We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY A RELAXING, FRIENDLY AND FAMILY ORIENTATED STAY, THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sharnbrook Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Having been regular customers since opening and fully enjoying the excellent food and friendly service, we chose to have our Wedding Ceremony, Lunch and Evening Reception here on 15th August 2008; we stayed overnight too in the Bridal Suite prior to going off to Honeymoon. We were so pleased we did, because everything was done for us exactly as we asked and to our complete satisfaction; we knew we did not have to worry or check because of the quality of questions set to us in preparation of the big day. The food was delicious and so plentiful, so much so that everybody still talks of it today, especially the Lamb Shank. So thank you all at The Sharnbrook Hotel for making this day a most memorable and enjoyable one for us, our family and friends. We look forward to eating and occasionally staying overnight again and coming to The Sharnbrook Hotel for the various entertainment events you so professionally put on for years to come. Jake & Lynne

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaklynba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

We booked VesuviO/The Sharnbrook Hotel for an anniversary meal and wanted to stay local. We moved to the area recently and had heard great things from friends of ours in the local village pub but just never had the chance to get over there – kids/babysitters!
We were welcomed into the bar area of the restaurant and enjoyed a drink with a look over the menu before being shown through to our table. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived, and looked quite big. It’s an open space and the walls are filled with large canvas pictures showing Italian actors eating/drinking...we spotted Sofia Loren – gorgeous. By the time we were shown to the table it was busy in the restaurant and although we didn’t have an assigned waitress - we were served by every single waiter/waitress on duty – they were very efficient and polite.
We enjoyed a delicious meal, wine and ambiance – a little too much wine in that the owner drove us home and we collected the car in the morning – the Seabass was especially exquisite. I would imagine the restaurant is very loud when full, but we had a table against the wall and really enjoyed the evening. We did toy with the idea of staying, but we had to be back in time to relieve the babysitter!
Hadn’t been before but will be back sooner next time, lived up to reputation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miggy_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just returned to The Sharnbrook Hotel/VesuviO restaurant for a meal to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and the food, service & welcome were up to the usual high standard. We held our wedding there 2 years ago and had a wonderful day - all the guests remarked that the wedding & reception were great and the food was fantastic. We have returned several times over the past 2 years for romantic meals, family celebrations & the wonderful Sharnbrook tribute nights - the last of which doubled as my 50th birthday celebration. We are always greeted very warmly - as are all the guests - which immediately makes you feel welcome. There are many people who return regularly, as we do, because of the friendly, family atmosphere and excellent food and service - people do not return time and time again if they are not getting value for money. We have also stayed at the hotel on several occasions and, again, service and rooms are excellent. The Ciampi family run this hotel/restaurant with true Italian passion - they always have time for a chat with their guests. I have chosen the word guest deliberately because you feel as though you are treated more as a guest than a customer. We look forward to returning many more times and would recommend the restaurant & hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We arrived at the hotel for one of there themed Motown Nights - i have to say the hotel was very impressive!! Excellent car parking facilities and a warm welcome on arrival!! We were sat at out table which was very comfortable as we had a table for 10! The waiters/waitresses were very helpful, polite and always had a smile on there face! The food was absolutely fabulous - presention was lovely and it tasted amazing! Compliments to the Chef!! The whole evening was very enjoyable - we stayed till the very end before going to our room at gone 1am! The rooms are very very nice - very clean and very comfortable - i would stay there a hundred times over!!

I cant wait to book up the next evening!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patlar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I am a regular customer at Vesuvio's and have gotten to know the family that run the hotel pretty well over the years. It is great to be welcome and the traditional values of this italian restaurant were not lost when they moved from their old place to the hotel.

Whether I am popping in for pizza at lunchtime with my family or an evening meal with my friends/visitors, I have always experienced happy and pleasant service, healthy banter with the owner and a lovely warm atmosphere.

Weekends are usually very busy therefore if you are looking for a quieter meal then I would recommend visiting during the week, however with the way things are nowadays I would prefer to go to a busier restaurant where I can be assured that there is a regular turnover of fresh produce. My kids have grown up on eating out at Vesuvio's and they now go with their friends regularly too.

I recently had the pleasure of attending a conference at the Hotel with my company, and this was also very well organised and professional.

I have had a tour of the hotel but have never stayed as we are so local.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilmarinaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Admittedly a regular to the hotel, I was not surprised to receive a warm welcome as usual at the hotel restaurant. This is a quality of the Sharnbrook hotel that I do not receive in other places and must come from the obvious pride the family have in their business. this particular excursion was for my fiancees' fathers 60th birthday and the food was of it's usual high standard. The service was quick and prompt and the food came out at the right speed and the right gap between servings. Very good standard of food, service and ambience and nice background entertainemnt in the live singer too. I would recommend the restaurant and hotel to anyone without hesitation for comfort, style and quality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldax666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My Wife & I were invited to a Wedding at this hotel and we decided to make a weekend of it. We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and our regular double room was HUGE...more than enough room to swing a cat in!
As we arrived the day before the wedding we sampled the restaurant menu, they had a live italian singer on and the atmosphere, food and service was spot on, we had a really good time. Ahead of the big day we had a great nights sleep.
The wedding went without a hitch and from the ceremony, to the wedding breakfast to the evening party it was seamless and really well organised. Although we'd already sampled the food in the Vesuvio restaurant, we thought that the mass catering may make a difference, however the wedding menu food was fantastic.
This is a family run hotel and the family is nearly always on duty, if you stay for a couple of nights you get to see them quite a bit - Peppe's a real character and built the hotel himself...but the whole family are really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
The layout of the venue, the italian food, marble floor, music, ambiance reminded us of being in the mediterranean....we really enjoyed our weekend...
We had a discounted wedding rate of £85 including breakfast & vat per night and we felt that this was good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnssurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
10.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
8.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
766 reviews
1 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
7.4 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,670 reviews
6.8 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sharnbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sharnbrook Hotel

Address: A6 / Park Lane, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sharnbrook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sharnbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sharnbrook Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing