We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience of my life”
Review of Coconut Tree II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Tree II
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Arguably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, absolutely terrible experience. As I write this at 2am as I can not sleep due to the roach and bed bug problem. I can not wait to leave, called the help number for clean sheets and they said they wouldn't be able to bring them until tomorrow and proceeded to hang up and ignore our calls. Stay here at your own risk, $120 a night is a rip off for this poor excuse of a cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ifavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We started in the older Coconut Tree resort at half moon bay and moved up to the west end. It was a beautiful view and a fabulous beach. The room was clean and reasonably well maintained. Mr. Bush was a fabulous host and we loved our time in the resort. Plenty of nearby restaurants and an easy cheap water taxi to get you around quickly. Although not a 5 star result, the place was great for the price. Some notes to consider, bring your own blow dryer if you use one. Book the upstairs rooms, the balconies are worth it! Rooms have small cooking facilities and fridge - great for smaller meals. No elevators so plan to climb a flight of stairs. ENJOY!

Room Tip: If you can do stairs., take the upper balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We probably just had a bad experience, as in one of our bungalows the AC didn't work and no hot water. All of that is fine if we were paying for a place with no AC and no hot water. I will say the customer service was excellent as they went to work on the AC right away. Too noisy for us though as its right on the main street, and the restaurant played very loud music all night... which is great, until you go to bed... the bungalows didn't shut the noise out very well. Overall it was OK... and we did enjoy the food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Loved this place but most of all i had the best customer service!!!! the rooms arent luxurious but who goes on vacations to stay in a room?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We just came back and had a fantastic in Roatan Island. Carreful tough as the main road is in the middle of the "resort" so it can be noisy at 6am. The main road, across the beach is full of shops which is really nice.
Also you better rent a car rather than take a taxi as it will cost you less to travel around (25$/per day (at the airport) - taxi:20$/per trip). West end does not have a great beach as there are boats all over the place. Best beach is at West Bay, which is a few minutes by car but an hour by foot. The population on the main land are so much nicer than on the Island, mainly because they use to see many tourists, expecially Americans. Great place to go......

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O2rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The best of all are the people who work there....big hugs to Vincent, Melida and Mark...we sure had a great time!
The cabanas need some update...but it totally worths it...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Prior to my arrival I had great communication with this dive shop regarding arriving from the airport to West Bay. They gave great taxi advice. The dorm rooms were decent. The cleaning people did not come that often, but when we asked for a broom to sweep up dirt, the cleaning women came the next morning and cleaned the bathroom. The dorms lacked hot water. A worker said that was the only cabin that they could not "figure out". Dorms cost $5/night and you really cannot beat that especially when traveling alone. There were 6 beds to dorm too. The location of this place is FANTASTIC too! Its literally across the street from the beach. Just be careful on the beach because there are a lot of nasty sand flies. Overall, I would stay there again if was on the island and I would definitely dive with them again too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllieRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Tree II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Tree II

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in West Bay
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Coconut Tree Ii Hotel West Bay
Coconut Tree II Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing