We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing day on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Day Passes

Mayan Day Passes
Ranked #12 of 18 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
College Station
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing day on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very accommodating place for day passes; friendly, safe, shady with plenty of space to walk and play frisbee when you tire from snorkeling

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sapalmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“After a ridiculous charge by Thirsty Turtle/Bananarama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Have been going to West Bay Beach for three years now. We own a villa up at Pristine Bay and visit Roatan 2 -3 times a year. Anyway - came in August with a group of 10 5 adults, 5 children (over age 7). The beach was deserted...we walked through from the street to Thirsty Turtle as we have always done and planned on paying $5.00 per chair for day as we always have. We were then told that the chairs were $10.00 for the day - again - the beach was deserted and there were no cruise ships coming in. I explained that we will be there all day and eating and drinking all day and that we would like the chairs for the regular $5.00 we always had paid. The guy said he would speak with the owner and came back 5 minutes later saying "no" the price is $10.00. I was so angry I said forget it and decided to walk down the beach. Came to Mayan Princess and asked about their chairs and how much were they...guess what- they were FREE, as well we were allowed to use their pool and gazebo area and all we had to do was buy lunch which is what we were planning on doing anyway. The chairs were beautiful (not the hard plastic over at Bananarama/Thirsty Turtle. We set up and promptly ordered drinks. A few of us then went into the beautiful sea water and our waiter actually waded out to us to bring us our drinks!!! Impeccable service! We stayed there for at least 7 hours and spent at least $300.00 on food and drinks all day - While I was (and still am) agrevated by the "powers that be" over at Thirsty Turtle...I am pleased that I now have a new place to go that treats me that way a person spending money should be treated...with respect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank deeweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmora Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very overpriced and not really worth it. You can go to Bananarama and spend less money and eat and drink for the price you would have paid. The plus is that there is a pool. If you are just looking for a beach you can spend less.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chatty_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, lots of activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was with 5 others on a cruise and we did a day pass at the Mayan Princess while on a cruise port stop. I had researched activities to do in Roatan, and hands down they have beautiful beaches. We decided to do this "excursion" and are so glad we did. It's a beautiful hotel property that was very quiet by the pool, bar, etc. The beach had a lot of folks on it, from both tourists at other hotels strolling the beach, hotel patrons, or cruisers. There were plenty of chairs, but we were also one of the first groups to arrive. They have separate chairs for day passes vs. hotel guests. One of the highlights of the day was the man who walked his pet monkey (picture attached)...the monkey was a hoot! We also enjoyed a local salesman who sold mixed meat empenadas (YUM!) that we snacked out. The Mayan bar had a good mix of food and drinks that was at a price you would expect on a resort property. All in all, I'd go back with no hesitation. It's a beautiful stretch of beach and the sand is so soft. There's also plenty of palm trees for those who want/need shade.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank YogaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is a great place to stay! We have been staying at The Mayan Princess for eight yeays in a arrow. They have everything you need, beautiful rooms, execellent staff, Mayan Divers and EXCELLENT internet !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wstreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Day Passes also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Mayan Day Passes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing