We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff and amazing food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clough Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clough Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely staff and amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had our wedding reception at Clough Manor last weekend.
Siobhan sorted out all our requirements and was very helpful, professional and organised from the day we first met her to the day we checked out. She put our minds at ease about everything and was always available if we needed to ask her anything.
The staff were so helpful and efficient, from us checking in to having a drink in the bar to then having lunch which was lovely.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern and all our guests who stayed were very impressed again saying how lovely all the staff were.
The rooms were lovely and clean and well stocked with essentials. Comfy beds with spare bedding and lovely crisp towels.
The wedding staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. They dressed the room exactly as I had asked with lovely touches. They were very professional and organised and explained everything to us. This put our minds at ease and we were able to just chill out with friends whilst they did everything for us.
The food ...... Well ... Where to begin ....Everyone just loved the buffet, that's all people are talking about, " Best buffet ever " This is all we have heard.
The breakfast was also lovely, the choice was vast and delicious.
All our guests who stayed the night were more than happy with all aspects of the accommodation.
Look forward to going back and having a meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel there are rooms with patio doors onto a shared garden which is lovely on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    54
    27
    14
    19
See reviews for
66
75
Solo
0
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Clough Manor Hotel was chosen for our daughters wedding reception. A fantastic rural location with views over the pennine moors perfect for the wedding photographs.
The main room was perfect for the wedding party and guests with its own bar. The staff where great with their service and the menu suited everyone. Several family members booked rooms for the night so to have breakfast with the bride and groom before the went on their honeymoon. The rooms where larger than expected and very comfortable and the breakfast fine,they even provided rooms for guests who traveled with dogs. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Chose the hotel as pet friendly, just to check for future visits with our dog, found the accomodation spacious and well appointed, bed very comfortable, all needs catered for. The bar and restaurant facilities were very pleasant and the food most enjoyable, good menu for all tastes, great breakfast, local produce and home made Jam & marmalade, great flavours! owners & staff attentive, pleasant and helpful,hotel is nicely situated, convenient for several areas of special interest and quiet with great views over the Yorkshire/Lancashire landscape. will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My brother and his wife had their wedding reception at The Clough Manor this weekend and I have to say I was very impressed with everything from the moment we arrived.

The canapés were gorgeous! The prawn and chorizo was my favourite, but they also had coronation chicken, stuffed peppers and beef satay. They were all very tasty. I could have eaten so much more, but had to leave room for the wedding breakfast, which also exceeded my expectations. I'm not usually keen on goat's cheese, but our starter was delicious! The main course was beef and I was surprised to see how much food we were given! I've worked at many weddings like this in the past and I have never seen such big portions given to guests. We were all stuffed afterwards! The white chocolate cheesecake for dessert was lovely.

The staff couldn't do enough for us! They were very attentive throughout the wedding breakfast and very professional. They had clearly put in a lot of hours work for us yesterday, but they were polite and chatty until the very end, especially Jonny on the bar. John did a fantastic job running the event. Everything ran very smoothly from start to finish.

Overall, this is a really good place to hold a wedding reception. Drinks are reasonably priced, it is in a beautiful location and you are well looked after by all of the staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to get married in this area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

After a long and stressful day with a vehicle breakdown we needed a hotel local to Oldham and luckily we chose Clough Manor
I note that the poorer reviews seem to be around weddings but our stay was on a Wednesday night
The room was spotless and quiet so we had a great nights sleep,a larger tv would have been nice
The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent
The staff in all areas were helpful and friendly
Special thanks to Sam,what a lovely,pleasant person.I asked if I could walk to a shop to get a newspaper in the morning but Sam said it was too far.
The following morning at breakfast Sam appeared
with a paper for me.The point here is that she was not working but had taken the time and trouble to satisfy a customer.
Thankyou for the excellent stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metalbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for the Wine Dine and Stay offer at £75.00. Can't express how much of a bargain it is for the level of service, quality of food and decent room. It's fair to say that some of the rooms in the hotel need updating but those that have been are excellent. The staff are knowledgable and we even got invited in to the kitchen for the chef to explain the different cuts of meat. The kitchens, wow, impressive. The place was spotless. We paid extra for breakfast in the morning which was a hot and cold buffet, again excellent, all the produce is locally sourced and you could tell. The views from the hotel are also stunning, we were blessed with a lovely sunny day. We spent the weekend exploring Delph, Upper Mill, Diggle and surrounding areas. Siobhan, the owner, is lovely as is her team. Wouldn't hesitate to go again, in fact we have already for lunch, very reasonable cost for a luxury treat. Thank you The Clough Manor.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9151Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We did ask to move rooms as although the bedroom was lovely and spacious with patio doors leading outside the bathroom was very dated and tired and hadn't been properly rinsed. A thorough clean was offered but we opted to change rooms. We were moved to a lovely room although a little smaller with a really nice double ended bath (I think this was an executive as we realised once we had left that the price had gone up £10).
The main thing here was the food, it was superb and we will definitely be returning regularly for meals. The views are also amazing over the hills and the staff couldnt have been more helpful.
The hotel would be a perfect base for going walking on the saddleworth moors, although it is in a rural location it is easily reached from the motorway network and has been modernised.

Room Tip: opt for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denshaw
2.4 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.3 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
6.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clough Manor

Property: Clough Manor
Address: Rochdale Road, Denshaw, Oldham OL3 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Denshaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clough Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clough Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clough Manor Hotel Denshaw
Clough Manor Denshaw, Oldham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing