We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Beach, Great Vacation!”
Review of West Bay B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Bay B & B
Ranked #3 of 6 West Bay B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Great Place, Great Beach, Great Vacation!”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The West Bay B &B was a great place to call home while on the island of Roatan. It is new, clean, and the owner, Glen, is very friendly and welcoming. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. There is a restaurant down the street (Il Pompedor?) that allows patrons access to their beautiful pool when dining at the restaurant or drinking in the bar-- which we used often! Just a few minutes walk to a beautiful beach with remarkable snorkling. Glen offers free use of beach towels, beach chairs, and reasonable rates for snorkle gear. Glen also offers tons of free DVDs to use while staying in the B & B, which is a nice way to wind down after the early sunset (6:30)--great vacation!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeghanMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
66
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Yes! West Bay beach is a small paradise where we enjoyed 7 glorious days of great weather, magnificent views, crystalline waters, and a perfect spot for snorkeling and diving! We would not have been able to appreciate the beach without such a wonderful place to come home every evening; West Bay B & B is a real gem. We stayed in room #2, the room and bathroom were beautiful, large, very comfortable and extremely clean, it also had a beautiful balcony. I slept great every single night! I even liked the plastic chairs and tables because you can put all your wet and sandy stuff on them and they are easy to keep clean and dry. Everything worked great all the time, the air conditioning, fan, TV, cable, DVD player, and shower. The mini fridge was well stocked with a variety of drinks. The prices for drinks, telephone, laundry service, rent of snorkeling gear, and internet, are very affordable (half or less than anywhere else around) you can rent movies and beach towels for free. The best part of all of this was the host. Glen was the perfect host; he was friendly, caring, and extremely helpful with all kinds of information and always went out of his way to make sure everybody was happy. One evening every restaurant closed early due to a government imposed curfew, Glen made sure we did not go hungry that evening and prepared us delicious sandwiches. Mornings at “Glen’s American Café” were great, nice Latin American music, freshly brewed coffee, delicious breakfasts with a home made flavor and prepared with tons of care. Glen uses real eggs, real potatoes, he also often includes bananas and fresh tomato slices. Besides a great atmosphere, “Glen’s Café” is beautiful, spacious, and his art work on the walls is amazing. In short, Glen’s Bed and Breakfast is a home away from home, all the love and comfort of your own home and much more!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My friend Lindsay and I were looking for an affordable place with a little bit of character in West Bay...which is really hard to find. The moment we walked into West Bay B & B and met Glen, the owner, we knew we had found our place. Glen is such an amazing and welcoming person. He has traveled all over the world after retiring, which makes for many great conversations over his homemade breakfasts. Every day he makes a new dish which is included in the price of the room...I personally liked the crepes with nutella. Glen also offers his guests free use of towels, rafts, and beach chairs. The rooms are pristine and very comfortable. Stay at this B & B and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delanalensgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

After being shepherded all over Roatan by taxi drivers more eager to collect a commission on us than to find us a good place to stay, we met some cute girls--the first good sign--who enthusiastically recommended West Bay B&B as the best place to stay on the island, certainly in West Bay. They said we wouldn't find a better deal (and they spoke from experience, having moved to this B&B after disappointing stays elsewhere).

I think they we were right.

Glen, the ex-pat owner who wears several hats--owner, chef, manager, storyteller--welcomed us immediately and gave us a great deal on a very clean, nicely appointed room. He charged us half of what his similarly situated competitors (like Bananarama, which we checked out and didn't like) were pushing, but his place offers more: A/C, hot water, nice furnishings, clean bathroom, satellite TV with DVD player (and free rentals), decent breakfast included and reasonable rates on wired internet.

We thought about moving down to the West End for one of our nights to be closer to the "night life" of Roatan but decided that Glen's spot was too nice to leave. The West Bay is a little more remote--and it's a little annoying to have to take taxis to the West End, if that's where you want to hang out--but the beach at West Bay is by far the best one we saw on the island, and it has plenty in terms of activities and food, etc. Glen’s B&B, although not directly on the beach, is less than a block away. Very, very accessible.

Glen himself is also very helpful. He gave us suggestions on zip lines and restaurants, gave me sunburn meds when I came back in pain from snorkeling, and saved us a huge headache by helping us arrange travel off the island. He made us breakfast every morning at whatever time we managed to make it upstairs and made sure the room was cleaned while we were gone. He was friendly and accommodating, and his place, which resembles a nice new little duplex with the reception area (and his apartment) upstairs and several rooms for rent below. It’s not like staying at the Four Seasons, of course, but of all the B&B-type places we saw in Honduras, it was by far better than the rest. Its newness, for starters, makes a big difference.

Anyway, the West Bay B&B turned out to be a great deal--where we didn't feel like we were getting exploited, something that I can't say about a lot of our other dealings in Honduras--and I would return in a heartbeat next time I head to Roatan. If you don’t mind being a couple miles away from the West End—and you shouldn’t, given how much better the beach is at West Bay—then skip beachside hotels that overcharge while under-delivering and stay right next door with Glen.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scruffachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I stayed at the West Bay B&B last summer and when I decided to return to Roatan this year I knew that I would definitely stay at the West Bay B&B again.

The B&B is new, clean, and less than a minute's walk to the beach in West Bay -- by far the nicest beach on the island.

The owner, Glen, is incredibly friendly and accommodating. He truly wants to make your Roatan experience as great as possible. And his breakfasts are an excellent way to start the day.

I've encouraged all of my friends and family to go to Roatan and stay at the West Bay B&B. It gets my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh03101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Many thanks to the owner, Glen, for the great week we passed there.

Rooms are with fridge, a/c, tv - even if no cable on tv, there are plenty of DVD's you can borrow! All is clean and cozy.

Breakfast: Glen prepares it very well, and every day a different one!

Also you can see his passion/art on the walls - "collage" .. if you don't know what it is you have to see it!

We really enjoyed it because we were like at home, but with the beautiful beach, in addition, at few steps away from the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_and_Fab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Stayed here for the second leg of our honeymoon and truly enjoyed it. Glen was a great host. His place is very clean. There was a fidge in our room that came in handy and the AC worked great.

while there be sure to ask about Glen's travels.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay B & B

Property: West Bay B & B
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal | Across from Westbay Mall, West Bay, Roatan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded, surrounded by tropical paradise, pristine Caribbean warm water and gorgeous beaches, close to all, great reef diving, shallow or deep snorkeling, lots of activities. All rooms are well fitted with Queen beds, private baths, A/C, fans, TV, mini refrigerator, tables & chairs, view balconies. And now free wifi. Single, double, triple, and large family rooms available. Breakfast included. From the international airport take any taxi to West Bay Mall, we are across the street. We are a short 3 minute walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your West Bay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Bed And Breakfast
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay B & B Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing