We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xbalanque Resort
Nearby Hotels
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$852
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
153
7
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus restaurantpaddle boardswater taxiseared tunafire pitsmall gymwest endfour bedroomsoutstanding staffisland includingminute paddledawn and duskwater activityroatan diverscocktail hourate most mealszip line
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August and we highly recommend this culinary, architectural delight! Incredible hospitality amidst beautiful, luxurious designer digs filled with original local and international artwork. At your doorstep: clear blue ocean water teaming with such a colorful variety of fish just a kayak's ride away to the reef. Foodies will especially be happy with daily feasts by resident chef Pedro! A real treat.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PegiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

When you have travelled extensively worldwide, and end up returning to the same place four times within the last 18 months, it means that this place enchanted you, it means that it feels like being home; this magical place to us is Xbalanque. This is the place to feel pampered like no other, from the direct services of the owners Patsy and Marcos, to the best 5 stars meals prepared by Chef Pedro, Xbalanque is once again the magical location that mixes luxury and state of the art services. Don’t miss it!!!!!

Room Tip: Decoration, armonic balance of the entire property makes you feel enchanted by the Xbalanque concept. The property all around is a magical compound that makes you love every bit of it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was looking for a getaway, a place to unwind, for a couple of days and a friend had stayed here and recommended it and I couldn't have been happier. Patsy and her staff are welcoming and friendly and available without being intrusive. Pedro, the chef, is excellent and makes fresh meals daily. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with quality furniture and appliances and is very tastefully decorated. And, unlike most places, the beds are comfortable. The place just exudes a welcoming, calming vibe. Everything you want to do is within a few minutes, including fishing, diving (which is excellent as the reef is only 1/2 mile off shore) and island night life. Nothing is over priced or under delivered. I will definitely go back - often.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just returned from my second stay at Xbalanque and cannot praise the location, amenities, staff and experience enough. Whether it was kayaking in the surf, snorkeling on the immaculate reef, drinking a homemade mojito in the beachfront pool or enjoying a freshly prepared meal, every expectation was exceeded. In addition to the "resort" qualities of Xbalanque, the open atmosphere allows you the ability to enjoy drinks/meals/activities with the other guests of the property... granting a rare and intimate opportunity to meet unique travelers. Of course, you can have as much privacy as you'd like in your sprawling modern condo. The location is a short walk to both the white sands of West Bay and the shopping of West End. You may also go off property and explore the island, as I did on the Black Pearl Golf Course (designed by Pete Dye).

I cannot stress enough the sort of rare experience the resort offers. Whether it be relaxation or dynamic activity, or an individualized mixture of each... Xbalanque is the ideal spot on the island paradise of Roatan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This deluxe, modern, zen-style boutique hotel is a little oasis of charm amid the vast, standard wasteland of generic rooms available for the weary traveler in Roatan, Honduras. It is immediately clear upon arrival that great planning, artistic creativity, architectural design and just plain thoughtfulness were the inspiration behind this unique concept.

For those of you who have stayed in upscale accommodations on a regular basis, you can attest to the fact that architecture and design alone don't make the stay, at all. In fact, the hotel structure itself may even become the object of loathing if you are not welcomed, your food is disgusting or the rooms are dirty. Am I right? Of course! So, I can wholeheartedly recommend Xbalanque (by the time you leave you will know how to pronounce, spell, write this word as well as be able to recount the mythology underlying this tongue-twister :) on a basis that truly counts and that is one of HOSTING.

Miss Patsy and Marco are the marvelous and gracious hosts of this property, Xbalanque. As I have personally traveled extensively worldwide for my work and have stayed in a mind-boggling number of properties, in all ranges and themes spanning many countries, I know directly that there are many people in hospitality who just shouldn't be there. Sorry, it's true.

Conversely, on rare occasions, you meet people who are not just accidentally at their posts but seem to have almost a genetic predisposition to their vocation because it comes so naturally to them to do what they do. Such is the case in this scenario- Miss Patsy and Marco will host you naturally, with ease and with pleasure. They truly want to share the charm of the island with you and enhance your travel experience in any way they can with their own knowledge, resources and skills. In my humble opinion IMHO, THIS is what makes this place and not the structure...nevertheless, the hotel is esthetically beautiful.

On a final note, as I am a chef with a high standard for food preparation to compare to my own, I can tell you that the food is great. It's creative, fresh, well-plated and nourishing. Great pride is taken by Pedro in his work as the chef. His wife, Kilian works along side of him and is a veritable tortilla factory unto herself - no press necessary, it's all handmade! The menu here will accommodate special needs and dietary styles which is also a bonus and not available as an option at many hotels.

Sporting equipment and many extras are available for you at this hotel without charge which also makes it more affordable on a relative scale, compared with other hotels charging for every single thing you use and do.

If this review resonates with you, don't hesitate to book this hotel and I would encourage you to book with them well in advance to ensure a place as it is a boutique style hotel with fewer rooms than many of the larger hotels. You won't be disappointed.

Michelle, the Superfood Chef

(Note: If this review is helpful to you in any way, please give the feedback to Trip Advisor -helpful review button plz, as I am a regular contributor and thank you for taking the time to read my review)

Room Tip: There is a open air rooftop with comfortable lounge chairs to gaze at the starry skies before bed- don't miss it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews