Nikki and Ed must be doing something right for us to keep returning - in addition we know many people that do likewise..

A little tip - also try the Pirate cafe just down the road from the Smugglers- also under the management of Nikki and Ed . (No I am not related to them just a very appreciative customer)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    81
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent apart from grumpy looking staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived around 12 30 on the 27th Feb, after great walk on Amroth beach, stood at the door to be seated but after not being acknowledged by the bar staff who saw us and didn't do anything after 5 mins of waiting, we decided to find our own seats, as we had two kids with us, we sat by the play area, which was superb!! Our party of 6 ordered a med bake which father in law raved about, a spicy beef burger which was ample in taste and portion, a piri piri chicken breast, does what it says! And two regular beef burgers one of which my 6 year old devoured!! All in all will be back, but the staff looked like they didn't want to be there, which was a little off putting, and a smile even if fake wouldn't go a miss!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonyrefail, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely staff and fantastic for families!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have been to Smugglers three times now and have not once been disappointed. The restaurant staff are all extremely welcoming and the service is fast. We have been as a group of adults and with family and small children. The kids absolutely loved the play area, it's a fantastic asset to the restaurant (the kid's didn't want to leave)

Food is always beautifully cooked (the coleslaw is DELISH!)

We will definitely be back to Smugglers!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply marvellous!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We're orginally from pembrokeshire living in Bridgend currently and whenever we are back at home to visit family we always come here to eat. The food is fantastic, service is good too. A great play area for the kids to run around and a great location. Can't beat food by the sea. Can't wait to return in the summer for some delightful fish & chips!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceythomas64
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only popped in here for a coffee and to escape a brewing storm outside, but the place was very pleasant. Staff were friendly, joining in with our conversation and looking at some of our photos.

In the middle of the room was a large, safe play area for children. It looked as if there was a good choice of food on the menu and the surroundings were very pleasant. Would have eaten here if we didn't have a bus to catch back to Tenby!

Inside and out there were life sized models of 'pirates' and other seafaring 'people' and little touches like beer barrels and ships wheels that added to the seaside atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Bar and Grill also viewed

Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Smugglers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing