We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Off-the-beaten-track Place to Stay and Ski!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Chalet Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Montgenevre
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Off-the-beaten-track Place to Stay and Ski!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

It can be fairly confusing to figure out where to ski in France these days. It's become a huge industry, lots of bling, crowds, and inter-connected ski resorts. This makes finding a decent hotel a needle in a haystack. Hotel Le Chalet Blanc has answered all our needs and desires for making a ski trip fantastic and low-stress! It's a nicely appointed, well-maintained, modern hotel with all amenities right at the slopeside. The personnel are waiting to help with anything: booking ski lessons, bringing you coffee at 6am, calling restaurants, getting an apres-ski snack going for the kids, you name it. We've been staying at this hotel almost every weekend this season as we get the fantastic Montgenevre ski station under our belts! The rooms are on the small side, as with virtually all French ski hotels, but they are cozy, immaculate, well-designed, and have great bathrooms and beds. "Family rooms" have an upper "loft" floor with twin beds. A ski locker room with heated boot rack is right off the lobby. One word to the spa-oriented: the staff does not seem to be able to get the hot tub very hot. But this is worth putting up with for their roaring fires going in the living rooms, friendly bar staff, kindness towards children, and delicious dining room breakfasts and dinners. We're headed there with friends this weekend too!

Room Tip: Room 207 for families has a two full bathrooms en suite! Ask for a view up the mountain for slope vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phebe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    28
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
35
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Le Chalet Blanc over the Xmas period 22nd to 29th December 2013. We booked through Cristal, flew from Bournemouth to Turin and taken swiftly by coach out of Italy and just inside the French border to the very pleasant small town of Montgenevre. At about 1800 metres upto about 3000 it's well placed for snow and as we were ski 'virgins' it was a really great location (experts love it too). A warm welcome from the friendly and efficient front-desk staff and we were soon in our very comfortable room with balcony and views of the slopes. Large and superbly comfortable bed, bath and shower with instant piping hot water and good storage space; we loved our room. From the start we were made to feel very welcome and the attention to detail was excellent including regular stoking of logs to the two roaring open fires in the sitting-room bar. Vigilant, eager staff took drink orders swiftly delivering as we lounged in a selection of sofas and chairs and chilled. On half-board, the quality of the food and drink was exceptional throughout our stay. I feared the conti-breakfast wouldn't be enough for my Anglo-Saxon needs but I was bowled over by the choice, variety and quality and everything was quickly replenished as folk stocked up for the energetic day ahead. All staff were attentive and friendly at all times whether breakfast, snacks or dinner and we always felt special. Everyone working there is a credit to the hotel, happy and helpful they made our stay very enjoyable. Only slight gripe was internet access was patchy from the hotel's own computer but Wi-Fi worked for those who hadn't forgotten their tablets etc! We didn't use the steam-room or sauna but found the whole layout, warmth, cleanliness and style of the hotel very much to our liking and would love to stay there again over a Christmas week. The lockers for ski-gear were very good and we hired great value kit from Skimium almost next door who delivered (Sandrine is delightful and Carine at ESF too).Montgenevre is compact, with a few shops, cafes and bars and a small Spar.Try La Capitaine for excellent pizzas and pasta! Easy to get around but pavements should be better cleared or gritted when the snow is heavy and sadly, dog mess is not actively dealt with. Get on the bus and visit Briancon old-town too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The most wonderful winter holiday, wouldn't have changed a thing. Ski in and out, open fires, divine cocktails and wine, most comfy beds in the world and run by such a genuine team always willing to help and go that extra mile! Would go back in a heartbeat, bring on next winter :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NayPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was our second year staying at Le Chalet Blanc and we loved it. We traveled as a family of five (three children between 6 and 10) and loved it. The staff are warm and friendly and the rest area near the bar had two fires going almost the whole time - this area is very much like a front room at home, children and guests mill around reading papers, playing games or having a quiet drink.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and delightfully staffed.

Children's food in the restaurant is not a strong point, for adults it is quite delicious though. To eat as a family book a restaurant such as La Capitaine and wander in to town - about 5 mins walk.

Montgenevre itself has great slopes for families with green runs from the top of mountains meaning that beginners (like our youngest) are not stuck at the bottom of slopes bombarded by advanced skiers determined to make a green run interesting. The pistes are quieter than other resorts. We traveled as a family and apres ski was not really on our agenda and we believe that this is not a hopping nightlife spot - a blessing in our book.

Generally the skiing is aimed to intermediate level with some interesting and challenging blacks but predominantly blues and reds that meander through tree lined valleys and open runs in some breathtakingly beautiful areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just returned home from my first skiing holiday. My husband and boys (age 9 and 11) have been to Montgenevre before and always stayed in a chalet, but I insisted that if I was going to start skiing I would need luxury to come back to. Hotel Chalet Blanc provided that! We stayed in a family room, was split level with boys upstairs in bunkbeds and had their own tv. Lovely view from balcony. Really comfortable, clean room. Bathroom slightly small but had bath and great shower. Shampoo etc provided but not the product that is on hotels website, which was not a problem but maybe hotel should change the photo! We used the spa faciltiies which are good- steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Hotel is decorated in a modern and cosy way. I sat in the bar on a few afternoons, on a comfy sofa, next to the fire, drinking hot wine. Drinks are more expensive than if in the town, but that is to be expected. We stayed half board and the food was a bit of a shock on first night, after a long day travelling the boys were hungry and couldn't really see anything on the menu they fancied. We were a bit braver the next night and spoke to the staff about our fussy eaters! This was not a problem and they sorted them something each night- making them chips (which are not on the menu!), chicken, or making their meals without the sauce. Service was great, especially once they knew us and what we wanted! Breakfast was good with lots on offer- continental inclued. Hot breakfast was extra. Lockers provided for skis and stuff. Ski school 5 min bus ride, buses come every 10 mins. As a beginner I found Montgenevre a great place to start, lots of green runs. We would stay again at this hotel if we go back to this ski resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klampenborg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

On our first night the waiter declared that they had no kids menu and that our twinns at the age of 3 could have a steak and that the chef would decide what they could have during the week!! The wine list is small, you want get a fire in the chemney unless you ask for it and forget about salt & pepper. The town is ugly and the hotel made us buy the full lift ticket even though the system had too little snow to connect to Italy. We will never come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jakob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a week of spring skiing with my 9-year old son, and we both loved it. The hotel is very stylish and had a lovely restaurant and bar area that was cool, but not too cool to enjoy a pre-dinner drink with a youngster in tow. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, the food was the best we had in the town and the staff were nothing but extremely helpful and friendly. I had the good fortune to have a massage during the week, and I can say that it was one of the best I have ever had. Also, the room was surprisingly quiet -- we never heard anyone in the hall, in other rooms, etc. I would recommend Hotel Le Chalet Blanc without reservation and hope to return some day! p.s. ski lift a few minutes' walk from the front door.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgenevre
0.1 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Saint Bernard
Chalet Saint Bernard
#5 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Clari
Hotel Clari
#1 of 6 in Claviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence VTF - Le Grand Hotel
5.3 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chalet Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chalet Blanc

Property: Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Address: Hameau de l'Oblisque, 05100 Montgenevre, France
Region: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Montgenevre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Chalet Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Le Chalet Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chalet Blanc Montgenevre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing