We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position, warm and cosy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgenevre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chalets de la Clautre
Ranked #1 of 7 Montgenevre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here with Zenith holidays as a catered chalet. Maybe not the most luxurious accommodation we have ever stayed in but we were the only guests! The bed was comfortable and the chalet warm, not too warm. We were well catered for by our chalet host, Rob who was well organised and cooks a mean dinner! Excellent value for money, thank you Zenith.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a bath/shower
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Les Chalets de la Clautre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Just back from a week at the Chalet Genepy, one of the 3 'Chalets de la Clautre' next to the Chalmettes charilift/gondola on the Briancon side of Montgenevre.
We travelled with Zenith Holidays who once again were excellent; great service and fantastic food. Our chalet host Claire was brilliant, really friendly and attentive and a great cook. She made a real effort with the children in our party as well, making them an early dinner and letting them 'help' laying the table etc. Our rep Fletch was also fantastic, Zenith must be the only holiday company I have travelled with where you see the rep EVERY day; he was there alongside the chalet host Claire to meet us at 1am on arrival, and there the next day to check we got to ski school without problems. He was at the chalet every day to check we were ok and if we needed anything, and even stepped in and cooked our meal when Claire was ill. When he wasnt with us he was checking in on his other guests. Great service!!
The chalet itself is a decent size; 2 twin rooms downstairs with a shared bathroom (actually a BATH as well), and 4 ensuite bedrooms upstairs. The living space has a nice lounge area with log fire and a long dining table. There is an enourmous terrace reached via french doors from the dining area and the sunsets from here are outstanding, the camera just couldnt do it justice. The kitchen is separate and also a good size.
The location of this chalet is perfect for ski in/out; the Chalmettes lift is literally 20m away and you can easily ski back to the ski store room underneath the chalet - the only downside is if you need ski school in the morning it's a 10 min walk to the meeting place as the lifts arent open in time to go up and ski back down. Nevertheless, this was a small price to pay for a nice chalet in a beautiful location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originalshiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Location wise, this little chalet is perfect. You can look out of your window and wait for the chair lift queue to subside! (bit of a tricky 'ski in and out' for beginners though). With the Chalmettes chair lift getting you quickly to the heart of the resort, it's easy to pop back to for lunch or if you've forgotten anything. The chalet was lovely, full of character. To be honest, our chalet host wasn't the best I've ever come across, but bear in mind they change from season to season.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a bath adjacent to the living area. It was fine for us but if you h...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Just got back from one of my best skiing holiday and this catered chalet run Gemma and Jack (Neilson chalet staff) was fantastic, they would do anything to help. Very professional dealing with a problem guest, to be honest i think i might have flipped if i was in their shoes, a real credit to Neilson. Food was fresh and hot. Plenty of wine for the duration of the meal.

The rooms were well sized and clean, plenty of hot water to massage them aching muscles after a hard day skiing. After some cake prepared by Gemma or Jack of course.
I would say though, stairs are a bit restricted, but there are two bedrooms on ground floor for those who might find hard to go up/down.

As previous report, the tele-mix lift is 20m away, you can ski down steep slope in the morning (or walk down) and at the end of the day, you can drop of piste and ski through trees and gate right back to ski store room.

Ski hire was with Twinner (the other end of the village) and the service was great, they even deliver ski's too the chalet. The equipment for end of season was fantastic, only two very little marks on the bottom and well waxed.

All in all i wish i was back there, though the snow in the afternoon at the end of the week, was very slushy with the 15deg spring like sunshine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-R-Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

La Petite Clautre is situated with two other Neilson run chalets at the Brianson end of Montgenevre (not as shown on the map). It's location gives easy access via a steep bank to the Chalmetts telemix lift which give excellent access to the entire ski area... it's location really is very good. I was a little concerned about the proximity of the main road to the chalets but traffic noise was never heard.

The chalet itself is rustic in style but the bedrooms were spacious enough, as was the living area. Luckily we shared the chalet with a nice group of people (not a large single booking) and this made the use of the communal area a pleasant experience. The only small issue of note was that the walls are very thin and soundproofing was at a minimum. Like I said, it was fine for us but may be an issue if you happen to share the chalet with noisy night owls!

The chalet is 3 star and I guess, as it is quite simple this is a fair rating. It is however, comfortable, cosy and clean accommodation.

The other very important part of the experience is the service form the chalet host and to a lesser degree the services of the resort reps. Luckily the Neilson staff proved to be excellent and certainly made me feel welcome and at home. Other company's could learn a thing or two from their customer service policy....

Anyway, to sum up, I would highly recommend this accommodation. We rarely return to a resort, favouring to try somewhere new, however I would not hesitate to book this accommodation again if we revisited Montgenevre.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank orangekss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Beltramo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgenevre
0.7 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
#4 of 7 in Montgenevre
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Saint Bernard
Chalet Saint Bernard
#5 of 7 in Montgenevre
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence VTF - Le Grand Hotel
7.6 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de la Clautre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de la Clautre

Address: Rue des Chalmettes, Montgenevre, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montgenevre
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing