We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I stayed longer - badger heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellieha Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Amroth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Wish I stayed longer - badger heaven”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Loved it here. Stuart and Julie were very welcoming. When we arrived Julie gave us some lovely homemade cakes and tea as a welcome. The decor in the room we stayed in (the Badger room) and their whole house was lovely and homely. Everything about the room we had and the bathroom was very clean. The bath products were lovely also. Perhaps the bath towels could of been bigger though. They are based in a great area and they have great garden grounds set amongst the country and just down the road is an amazing beach called Amroth which is sandy, large and has great flat rock pools that look like they could be waterfalls. They love their animals as they have many bird feeders set up around their grounds, a fish pond and they feed a local resident badger at night which they kindly came and got me at night so I could see it feeding. Breakfast was excellent all so fresh and tasty and Stuarts yoghurt mix was lovely. I would highly recommend anyone to stay there if they want a nice welcoming couple, nice size room, great grounds, quiteness, down the road from a beach and to be local to Saundersfoot/Tenby and places such as Folly Farm etc. Would for sure stay at Mellieha Guest House again if in Wales.

Room Tip: Badger Room has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
209
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent, really friendly and they can't do enough to help you. The rooms are well decorated and spotless. Breakfast has everything you could want and the area itself is beautiful. Perfect little getaway! x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crishowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in May, and were completely amazed at the overall standard of the b&b! Everywhere is spotlessly clean from the decor to the carpets, bedding, towels and rooms. The breakfasts were excellent with a good range of foods available, and the hosts were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
If your looking for a get-away in a beautiful, quiet setting, 5minute walk from the beach, in a comfortable room and eat fabulous food, then Mellieha is for you!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissiWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just returned home from a 3 nights stay at Mellieha - we really do feel like we have had a very restful break with wonderful breakfasts and met amazing hosts in Julia and Stuart.
Mellieha is in a wonderful position being so near to Amroth beach but close enough to travel to Saundersfoot/Tenby and surrounding areas.
We stayed in room 5 (Tinkers Hill) - lots of room with a lovely seating area to read/unwind. Very, very clean and beautifully furnished as is all of the guest house. Our son had room 2 (Cwmrath) ... another lovely bedroom looking out on to the back garden. Although a single room not a single bed, so great for him.
We all slept so well - very quiet and peaceful. Wonderfully comfy bed. Could have slept all day.
Our son has autism and learning disability - we are trying to get him to be more independent and to make his own choices. He coped very well at Mellieha and he said as we left that he wants to return - praise indeed, as he rarely makes comments such as this. Julia and Stuart treated him the same as us, which again is not something that we always find when we are away from home. Thank You both for being so good with Adam :)
We shall return to Mellieha - if we could have stayed longer we would have. Everything was wonderful and perfect, just as you would hope in your dreams - here, it really is that good :)
Julia and Stuart are very deserving of their great feedback - they work very hard to make it so good.
Stay at Mellieha and have a break from your everyday life - you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just returned home from a 3 nights stay at Mellieha - we really do feel like we have had a very restful break with wonderful breakfasts and met amazing hosts in Julia and Stuart.
Mellieha is in a wonderful position being so near to Amroth beach but close enough to travel to Saundersfoot/Tenby and surrounding areas.
We stayed in room 5 (Tinkers Hill) - lots of room with a lovely seating area to read/unwind. Very, very clean and beautifully furnished as is all of the guest house. Our son had room 2 (Cwmrath) ... another lovely bedroom looking out on to the back garden. Although a single room not a single bed, so great for him.
We all slept so well - very quiet and peaceful. Wonderfully comfy bed. Could have slept all day.
Our son has autism and learning disability - we are trying to get him to be more independent and to make his own choices. He coped very well at Mellieha and he said as we left that he wants to return - praise indeed, as he rarely makes comments such as this. Julia and Stuart treated him the same as us, which again is not something that we always find when we are away from home. Thank You both for being so good with Adam :)
We shall return to Mellieha - if we could have stayed longer we would have. Everything was wonderful and perfect, just as you would hope in your dreams - here, it really is that good :)
Julia and Stuart are very deserving of their great feedback - they work very hard to make it so good.
Stay at Mellieha and have a break from your everyday life - you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauljlangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in - lovely quiet location near the sea at the bottom of the quiet road with a pretty garden. The owners are delightful - so welcoming and there is a pleasant lounge to sit in, unlike so many bed and breakfast places. Nothing was too much trouble from providing glasses for a celebratory drink to producing excellent breakfasts with scrambled egg to rival that made by my granny in Devon when I was a child. Very comfortable beds with decking balconies and tastefully decorated. I can't wait to go back! It is also near the coastal path so good for walkers and the beach in Amroth is good to walk on.

Room Tip: The double rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The host and hostess were very friendly and chatty and, although we stayed just the one night, we were made to feel as if we were important guests. Just the way it should be.
Although the room we stayed in was a little small, it was comfortable and everything that we needed was provided.
The omelettes got that my wife and I had for breakfast were lovely and we certainly didn't leave hungry.
Our hosts were very-well informed as to the area they lived in and were able to give us some good advices as to places to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shetlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amroth
2.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,104 reviews
4.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.1 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Guest House

Property: Mellieha Guest House
Address: Amroth, Amroth SA67 8NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Amroth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amroth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mellieha Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mellieha is situated in the beautiful valley of Amroth and only 150 metres from the sea front. We are within reasonable proximity to the busy resorts of Tenby and Saundersfoot, however Amroth has a unique unspoilt appeal for those looking for a quiet retreat. We aim to provide a warm welcome and ensure that your stay is as comfortable and pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mellieha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Guest House Amroth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing