We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diving”
Review of West Bay Divers

West Bay Divers
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay Divers is a PADI 5 Star Dive Center located in beautiful West Bay, on the Island of Roatan. We dive on the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef, the second largest reef system in the world, home to over 95% of Caribbean marine species. At West Bay Divers we have earned a reputation of professionalism in the dive community by using high quality & well maintained Cressi rental gear, and staffing experienced dive professionals with a commitment to safety. With daily fun dives, snorkeling tours, PADI certification courses, and specialized Island excursions, we are sure to have something for everyone. Let us share our passion for the underwater world with you! Coming to Roatan on a cruise? Contact us to build you a personalized schedule to suit your group.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
A TripAdvisor Member
466
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They do not travel far.. They have trouble with filling nitrox tanks. Very helpful staff. I wish they would go further in our travels

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestBayDivers, Owner at West Bay Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry you did not feel you had a 5-star experience with West Bay Divers. We are fortunate that the best dive sites in Roatan are located in West Bay, which is where our shop is located. We aim to bring our customers to the best dive sites Roatan has to offer which means we normally do not travel more than 5-10 minutes to the sites. We provide Nitrox for anyone that request it but as the reef in Roatan is very shallow with most areas of the reef being at 40-60 feet the benefit of using nitrox is not applicable.

If you are back in Roatan we hope you allow us another opportunity to give you a 5-star experience!

Happy Diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 184 reviews
"dive master"
in 92 reviews
"diving experience"
in 39 reviews
"el ray"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 37 reviews
"open water"
in 33 reviews
"night dive"
in 36 reviews
"dive sites"
in 37 reviews
"top notch"
in 35 reviews
"moray eels"
in 14 reviews
"fun dives"
in 13 reviews
"individual attention"
in 8 reviews
"experience level"
in 6 reviews
"great dive"
in 22 reviews
"marine life"
in 21 reviews
"eel garden"
in 9 reviews
"incredible experience"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the only place to go to if you want safe and small groups of divers. The shop is run really well and all the instructors are impressive. Boat was lovely and well maintained.

Hannah was our instructor and she was great - knows Roatan so well and is really safe.
Edwin is the best boat driver - and helped us find dolphins!
Felix is a great guy and was ensuring safety at all times.

Really enjoyed my dives. I would definitely go back to this dive shop to dive there.

Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

I just finished doing my open water and advanced courses with West Bay Divers, and can’t recommend them highly enough.

All super friendly and knowledgeable staff who clearly love what they do, and have the right attitude towards the reef/underwater life, the environment (frequently saw them picking up plastic and disposing of it), fun and safety. They all go the extra mile to make dives (and training courses) enjoyable as well as informative. Great atmosphere around the place, in the boats and in the shop (totally not a ‘clique-y’ place at all, everyone was welcomed and made to feel part of it all). The boats are both fast with big engines (most other dive boats we saw were really slow), so time to dive sites was never more than a few minutes, spacious deck area and easy water access. The shop is under a minutes walk from the beach so that was easy too and they kindly carry your tanks etc to the boat for you so it’s super simple.

Equipment was exceedingly well kept, constantly cleaned and checked by the staff and I felt very confident in all of my gear.

Particular mention to Hannah who I did most of my training with - clearly a natural teacher with a passion for her work and outstanding skills in conveying information in an easy to understand way. She went above and beyond to give me a great experience and I couldn’t recommend her highly enough.

Thank guyarthur2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

WBD had a warm, welcoming, and accommodating staff. You can tell this team loves what they do, and are adamant about saftey and providing the best experience to every person they meet. Their top of the line equipment and boats will take you to gorgeous reefs and dive spots all over the island. Recommended for all levels of divers whether it is your first time, or anyone trying to further their diving education. I'm already looking forward to planning several future visits, and would like to give a very sincere, and personal thank you to WBD for such an awesome experience.

Thank Dow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestBayDivers, Manager at West Bay Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hey Dow, thanks for such a considerate review. It was a pleasure to take you on your Deep Adventure dive!! Hopefully when you come back we can finish off that Advanced certification! Thanks again for taking the time to tell others about the fun you had diving with u, we look forward to seeing you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I dove with WBD from May 5-10th, getting to know the staff, and the owner as well.
They truly make you feel welcome, and you feel like your in great care from the moment you step in the store to begin your day. The instructors all go out of their way to help find the 'good stuff', including all the macro life that someone typically wouldn't see without years of diving in the location. The boat captains get you to the sites quickly, but very smoothly, regardless of water conditions.
The owner and or the manager was on hand typically, and you can tell they greatly care bout the industry as well as the ocean itself. Even the shop mascot 'marshall' does his part by greeting folks. Though this was my first visit with them, i am certain i will be booking with them whenever on Roatan going forward!! Way to go guys!!

Thank jf3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestBayDivers, Manager at West Bay Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

What a lovely review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such kind words about your experience diving with us. We hope it won't be too long before you decide to come and dive with us again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Bay Divers also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing