We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straight down the middle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Straight down the middle”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed with friends whilst visiting the Twinwood festival recently, 3 nights in total.

I think vanilla is the best description of this hotel, nothing too bad but nothing amazing either. I'll sum up the key bits:

Staff were very good, really attentive and helpful.

Breakfast - quantity varied daily but quality stayed good.

Rooms - 'conservatory style' wicker furniture a bit dated for our tastes but functioned fine, bed a little small for size of the room, but comfortable.

Location - two pubs within walking distance, one better than the other - see my upcoming reviews!

Overall, would I return? Probably. Are there better hotels for the money? Certainly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberrrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
36
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a fantastic meal on thursday evening,starters were a delight, I had probably the best rissoto I have ever eaten , Tom had the soup, on to main meal both specials,Tom had a T bone steak, cooked to perfection, with masses of trimmings and yummy homemade french fries, I had the lamb and chef was kind enough to make me the potatoes I requested , very lucky for me as they were georgeous, two large drinks each and no room for dessert,and a VERY small bill, we will definatly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fabulous hotel.Spent two nights at the hotel, the first morning two rashers of bacon and the second only one.I guess it must be who is cooking on the day.
I did have a problem with the wifi.My computer was asking for a second password to get onto the internet when i enquired they said the wifi was working fine.I was connected to their wifi but needed this other password to get onto the internet so beware.Checked my computer when i got home and it is working fine and also worked at another hotel ok.
Other than the wifi problem you really can't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingtongtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We held a small dinner party for around 14 people (including two under-fives) to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
The whole event was perfect- from planning to execution! Right from the start of discussions, Karl and the team were friendly, helpful and made lots of great suggestions on menus, pre-dinner drinks etc. We held our party in the private conservatory right next to the millponds and fountain- a lovely setting- and they suggested we had fresh strawberry Bellini for the adults and fresh watermelon lemonade for the children outside on the lawn before we went into dinner. Superb!
The food was very high quality and beautifully presented- they even threw in an extra course without charge- and the children's menus were simpler (of course) but all fresh-cooked and went down very well!
The service was exemplary from the whole team- nothing seemed too much trouble!
Most of us were staying overnight (in the comfortable rooms), so we had a late and rather rowdy night in the bar- and again, they seemed genuinely happy to accommodate requests for liquors at 1am! ;-)
Breakfast the following morning was also great!
Overall, I cannot rate our experience highly enough! Karl, Olivia, Richard and the whole team looked after us fantastically well, and I would have no hesitation in using them again for a special occasion, or just for dinner.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AADDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Went here for dinner last night with my husband. Lovely little place! Service was impeccable, food was delicious! Sat outside enjoying the weather and it was so peaceful......all you could hear was the trickle from the river. Will definitely be back!!! :-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsstaden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

this is a very quaint, peaceful, & relaxing hotel /restaurant will give a smile & buzz to
all that visit and the staff make you feel special, with excellent choice on the menu
be it for a light snack or maybe a big meal you sure wont be disappointed
great value & a all round wow feeling

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pre booked and ordered food in advance as we had a large number of people going. Well some chose beef some chose salmon. The majority of the the salmon was disgusting didn't look, smell or taste like salmon. When this was pointed out the waiter assured us it was all from the same batch and was all salmon. Some where flat grey and flakey others looked nice and pink as salmon should be. Then we had what was meant to be a cream tea. A scone which resembled a miniature bread roll and chantily cream not even clotted cream. The tea didn't come out with scones. There where also cookies but they had been cut in half. I would not recommend for people to go there the only thing I can say is the Interior and gardens are beautiful just a shame the food was very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toejam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
0.9 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
321 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,547 reviews
4.4 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
669 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
5.9 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Property: Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Address: Stoke Mill Mill Road, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe we have something special for everyone here; dining in the conservatories overlooking the river or our more formal dining room; a permanent marquee for up to 120 people for weddings and functions; 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms and informal business meeting facilities. The Millhouse Hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms all furnished to a high standard. The hotel offers single, double, twin and disabled rooms all with free broadband access, telephone, TV (digital freeview available in superior rooms), trouser press, hairdryer, fluffy towels from the heated towel rail and a good selection of tea and coffee. Guests can also enjoy complimentary toiletries in all rooms. The hotel is in an idyllic location yet just off the A6, 7 miles north of Bedford and central to Northampton, Milton Keynes, Oxford and Cambridge. Click here for our contact details. All guests can be assured of the best in choice and quality for food and wine when dining at the Millhouse. All of our dishes are created by our Chef, Matt Henman and his team, using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients wherever possible. He comments below on his culinary ethos: ‘I pride myself on using local produce and you can’t really get fresher or more local than Abrahams Farm Shop next door, free range venison from Harrold and P.E Burley & Son in Turvey providing our prime beef, pork, lamb, chicken and duck. I have kept prices down without compromising on quality of produce and the fresh flavours used in my dishes.’ Chef Matt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Sharnbrook, Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing