We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy chalet hotel with very good food”

Chalet l'Ours Blanc
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgenevre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet l'Ours Blanc
Ranked #2 of 7 Montgenevre B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfy chalet hotel with very good food”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Chalet Hotel l'Ours Blanc is under new management for the 2012-13 ski season and is now run by the English company Ski Miquel. Furnishings have been renewed, with new beds and bedroom furniture and lots of comfy sofas in the lounge. The lounge now looks quite different to the harsh canteen look of the photo taken by 'Swansea skier' in 2011.

The Ski Miquel chef provides high quality food, there's a handy little bar and the lounge has an open fire. Bedrooms are warm and have ensuites, with slightly more space than many French chalets and some with balconies. The staff seem to enjoy themselves, which helps create a good atmosphere.

The quiet location is near to the village centre and Ski Miquel have free ski lockers underneath a branch of Intersport opposite the slopes and Prarial chairlift; the 7 minute walk to the slopes is easy as you don't need to carry skis. It's a bit of a schlap to get your bags from the bus tirnaround to the chalet at the start and end of the week, but otherwise the location is very good. I would be very happy to return here and hope to do so in the next few years.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here as a group of 8 friends at the end of January. It was our first time in Montgenevre and were so lucky with the weather and the snow. The chalet run by Ski Miquel was a great base. Our room was a bit on the snug side, but quiet and comfortable with plenty of hot water in the shower. Loved the open plan aspect of the lounge (with open fire) and dining area. The staff made the chalet really, they were all very friendly and seemed to work really well together. They even gave me their last lemsip when I was really suffering with a cold and croaky voice. Food was pretty good even though I didn't have much of an apetite, the only bit I was disapointed with was afternoon tea.
And of course the skiing was fabulous, great hosting from Stuart, had us swooping around the hills all week.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TABCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Spent a week in early Jan with 20 others with Ski Miquel and had a great time, food excellent, ski guiding unbelievable with all standards catered for and within easy walking distance of lifts and town centre. Montgenevre is a great little town with all sorts of bars of varying degrees and something for everyone !
Would definitely go there again as there is a great range of skiing and we were looked after by the Ski Miquel team there !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We returned to L'Ours Blanc Montgenevre for a second year with Zenith Holidays as we had a brilliant holiday with them there last year. The Chalet is in an excellent location, close to the slopes and lifts. As the town is at 1850 it has snow when other resorts are struggling. The chalet offers catered accommodation including afternoon tea. All bedrooms are en-suite and no shortage of hot water. The evening meals were excellent, a great variety and very well prepared. The staff were different from last year but ALL Top Quality.
I have been skiing for over 24 years and have been to many resorts and chalets with various companies and this is one of the nicest resorts and best company to book a holiday with and I would recommend them to anyone. All the staff are caring and have a professional approach to customers and nothing seems to be too much trouble. WELL DONE ZENITH

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyG152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It was our first trip to Montgenevre and our first with Zenith Holidays. As seasoned skiiers we have seen the good, the bad and the other but we were very surprised how good the Chalet L'ours Blanc was. The chalet was close to the slopes, had good sized rooms, great boot/ski room and an open fire :-) The service from start to finish with Zenith was first class starting with the pre trip courtesy call and culminating in the fantastic, friendly service of the chalet team. Being lactose intollerant presented no problem to the team who rolled out great food throughout our stay. We will definitely book with Zenith Holidays again, you should too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

For us as a group of beginners to intermediates, Montgenevre ticks all the boxes. The Milky way is huge and varied and with some free days offered over to Sestriere from Monte de Lune makes for some excellent skiing overall.
The resort has a nice non concrete feel to it and being at 1850 allows for a snowsure experience. You should also give the Monty Express luge a go. Something you don't often find in other ski resorts and quite an exhilarating experience :)
If you arrive early, you can take advantage of the Bienvenue pass which gives you a free afternoon adding to the overall value of the ski pass. Family ski pass options helps keep costs down too.
For ski school we used the ESF, who in this resort are excellent making all levels of skier feel more confident and making lesson fun and enjoyable.
If you go during the holidays, make sure you don't miss the free vin chaud, ski & fireworks show. ESF offer one of the best promo nights in the Alps.
The L'Ours Blanc chalet is not palatial, but Zenith and staff excelled in everything else especially food and service. The turkey and leak pie is to die for.
The chalet is only 5 minutes walk from slope and lesson meeting points....very convenient.
Thanks Zenith for giving us a great Ski 2012 holiday. See you again in 2013.!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our second trip to L'Ours Blanc and having had a fantastic holiday last year, we were a little apprehensive as to whether it would be as good. Well, this year exceeded our expectations! Weather and conditions were great but the icing on the cake was the fantastic service by our chalet team. Pete, Pete, Alec and Jimmy were a brilliant team. They provided amazing service and attended to our every needs. We were a large group (x32) of various ages (children & adults) but they weren't daunted by the challenge. They took time to check our needs and adapted menus, eating times etc to suit us. They were keen to join in our apres ski activities and didn't mind my sixteen year old joining them on the slopes and in the bar! These lads really made his holiday! We were so impressed by their maturity, organisational and culinary skills - breakfast, afternoon cakes and evening meals were awesome! The ESF instructors were once again fantastic and Olivier in particular worked his magic and managed to get a bunch of nervous mums down black runs! We really hope to be able to visit L'Ours Blanc again and would love the same team to be there for us. Thanks lads for the best time x

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgenevre hotels
0.3 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valerie
Hotel Valerie
#6 of 7 in Montgenevre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Saint Bernard
Chalet Saint Bernard
#5 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence VTF - Le Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
#4 of 7 in Montgenevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet l'Ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet l'Ours Blanc

Property: Chalet l'Ours Blanc
Address: Rue d'Eglise, Montgenevre, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montgenevre
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing