We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous & Special”
Review of Xbalanque Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xbalanque Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous & Special”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Xbalanque is truly a magical place. The decor, surroundings, and overall environment is just breathtaking. We were lucky enough to be at the resort at the same time as the owner and her family - they are truly wonderful people and we felt right at home with them and the other guests.

The location of Xbalanque is perfect - it is a short 10 minute walk to the popular and busy West Bay - but yet it is secluded from everything.

Snorkelling and Diving is amazing, diving can be arranged directly through the hotel, and you can snorkel right from your beach!

I highly recommend Xbalanque to all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_dobso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is truly one of the most romantic places we have ever stayed! The location of Xbalanque is perfect! It is right between the West End and West Bay. You can walk to both (the West Bay is a much easier walk) and water taxis are plentiful during the day. The customer service was awesome! You will not want to miss a dinner (Pedro, the cook, is incredible). In addition, Marcos will help you arrange for any adventure you feel up to. I would recommend this to any couple looking for a romantic getaway or any group of adults looking for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After a crazy wedding week in Mexico my new husband and I wanted to find someone, quiet, beautiful and relaxing and wow did we ever find it. Patsy picked us up from the airport and was very helpful and informative throughout our entire stay. All the staff go above and beyond to make the guests feel special and always call you by name. Abell the bartender works so hard (as do all the staff) and is so sweet. From kayaks, snorkel equipment, fishing boat and everything you could possibly want to know, they make sure you find the enjoyment you are looking for. The resort/house is stunning architecture designed by Patsy herself!! We couldn't get over how perfect and stunning everything was. We stayed in the efficiency suite which was about half the size of the other four suites, but that suited us just fine as we didn't really want to be in our room anyway. The chef's make delicious fresh meals every night. The one night we watched them knock down some coconuts and use that for the coconut shrimp that evening. Can't get any fresher than that. Patsy would ask everyone what their tastes were and then the chef's would make a couple entrees accordingly and they were always delicious. The location was perfect as well, about a 15 min walk either way to West End or West Bay. If you are looking for a party place then this isn't for you, but you can always walk or cab into the nearby West Bay. I could really keep praising this place, but instead you should just go stay there yourself and experience all they have to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband, daughter and I were thrilled to spend a glorious 8 days at Xbalanque at the end of February to attend our friend's wedding. Although the wedding couple was responsible for choosing Xbalanque, this small, unique resort provided exactly the type of tranquil, non-commercial environment we seek out ourselves when traveling. The accommodations are absolutely beautiful and quite comfortable. Patsy and Marco are exceptional hosts and the wonderfully attentive staff deliver excellent service without being intrusive. Our house caretaker, Sylvan, took extra special care of our family and Avel was always pouring our poolside drinks with a smile. Chef Pedro serves amazing fresh seafood and we will always remember his incredible paella dinner.
Our daughter could rarely be pulled out of the pool but we did thoroughly enjoy a day of zip-lining nearby and appreciated the easy access to paddle boarding and kayaking right off the beach - great snorkeling can be found just a short paddle away. Otto can also take you out fishing or for a scuba dive with divemaster Tim if you're so inclined. If you want to explore the nearby towns, a water taxi can always be flagged down easily from the resort's dock.

We were so honored to take part in our friend's fabulous wedding week and to discover such a special destination. We have undoubtably declared Xbalanque as place we will be returning to very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Xblanque is a beautiful resort. Small enough to be intimate. Great place for a honeymoon! There were 3 couples the week we went on their honeymoon. We got to know all of them and became friends. The beach is private and is a top spot for snorkeling or diving. Roatan had a coral reef right off the coast. There is an incredible tree top zip line right up the street. Has 11 different zips and is only 40.00
We also went swimming with the dolphins at Anthony key and that was awesome !! You can fly directly to this island (no ferrys)
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I’ll start by stating that you would be hard pressed to find a better place on the island to stay. Secluded yet conveniently located, Patsy and Marco have created a sanctuary. They are very attentive hosts while giving you space to relax and unwind. Avel behind the bar became a fast friend – good drinks that are quite inexpensive, as well. Food is fresh and well prepared. We especially enjoyed the snacks and breakfast. Massages and zip line were fantastic. Hopefully Tim is around to take you scuba diving and Otto is there driving the boat – they pick you up at the Xblanque dock. Thanks, Otto, for catching the tuna on the way back from one of our dives and thanks to Pedro for both searing and prepping sashimi style (oh man, it was SO good).

All in all, if you are into a less touristy, sophisticated but not pretentious experience you have to stay here. We’ve extensively travelled and my wife says it was hands down our best vacation ever. We’ve never visited the same hotel twice, but I bet we return sometime in the future as I have a feeling this place will never quite leave my thoughts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite. The bedroom is really nice with a comfortable bed, full size show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhyoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We returned last week from Xbalanque Resort and had a wonderful time. Our family, with two elementary aged boys, likes to take a winter vacation a bit off the beaten track. Xbalanque was a perfect destination. The accommodations are very comfortable with nice bathrooms, comfortable bedrooms and a full functional kitchen, living area and beautiful balcony. The outdoor spaces are beautifully designed. The transition from the pool to the beach and dock flows smoothly so you can enjoy all three areas at once. The snorkeling (a short trip by kayak) right off the beach is a great diversion. Our kids were able to manage an ocean kayak on their own without issue. The resorts boat will pick you up right from the dock if you want to scuba dive. Next time, we WILL take advantage of this. Above and beyond all this, the staff is attentive and caring. Abel (the bartender) was ALWAYS there to attend to our needs. Patsy and Marcos are welcoming and ready to help with any of your requests and needs. I would highly recommend Xbalanque and we hope to return next year!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of Xbalanque del Mar, which had a beautiful wrap around balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaymioLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
1.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
8.8 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
1.4 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xbalanque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xbalanque Resort

Property: Xbalanque Resort
Address: Tamarind Drive, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Xbalanque Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xbalanque is a luxury boutique resort tucked into the heart of West Bay and West End in Roatan. Xbalanque is located on the edge of the Caribbean Sea facing west with beautiful sunsets and white sand beaches. Several accommodation options are available from villa rentals to two bedroom or one bedroom suites. Lotus restaurant and bar surrounds the infinity pool by the sea with beach lounging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Xbalanque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalanque Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing