We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here every year of my life with my family! Love it!!”
Review of Amroth Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amroth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amroth Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My parents have taken us to Amroth Castle every year for the past 20 or so years we love it that much. We all have very fond memories growing up of the place. Stayed in castle close, coach houses, caravans and also the seaside cottages - all amazing places to stay. So close to the beach, there is always plenty to do. The staff are very friendly and the people in general all have nice positive attitudes. Would recommend to anyone especially families! Also make sure you pay Caldey Island for that extra relaxation. Thanks for everything Amroth Castle!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loopy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so happy to hear you and your family enjoy your stay year after year here at Amroth Castle. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes from all the team at Amroth Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Amroth Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our family's first trip to Pembrokeshire coast. We really had no idea what to expect, and in just three days we have memories that will last a lifetime. Amroth Castle is not "too precious" like so many. You get much more for what you pay. Staff is friendly and if you have family, you won't find a more welcoming establishment. What's the point of a vacation if you can't fully relax?

The beach is amazing - immense tide causes it to appear, vanish, and reappear each day. Sand is flat, soft and you can walk into the water for seemingly forever. Yes, I think we got lucky with the weather, but the water is warm regardless.

And the coasteering is highly recommended - best bet is to do this out of St. David's.

We found the Amroth Castle to strike the perfect balance between history and practicality. And the location - just at the south end of Pembrokeshire national park - is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had high hopes of Amroth Castle from the brochure and website but sadly despite the location to the beach being excellent the apartments are shoddily finished with no housekeeping even in communal areas. The site is full of parents who spend all day in the bar and let their kids run wild. Noisy and a bit scruffy. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NinjaDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are pleased you gave us 5 stars for location and expressed enjoyment of your 2 weeks holiday in the numerous times our paths crossed during your stay, so we are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us did not fully meet your expectations. As always, if you have any concerns while staying it is best to address them at the time, as we aim to please and will always do our best to make sure all our guests are happy.

As we have already responded to the other member of your party who also posted a review, we make all guests aware at the time of booking that the South Wing apartment is above the bar, and we also make every effort to keep noise levels in the bar to a minimum, e.g. turning off music, outside lights, etc. as early as possible, but cannot control the behaviour of other guests, particularly outside the bar. Many people consider our walled grounds ideal for allowing their children a level of freedom they cannot get elsewhere. And while we put up notices and request that people maintain a level of supervision, it is very difficult to control how people choose to allow their own children to behave.
If by the communal areas you are referring to the hallways, toilets, etc. in the main castle building we can assure you that these are cleaned at 8am and 6pm every day. Obviously in August they are very heavily used so it is difficult to ensure that they are always clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

So the good is that its a fantastic location (literally accross the road from a spectacular beach) and the south wing apartment is very spacious. Unfortunately this is negated by the low spec of the apartment and resort facilities. The South Wing apartment is above the bar which gets really rowdy, particularly at weekends. The staff are at best indifferent and do not enforce their policy of requiring children to be supervised at all times, leading to the whole place being something like a cross between a noisy youth club and Lord of the Flies! We stayed for 2 weeks and didn't get any housekeeping even to change the beds for the whole time, the sash windows bang loudly in the lightest of windy conditions and there's an aroma of drains wafting through the windows first thing in the morning. Such a shame because with the space, location and views the aprtment has it could be fabulous.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank SamandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us did meet your expectations. We are pleased that you appreciated the positive aspects, and we will take on board the comments/suggestion you made on the guest questionnaire when you left.
We make all guests aware at the time of booking that the South Wing apartment is above the bar, and we also make every effort to keep noise levels in the bar to a minimum, e.g. turning off music, outside lights, etc. as early as possible, but cannot control the behaviour of other guests, particularly outside the bar. Many people consider our walled grounds ideal for allowing their children a level of freedom they cannot get elsewhere. And while we put up notices and request that people maintain a level of supervision, it is very difficult to control how people choose to allow their own children to behave.
As a self-catering unit it is not standard to offer any form of housekeeping service, but anything can be arranged and if you had requested additional linen we would have gladly provided you with some. Also if you had advised us that you were having problems with the sash windows we could have rectified the problem, as the screw catches fitted to them should prevent any play if done up tight, but following your review we found that several of them were very stiff and difficult to tighten – these have now been eased. We are unaware of any smell from the drains, as no other guest has reported it, but will investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were shocked when we were shown to our accomodation, which was one of the terraced houses. Very old fashioned, kitchen cabinets falling apart, filthy windows, felt damp and generally depressing. Also noticed that none of the electrical equipment appeared to have been tested, or at least there were no stickers on any of it so say that it had. The childrens play room in the castle, or rather large run down house, was absolutely awful. We thought we had walked into a scene from the twilight zone. It was like a dungeon. Very poor state of repair dark dingy, old equipment, much of which did not appear to work. There was an old pool table, however it was difficult to use with the broken cues. The so called laundry room was just as bad if not worse. There is a swimming pool which is adequate but nothing like how the photo on thewebsite portrays it, much like the accomodation and play room. The bar is quite nice but so small that we were unable to get in. We were aware that there was no where to eat on the site, but had been told that there were pubs locally. We were unable to get booked at one and the other closed at 9pm! We couldnt find the other pub.
I could go on and on. Just look very closely at the pictures on the website first. They are very old and very misleading and dont let them tell you any different. Look closely at what people are wearing and the type of pushchair being used. We didnt think that places like this existed anymore. It was awful!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are surprised and dismayed that you have chosen to post such a strong review, particularly when we gave you a full and unconditional refund as soon as it became clear that you were not happy. We agreed that the most important thing was to ensure that your family had an enjoyable holiday and issued a refund as soon as you had found alternative accommodation.
Having arrived earlier in the day, you contacted the Manager late on the Saturday evening to complain that there was no room for your family to sit in the bar, and that you had been unable to get food in any of the village pubs. While understanding your frustrations there was very little we could do about it – there are actually 5 eating places within walking distance of the park, but obviously we have no control over their opening hours or how busy they are, and as you saw from our bar it was exceptionally busy that weekend and of course the weather was not dry enough to utilize any of the outdoor seating areas.
You stated at that time that your accommodation was fine and did not raise any issues other than the outside of the kitchen window being dirty (it is at ground level outside, so unfortunately in heavy rain like we had that day it gets splashed with grit and dirt). And please be assured that our electrics are tested and certified annually.
You did raise your view that the swimming pool was not as represented on the website? There are five pictures of the pool on the website and the wall and fence, which is a Health and Safety requirement, is clearly obvious on every one of them. And the three aerial shots clearly show the pool location in relation to other buildings. Every picture on our website is current and absolutely representative of what it shows– there is certainly no ‘clever photography’.
You described the Cavern Games Room as like entering a dungeon; well it is housed in the cellar rooms of the medieval castle so it may give that impression. There are a whole range of machines provided and maintained by a local amusement company, who did not find any out of order the evening you were here. Somebody had removed all the tips off the pool cues, which we had already reported to the machine operators and were waiting for them to arrive with replacements.
Amroth Castle welcomes hundreds of families for their holidays every year, and our exceptional repeat visitor rate shows that the huge majority appreciate and like what we have to offer. Of course there is occasionally going to be someone that we are not suitable for, and obviously we will sometimes make mistakes, or fall short of our normal standards, but our concern is always that people enjoy their holiday and as in this circumstance if someone is obviously not going to enjoy their stay with us we will help in any way we can to find alternative accommodation, and give an un-conditional refund of their holiday rent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the top part if the castle with family. It was fantastic. The rooms were lovely, clean, nicely decorated and warm. The kitchen/dining room/living room was gorgeous, nice and big, clean and very well equipped.
We had an issue with the small shower room leaking down which we possibly think was due to the customers before us as we'd only used the main shower room but a member of staff came and sorted it straight away, even gave us an extra clothes maid when we asked. Stunning view and I loved to sit on the window seat and listen to the sea.
A very peaceful, relaxing ad lovely holiday. We're coming back in about a month and we can't wait

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victoria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Impulsively decided to go to the seaside for the night, and despite packing the tent, my partner who has stayed at Amroth Castle in a caravan and kept raving about it, we decided to pop in and ask if they had space. Paid a fantastic rate, had an amazing three bedroom, clean pad, and everyone is so friendly. The view is incredible and the sea warm, with clean beaches. We are already planning to take the kids for the holidays, because it really is a family orientated, and they cater for everyone. The hardest part was leaving this morning, perfect blue skies, stunning beach and a full English from the local restaurant.

Room Tip: The coach house was perfect. If you take a family with children its like a home away from home, with...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missvishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amroth
4.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.6 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
561 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mellieha Guest House
Mellieha Guest House
#1 of 1 in Amroth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amroth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amroth Castle

Address: Amroth Castle Farm Near Tenby, Amroth SA67 8NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Amroth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Amroth
Hotel Class:4 star — Amroth Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering cottages and apartments in beautiful Castle grounds, just yards from a Blue Flab beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amroth Castle Hotel Amroth
Amroth Castle Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing