We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the wraps”

Mangiamo Market & Delicatessen
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in beautiful West Bay Beach, Roatan. Serving: *Breakfast *Gourmet Sandwiches *Deli - Imported Meats *Deli - Imported Cheeses *Groceries *Domestic & Imported Beers *Wine *Liquor *Gift-Basquets *Party Trays
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the wraps”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We've been here twice for lunch and love it. I had the BBQ rotisserie chicken wrap both times and wasn't disappointed. The prices are on par with the rest of the resort island. The market was convenient too, better than paying $20 each way to Coxen Hole.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    81
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient but gourmet prices!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stopped in for a made to order Chipotle Chicken sub sandwich at lunch, that came with one small side. The sub was quite tasty. The market is convenient, lots of choice of North American snacks and beverages, but very expensive. Wanted to buy crackers for some cheese we had bought, but not for the $10 they were asking. Good in a pinch, but better to stop in Coxen Hole if you can.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank billcathyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint. Return breakfast customers after the first visit!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quality, Canadian style home cooked breakfast, you've found it! Eggs were always prepared exactly as ordered, bacon crisp, pancakes fluffy, Eggs Benedict with perfect Hollandaise and Canadian back bacon. Great service with good prices. We ended up going there almost every day for a week.

Helpful?
Thank 5StarChefsSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice market, good variety”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice market with a little bit of everything. Fresh sandwiches and burgers available. Fresh cheeses and lunchmeat at the counter. Groceries available to take back to your hotel and fix meals.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Started to avoid this place when we could... didn't try the deli itself though.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Sales taxes are so high in Honduras that it makes a lot more sense to just include them in the prices.. at these prices though people would probably be in too much shock to buy anything, they also have only the basic 20L = $1 USD exchange rate when its actually closer to 22L that you can get at most stores. We paid $7 USD for a 375ml of Flora de Cana at this store and later got a litre of it for only $11USD at a store in West End where everything was much cheaper. Best prices are in Coxen Hole if you can stop there after arriving, but if West End can charge a lot less, I don't see why this store (pretty much your only option in West Bay is the likely reason) can't cut their price down a bit too. I started getting 2L of Coke at the little stand along the path to Bananarama just down the road for $2 and $10 six packs of beer cans there too. Only saved 50 cents or so on each but it was at least a bit less. There is also a little store tucked back behind Beachers where we'd get ice cream snacks (deli only ever seemed to have the more expensive ones available... other shop was perfect for a 50 cent quick treat while walking down the beach). She also includes the tax in her prices (which are about the same for most things to be fair) but gives a 10% better exchange rate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank J9ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir_Chirinos, Owner at Mangiamo Market & Delicatessen, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,
 
We thank you for visiting us recently and appreciate your comments. On January 1st 2014 taxes went up substantially.  As a result a previously non-taxable item such as ice-cream went up 15%. Fortunately the government has reversed these tax increases for over 200 products making it more affordable for you and our other guests.
 
Regarding the exchange rate the current rate is L.20.63 for $1.00 US rather than L.22 as stated.  We are not able to change prices daily or weekly with the exchange fluctuations and in our opinion would have been better off with a fixed rate as was the case about 2 years ago. There are many Banks here in the island that you could have change your $$$ for our currency.
 
Related to the pricing examples you mentioned, our pricing structure is based on the location(just a small walk from all the resorts as supposed taking a cab to west end or coxen hole and paying a min of $20/person each way!), property type and value, mortgage, insurance, utility cost, dues, operations costs and import fees, taxes and level of product & services we provide among others.
 
Mangiamo Market & Delicatessen is proud to provide the best freshly made to order sandwiches, salads and wraps in an air-conditioned(a HUGE commodity here in the island because of HIGH fuel electricity costs) clean, safe and attractive environment with friendly and professional service.  We are located in the West Bay Mall, which is convenient and close to those in West Bay and West Bay Beach.
For the Deli and Grocery we import the highest quality meats, cheeses, gourmet products, delicatessen items and have a selection of international foods.  It’s is our mission to deliver the best product and personal service.  For example, we’ll go out of our way to customize your sandwich or order (import) a product that one can’t find on the island for example.
Hopefully our comments have given some perspective as to the challenges and cost of the efforts to make our guests enjoy their visit to Mangiamo and Roatan and still be able to find products or taste food similar or better to those back home conveniently all at our store.
We are sorry we did not succeed in your case, but hope you will give us another chance if your future travels brings you back to West Bay Beach-Roatan.
 
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangiamo Market & Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Mangiamo Market & Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing