We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Find”
Review of Clough Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clough Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for the Wine Dine and Stay offer at £75.00. Can't express how much of a bargain it is for the level of service, quality of food and decent room. It's fair to say that some of the rooms in the hotel need updating but those that have been are excellent. The staff are knowledgable and we even got invited in to the kitchen for the chef to explain the different cuts of meat. The kitchens, wow, impressive. The place was spotless. We paid extra for breakfast in the morning which was a hot and cold buffet, again excellent, all the produce is locally sourced and you could tell. The views from the hotel are also stunning, we were blessed with a lovely sunny day. We spent the weekend exploring Delph, Upper Mill, Diggle and surrounding areas. Siobhan, the owner, is lovely as is her team. Wouldn't hesitate to go again, in fact we have already for lunch, very reasonable cost for a luxury treat. Thank you The Clough Manor.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9151Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Clough Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We did ask to move rooms as although the bedroom was lovely and spacious with patio doors leading outside the bathroom was very dated and tired and hadn't been properly rinsed. A thorough clean was offered but we opted to change rooms. We were moved to a lovely room although a little smaller with a really nice double ended bath (I think this was an executive as we realised once we had left that the price had gone up £10).
The main thing here was the food, it was superb and we will definitely be returning regularly for meals. The views are also amazing over the hills and the staff couldnt have been more helpful.
The hotel would be a perfect base for going walking on the saddleworth moors, although it is in a rural location it is easily reached from the motorway network and has been modernised.

Room Tip: opt for an executive room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a lovely wedding at Clough Manor and Kate was very helpful, patient and ensured that the day ran smoothly and to our expectations. The planning was stress free and Kate really put us at ease. Our guests were all over the moon with the bbq.
Prior to the wedding Clough Manor require a £500 security deposit incase of damage etc that is paid back no later that 21 working days after the wedding (alot of money to a family with young children). Clough Manor did not return this (despite a perfect day with no damage etc) and it has taken over four phone calls and countless promises by staff to no avail. In the end my we had to physically drive to the hotel (27 working days later) to ask for the deposit again which was eventually returned by cheque with the excuse that they had been to busy. When my husband collected the cheque he was advised that we owed a balance, after he advised we had settled this the lady checked the books and realised we paid on the actual day as agreed. The lady in question also tried to charge for an additional room on the wedding day until she realised the error.

Nice rooms, lovely wedding slightly spoilt by the stress afterwards and left wondering how Clough Manor would have dealt with late payment surely we would have incurred extra charges, quick to take payment slow to return it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank CM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We ended up here after a day of driving, and were just looking for a place for a day or three in the Oldham area. Are we ever glad we found it. The rooms were far less expensive than I would have expected

Located in the moors between the top of Oldham and Rochdale, this property was such a pleasant surprise. The current owners have had it for about a year, and are still fine tuning some elements, but the progress has been fantastic.

The staff are extremely warm and friendly, and excruciatingly helpful. Being a smaller property, they of course get to know you fairly quickly. The dining room is cozy and not expensive, and the food was excellent.

Getting here from Oldham and Rochdale was not overly difficult, if you know where you are going. And if you do, it is quite worth the trip. It's a bit far for Manchester visitors, but if you're in the area, it is well worth the stay

Room Tip: Take a room in the newer section of the hotel. They are bigger, and have a garden out the sliding do...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy_Colwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Lovely, helpful staff apart from one woman who I suspect is the owner. I (and I suspect everyone else) was woken up by a fire alarm going off on the Sunday morning at 8am. I went down to enquire as to whether it was a false alarm and this member of staff says to me, very sarcastically "of course it's a false alarm otherwise everyone would be running around the corridors. It's a test". I asked if anyone had been warned that a test was going to happen. And she said "we don't need to". No apology for being woken up or the fact that I'd had to get dressed to see what was going on. Great start to the day!

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Despite the pressure of consecutive weddings, the owners went out of their way to make us feel at home - even to the extent of taking us (and then picking us up from!) to the tram stop at Newhey. Good food, top notch breakfast well cooked with excellent ingredients - also ate in the evening which was very good too. Rooms spacious, clean quiet. Very good stay - highly recommended if you want a low stress visit to Manchester. Tram system was very efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great venue set in the hills of Saddleworth recently taken over however i attended a wedding recently and found that the bar was overcrowded and it took well over 20 minutes to get served the bar is not big enough and is sited in the wrong place it needs to be extended and more staff on to meet the demands of the weddings.
The staff on duty were overun but this may be because of the number attending the wedding i would check how many are coming and staff appropriately but the bar is not big enough
One toilet was blocked and should have been closed down or cleared.
However the hotel is ideally placed and more investment would help it secure up market status for weddings prices were a bit steep for drinks.
If you are booking the venue then check how many are going and how many staff will be on the bar to ensure your guests have a good time
A very nice place going through teething problems but it does need renovation and a bit of thought in the bar area
i would recommend the venue but they need to look at staffing and maybe moving the bar down the other wall changing the seating and bar area aound it would make more sense

Room Tip: The hotel has no swimming pool i have marked this by mistake the rooms are adequate
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denshaw
2.4 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
318 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
6.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
4.3 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clough Manor

Address: Rochdale Road, Denshaw, Oldham OL3 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Denshaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clough Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clough Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clough Manor Hotel Denshaw
Clough Manor Denshaw, Oldham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing