We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whilst in Belgium last month (Saturday 21 July), my husband and I were taken to Kasteel Wurfeld, Maaseik”
Review of Kasteel Wurfeld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasteel Wurfeld
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maaseik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Whilst in Belgium last month (Saturday 21 July), my husband and I were taken to a wonderful restaurant for a 7-course gourmet dinner; The Kasteel Wurfeld. We walked into the large Castle through beautifully landscaped gardens, and over the surrounding moat. There were large lanterns outside, and spacious airy dining rooms, with huge windows overlooking the terraces.

We dined from an extremely well balanced 7-course gourmet menu which was beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. The waiter described every course with a great sense of occasion as it arrived, and the wine flowed freely; we never had to ask for glasses to be refilled.

The first course was a tasty amuse bouche which included a mini lobster mousse and a cold soup; this was followed by wonderful beef tartare and pate; then a tasty fish course (mackerel); a sharp and cleansing lemony sorbet; and the piece de resistance, two types of lamb. Finally there was a trio of puddings. All the courses were sized perfectly, so that one didn’t feel overfull, and the timing was equally well-paced. This is certainly a dining experience that I would recommend and hope to repeat. The bill was presented discreetly and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Sorry we only had dinner there, did not stay over!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Kasteel Wurfeld
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

I LIKED: nice and cosy with character, yet modern equipment - good rooms with lots of space - friendly for physically challenged people - charming garden - nice and friendly personnel - country feel at a stone's throw from the Dutch/German border
I DIDNT LIKE: breakfast is a bit poor - business lunch is not in line with the level of the place (soup, coffee!! with sandwiches and 'croquettes' !!! in the true Flemish style); WIFI connections are bad outside of the lobby area;
NOTE: it is cosy but a bit stiff and traditional, average age of clients is high (with all due respect), so not a place if you like ambiance, design and city life ;=))

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyingScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed a night with 3 kids, and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful location, excellent service and a great food. We thought they would benefit from turning part of their land into a park eventually..

Room Tip: They have bikes to rent
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We booked for 2 nights in this nice hotel and had very pleasant stay. We enjoyed the food in particular. Mainly local and seasonal ingredients prepared with a lot of skill and creativity.
Situated a couple of miles away from the village in a park, it is an oasis of peace and tranquility.
Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony in the old part!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freudsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked only one night at this hotel because of promotion (50 eur instead of 150) but we had to stay one night more as the hotel setting is wonderful. You really feel as being a castle owner as the athmosphere is very homey and very friendly. We stayed in older (original) wing of this property which we found more interesting, but the decor of these rooms little bit feels like off_date (especially the rooms phone:) but it still bears very nice athmosphere. Very spacious rooms.
The hotel has nice winter garden reastaurant which we foung little overpriced, small conference facilities and beautiful tranquil garden.
Only downfall we found was the reastaurant menu as it was only in dutch and in order to choose some meal we were left with broken translation of a waiter (but he was very servient and patient).
Overall i would fully recommend to stay at this hotel (if they also translate the menu in english:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Duke-of-Monmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapsalongerarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maaseik
1.5 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#2 of 3 in Maaseik
124 reviews
7.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
7.0 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Landgoed Altembrouck
Landgoed Altembrouck
#2 of 2 in Fouron-le-Comte
142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Roosterhoeve
14.3 mi away
Kasteel Daelenbroeck
Kasteel Daelenbroeck
#1 of 1 in Herkenbosch
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Wurfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Wurfeld

Address: Kapelweg 60, Maaseik 3680, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Maaseik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maaseik
Price Range: £87 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Wurfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a private, picturesque sceenery in enclosed grounds of 2,5 hectares you find Hotel Restaurant Wurfeld Castle. The perfect location for relaxing in special Limburg setting and atmosphere. Excellent access from the Dutch and Belgium highways makes Wurfeld Castle an easy location to find and offers a spacious parking. Recently the hotel is extended and offers 33 atmospheric castle bedrooms, features all modern comfort. Every room has television, private bathroom, toilet and wireless internet. The lounge / bar is a fine place to catch up on all the news. The restaurant and a variaty of 3 meeting and reception rooms makes Wurfeld Castle the perfect location for any meeting, event, party, familydinner or seminar. Restaurant the "Wintergarden" is an eleganctly styled restaurant serving excellent culinary specialities. A specail Sunday menu could be the start of your culinary experience. Good quality for a good price is the standard we like to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kasteel Wurfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing