We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy!”
Review of West Bay B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Bay B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 West Bay B&B and Inns
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a great 4 days here in West Bay and loved having the B&B to come back to for some quiet time out of the sun. Lucky for us we just missed the Easter holiday crowds and only had one day on the beach with the cruise ship crowds.
The accommodation is perfect - very clean and modern with AC as well as ceiling fan. We had a balcony facing the street which is definitely the best room, but Diane does seem to be full most of the time, so book early. The breakfast which is included in the price, is always different, cooked when you are ready, and delicious.
The snorkelling was amazing off the beach - get Diane to tell you where to go - especially at Tabyana Beach at the end by the Grand Roatan beach bar. We saw 2 huge Queen Angelfish I think they were - absolutely magnificent - as well as many other schools of parrotfish and sergeant majors, and lots of other brightly coloured fish.
Also recommend the Gumbalina Park and the Sunset catamaran trip if it is available - from the Bananarama Dive Centre. Snorkelling wasn't as good as off the beach, but we did get to see the dolphins, and the sailing was fun.
The shops across the road are a bonus - Hungry Monkey does great salads - big sizes at a good value price. Deli food at the grocery store is good too, also the coffee shop has upmarket food too if you like quality rather than quantity like us.
Thanks Diane for all your helpful tips. Have a good time with your girlfriends when they arrive!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
65
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Well, all the other reviews have said it all at this stage, and I'm just here to echo them. Diane is a wonderful owner/hostess, very friendly and does everything she can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Cooks a very nice breakfast every morning.
Rooms are nice and clean. We got a room without a balcony, so it was a bit tight ... but we didn't spend much time in the room, however, would choose one if we were staying there again.
Snorkeling gear is for rent at very cheap daily price. The B&B is a 2 to 3 minute walk from the center of West Bay beach, so great location, even if there are no beach views.
Free internet too!
Great place to stay, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We started our trip in Tegucigulpa. Stayed in the mountains for a couple weeks before hitting Copan. Took the ferry from La Ceiba to Utila (which we loved ) before taking Captain Ray's boat from Utila to Roatan, which saves having to take a ferry back to the mainland and then again to Roatan. We took a cab from the dock in West End to West Bay B&B. The area is modern looking with new buildings and a small strip mall across the street. I think that because of the order of our trip, we were a little shell shocked by the prices in Roatan and by how touristy this area is. It took us a couple days to get into the local groove. This is not really the best place for the cheepo backbacker crowd, like us. West Bay B&B is clean, quiet and comes with a good breakfast. We particularly liked the peach french toast. It had the best shower that we found in Honduras. However we couldn't get the shower door to shut tight, so we always had water on the bathroom floor. This area is primarily for an older crowd that is looking for one step of excitement above a cruise ship. It is very safe and family oriented. Not the place to look for authentic Honduran culture. The beach is nice, but not my cup of tea. The beach is all sand, but no waves and no fish. People just stand around in the water. Not really a swimming spot. Crowds can get large (in the thousands). Not really a beach for jogging or horseback riding, etc. You canot really take a towel and lay it down anywhere. You need to rent a chair for $10 in order to sit on the sand. Bananrama is the main source of entertainment there, which has something going every night. We watched Pirates of the Carribean on a screen set in the water etc. It looked to us like all the suntan lotion and bug spray had affected the eco system there. The surrounding coral seemed dead for a significant distance around the beach. More like Cancun. I think that if we had started our trip at Roatan or had only seen Roatan, we would have enjoyed it more.

Room Tip: You probably won't spend that much time in your room, so I would go with the cheaper rooms. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We could not have found a more helpful and friendly hostess than Diane at West Bay B & B. She had numerous ideas and hints to make our time on Roatan a memorable vacation. Every morning there was fruit, coffee and a filling entree to keep us powered up for our day of snorkeling. Along with good internet service, she has available beach towels, mats for under your towel, and snorkeling equipment. Her rooms are clean with an air conditioner, fan, refrigerator tv, and ensuite bath. I thought I might be disappointed because we were not right on the beach but the short walk was not an issue. If you are looking for a more personable place to stay, you will not be disappointed if you choose West Bay B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My daughter and I just spent a lovely week at WEst Bay B&B. Diane is wonderful, kind, accommodating, knowledgable and enthusiastic too. A short walk to beach, good breakfasts, A/C, hot showers, wireless, TV. Room comfortable for my teenage daughter and self. For the budget minded this is a great place. Location is great. Diane even sent a trusted taxi driver to pick us up at the airport. Thanks for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizinwfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent a week at the West Bay B&B. It was perfect!! The location is great. It is only a 3 minute walk to some of the most amazing snorkeling. The rooms are large and very clean. Our hostess, Diane was wonderful. She was so enthusiastic and helpful. She gave us numerous tips regarding the beach and places to eat. She served us a different breakfast everyday and each one was delicious. Diane was a very gracious hostess. Rick & Jan, San Diego, CA

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and found the hostess absolutely brilliant. She was full of life and great fun plus pretty helpful. The rooms are big and clean and good value compared to the rest of the island especially since it is located on west bay. The artwork is q fun and the rooms are a bit like staying with a friends parents in a holiday home they've had for a while: very homely and comfortable for a little island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontravelbugkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#7 of 14 in West Bay
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay B & B

Property: West Bay B & B
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal | Across from Westbay Mall, West Bay, Roatan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded, surrounded by tropical paradise, pristine Caribbean warm water and gorgeous beaches, close to all, great reef diving, shallow or deep snorkeling, lots of activities. All rooms are well fitted with Queen beds, private baths, A/C, fans, TV, mini refrigerator, tables & chairs, view balconies. And now free wifi. Single, double, triple, and large family rooms available. Breakfast included. From the international airport take any taxi to West Bay Mall, we are across the street. We are a short 3 minute walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your West Bay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Bed And Breakfast
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay B & B Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing