We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Bay B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Bay B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 West Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

Westbay B&B run by Glen Coming is a new facility that is located in quiet surroundings. 3 minutes walk to the beach, dive shops, water taxi's, beach bar & grill, ATM, & a scooter rental accross the street makes for a convenient, safe stay. Glen is a fellow traveler who understands the needs of the backpacker/traveling community. His breakfast is different every day & tastefully well done. (You won't go away hungry) I stayed my entire 10 days on the island at his b&b & felt comfortable the entire time. Staying where the high end hotels are located but paying a fraction of the price makes it a good deal!

  • Liked — Clean & quiet
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
64
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

San Diego native owner Glen was an amazing host. We were a group of 4 from San Francisco and we have no regrets. Glen's Bed and Breakfast was a perfect choice for us. The hotel is very affordable and sits only a one minute walk from West Bay Beach, the best beach on the island. It is within close proximity to all restaurants, reputable dive shops, the market, scooter rental, etc. Glen takes pride in his place and goes the extra mile whenever he can including arranging diving, taxicabs, activities, etc. He personally cooks breakfast each day for his guests and is very flexible on times because he undersands the uncertainly of a diver's schedule on the island. We really enjoyed our stay and would undoubedly recommend West Bay Bed and Breakfast to anyone coming to Roatan.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliDiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.gallen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

West Bay is the best beach on the island and the B&B is just a short stroll away from it. Directly on the beach are only resorts, but the beach itself is all public and has some fine diving & snorkel spots.

I would certainly go back to this hotel which has internet (suprisingly fast compared what i had sometimes on the mainland) and near restaurants (all the resorts have good food). the rooms and the american-owner are in my best memories. He was very helpfull when i had some money problems (bring enough cash). reservations can be made on his hompage and directly be paid with creditcard.

  • Liked — staff, dvds, breakfast, location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller45422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

My stay at West Bay B &B was truly amazing. Glenn, the owner of the Hotel is the nicest person you will meet. Breakfast is included with you room rate and is very reasonably priced. There is internet access for a small fee and the hotel is only a block away from the best beach in Roatan. Not only is Glenn very accomidating but he goes out of his way to make your stay here comfortable and stress free. I recommend this Hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was wonderful
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

Glenn the owner of this bed and in breakfast is very relax and will make you feel part of the family. This hotel is very accomditing.
I would reccomment this newly hotel to anyone. this Hotel is just one block away from the best beach in Roatan West Bay.
Capone from Austin.

  • Liked — The owner, One bock from beach
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caponegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Days at West Bay Bed & Breakfast were fabulous.

The first thing is the value you get for your money ($59 USD for a night). In the whole area it might be well beyond the average price for a night, while the rooms and general accomodations clearly match most alternatives that you find within the bay.

If you consider the truly wonderful breakfasts (Glen has assembled an attractive menu with varieties of eggs, pancakes and other dishes) that are included for the night fee, then you start to get the whole picture of the place.

The rooms are almost new, always clean, with great facilities ( a/c, TV, great private bath, minibar...).

The fact that the B&B is not at the beach did not represent a significant loss for Jennifer and I, while we stayed at Roatán, since it is at a convenient 300 m distance from the bay, and we enjoyed the little walk. Having spent thee days in one of the cabanas on the beach before arriving to the West Bay B&B, we even thought that the location has the advantage that it can stay cleaner, since it is posible to keep sand and moist out of the room.

We also found the internet and the rent of snorkeling gears a convenient addition to the services that are offered.

However, the most important thing about the place is the spirit that Glen has built into it. In the true tradition of English Bed and Breakfasts, he provivdes a keen personal service and attention. He knows the kind of experience that he wants to provide, since he has traveled along the world for more than 3 years. If you are lucky, perhaps you´ll have the chance, as we had, to share perspectives and curiosities with him after breakfast. We spent a decent time taking with him about politics, his travel experience, and his professional experience as a clinical psychologist in England and USA.

Hope you find your stay at the West End B&B as memorable as we found ours!

Arturo Peón & Jennifer Boni
Mexican Travelers

  • Liked — El servicio de Glen
  • Disliked — Que no hubiera WiFi
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peoni73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

The Bed and Breakfast is right opposite of the Market/Deli
and it's just a few minutes walk away from the beach,....

The rooms are nice and clean with aircondition and refrigerator
and hot shower, too....

It reached all our expectations and we really enjoyed our stay,...
We were just looking to stay somewhere for a few nights....

Thanks so much,... the food was delicious and the staff was great...

Brenda and Inge

  • Liked — It was nice and clean and the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank B_LGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay B & B

Property: West Bay B & B
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal | Across from Westbay Mall, West Bay, Roatan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded, surrounded by tropical paradise, pristine Caribbean warm water and gorgeous beaches, close to all, great reef diving, shallow or deep snorkeling, lots of activities. All rooms are well fitted with Queen beds, private baths, A/C, fans, TV, mini refrigerator, tables & chairs, view balconies. And now free wifi. Single, double, triple, and large family rooms available. Breakfast included. From the international airport take any taxi to Westbay Mall, we are across the street.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your West Bay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Bed And Breakfast
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay B & B Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing