We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel ... perfect ski stop”
Review of Hotel Alpis Cottia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Montgenevre
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from 8 days skiing in Montgenvre and staying at Alpis Cottia. We had a group of 7/8 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is spot on. The two star rating does not do it justice at all. The rooms (we had 15) was very big, spacious, bright with views over the slopes. The bathrooms where clean, tidy and had everything you need. They replenished towels / toiletries as and when we needed and tidied the rooms daily.

The breakfast was a bit sparse ... tea/coffee, a croissant and a bread roll. Perhaps some ham/cheese/egg would have just helped kick of the day but a very minor point which should not deter at all you visiting this gem of a hotel.

You literally walk over the road to the slopes ... perfect and then back again at the end of the day to La Graal bar which is below the hotel. By far the best bar in town, great service, friendly atmosphere, great live music 3 or 4 times a week and the food on a lunch time was spot on.

Our groups favourite was the burgers!! Theres a small a patisserie next door and we didnt have to walk more than a 100m in either direction to find some excellent restaurants to eat on an evening.

Top top stay and a big thank you to Craig who went the extra mile to help us out during the stay. Definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms 14 / 15 are doubles with an extra single bed; great views and are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were given a room which was dark and miserable with the smallest window possible, so no light came in. The room was also very hot and the bed was small and uncomfortable. The bathroom is adequate but quite unpleasant and the whole place is like a rabbit warren and could do with updating. Did not find the owners particularly helpful or interested in ensuring their guests were happy. Breakfast was bread left out on a table which the flies had been crawling all over. All the time with "pop" Muzak blaring out and accompanying videos. Yuk!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Having just had a couple of nights at the alpis cottia I can safely say it was as near to perfect as you can get for the position, price and friendliness. Craig, the English manager, was on hand to arrange anything that we needed with his constant smile. I have been to Montgenevre for many years but this was my first time staying in this hotel but am sure to return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Was recommended this resort and hotel by a friend whose family own an apartment in Montgenèvre and I have to say, what a recommendation!! We stayed here for a week in March. The hotel is situated at the front of the slopes in the heart of the village, with the need to just walk across a one-way street and a small car park to reach the slopes (approx. 50yds). At the end of a day’s skiing there is the ability to ski back down a red run to the same location and the short walk back, so almost Ski-in <-> Ski-out.
The rooms are in typical alpine style, with wooden floors in the bedrooms and ceramic tiles in the corridors, which is the only real downside, as this does cause noise to travel, especially with the apparent thin walls between the rooms. The room we stayed in Room 9 was on the second floor and overlooked the slopes and had a double bed along with 2 single beds. There was a separate toilet along with a bathroom which consisted of a sink and shower cubicle (no bath), although the shower cubicle is fairly small and not user friendly for someone of larger proportions, but perfectly okay for us (I am 6ft & 15stone). There was a TV in the room, but no kettle or hairdryer, but plenty of electrical sockets around the room to use if bringing your own. The beds were okay, fairly firm, but provided a comfortable night’s sleep. Breakfast was continental with a Croissant on the Table and a choice of Cheese, Ham, Jams, Honey, Nutella, Pots of Yoghurt, 1 cereal dispenser, baguettes, fruit juice and fruit. There is also a coffee dispensing machine. A slight criticism was that some of the items tended to run out, although a word with a member of staff who were frequently passing by, soon replenished stocks so not a major issue.
There is a separate ski/boot storage room by the main door for your equipment, which is kept locked with the keys kept in the small reception/dining area. Access to the hotel is to the rear up 6 metal steps with keypad entry.
We ate every lunchtime at “Le Graal” café which is attached to the hotel, as the food and service were excellent, the waiters all having the ability to speak several languages so ordering was not a problem. The portions were generous and very well cooked. There is a superb atmosphere generated at this café/bar and it is worth while reserving a table for lunchtime if planning on eating there as this does tend to get full very quickly, a testament to the quality on offer. Inside “Le Graal” there are numerous TV’s on the wall showing the latest sport from around the world, we were fortunate to be there for the Engalnd v France 6 Nations rugby match and the atmosphere was unbelievable (a word of commiseration for Alex the waiter!!). They also have a live band playing each week for a couple of hours, adding to the enjoyment of this place.
We opted to go Half Board, (prices available on request). These meals are taken in “Le Jamy” restaurant which is next door in the square to the Hotel, this is a set 3 course meal, but they cater for all food tastes including vegetarians, ensuring first that you are happy with the menu on offer and providing an alternative those who are not. The food we ate here all week was of the highest quality and made meal times a real treat to look forward to, service again was excellent.
In summary we found Montgenèvre to be a lovely Ski resort, no queuing at the lifts, with all the runs leading back to the front of the village, so easy to meet up lunchtimes etc. A good resort for inexperienced along with intermediate skiers, although more advanced skiers may find the runs not demanding enough, however there does appear to be plenty of off-piste skiing available. There is a green run back to the village so all abilities can ski back down. The Hotel itself was perfect for our needs, the rooms were warm & comfortable, albeit slightly noisy, towels replaced daily if required. Service was always polite, friendly and efficient, with the food superb in both “Le Graal” & “Le Jamy”.
Finally a special mention for the manager Craig, an Englishman who has now made this his home for the past 10yrs, he ensures that the whole operation runs smoothly and was always checking up to make sure everything was okay for us. He is able to arrange lift passes ready for when you arrive, there is also a special rate available at one of the Ski Rental firms for residents of the Hotel and Craig was happy to arrange this for us as well. Craig responded quickly to my e-mails and made this a thoroughly pleasurable skiing holiday and a place we will definitely be coming back to. Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadEssexLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Craig the uber-friendly British manager makes this place go with a swing: nothign seems too much trouble. The rooms are just what you want - comfy beds, TV (French only), workable bathrooms, nicely decorated in trad style. And SO close to the slopes for skiiers. Rooms facing the front (er, the East??) are great for mountain views but can have some traffic noise. At the back you see over the picturesque village of Montgenevre with mountains behind, and the rooms are quieter. The bar downstairs has really well-priced, nice simple food and manages to be a fun and lively meeting place without being a hugely noisy apres-ski bar full of annoying braying snowboarders etc. Good for families as a consequence but equally lovely too for a bunch of mates off for a ski. I'd imagine it'd be great in summer with its outdoor restaurant seating area. All round unbelievable value.

Room Tip: The second floor might be better as sometimes sounds from the bar/restaurant below come up through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kkkkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Spent 2 nights here on a motorcycling trip in France and Italy. Good sized, comfortable rooms, friendly and really helpful staff. All in all a good stopover and excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pchandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This cute little hotel is PERFECTLY situated at the foot of the pistes. It's decorated in the typical alpine style. The staff were extremely helpful, couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant attached served superb food, exactly what you want at the end of a hard day skiing! The staff in the restaurant were particularly charming, and many of them spoke english. The atmosphere was always very positive, and it was nice to be able to watch the winter olympics on the big screens in the bar. The free wifi was a bit temperamental, but worked well enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgenevre
0.4 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Saint Bernard
Chalet Saint Bernard
#5 of 7 in Montgenevre
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valerie
Hotel Valerie
#6 of 7 in Montgenevre
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
#4 of 7 in Montgenevre
96 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
#2 of 8 in Cesana Torinese
94 reviews
5.0 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpis Cottia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpis Cottia

Address: Place des Escartons, 05100 Montgenevre, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Montgenevre
Price Range: £53 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpis Cottia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the main square in the centre of the village,we are never far away from your activities. Mountain lovers will appreciate our proximity to the ski slopes, chairlifts mountainbike trails and golf course.Recently built,our Hotel offers you with a choice of 15 rooms all individually designed and crafted in wood.In traditional alpine style our double, twin, triple, quadruple and duplex rooms are spacious and all en-suite. Breakfast is a continental buffet taken in the dining room of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alpis Cottia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing