We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful idea”
Review of Xbalanque Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xbalanque Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the opportunity to tour Xbalanque on my latest vacation to Roatan. I did not stay there, but I certainly will next year. The place takes your breath away. It is certainly one of the most lovely resorts I have ever seen. And i love the concierge concept that applies to its restaurant and its diving. The dining room is for you and your guests, not outsiders. The dive operation takes you where you want to go when you want to go there and plucks you right off the dock. Other dive shops tell you where and when to go and you have to get yourself and your gear to their shop, often even before you have had your coffee. Often you get dragged to the dive site that the shop determines rather than where you would prefer. You get to stay on a dive as long as your air holds out, rather than being brought back to the boat so it can stay on the shop's schedule for the next dive. I know from many trips that the reef off the shore offers the same fabulous snorkeling as West Bay. And of course there are water taxis to take you to West End if you can stand to leave the resort. It is located along the beach between West Bay and West End, but it is quietly isolated from the noise and whoop-di-do of those places. It admittedly is not cheap but it does offer a unique experience, truly a one of a kind place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xbalanqueresort, Owner at Xbalanque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I do hope you will be our guest on your next trip to Roatan. I wish that i had the pleasure of meeting you. We work hard to ensure that Xbalanque is a unique and
personal adventure for our guests. I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent a week in Xbalanque for our son's wedding. Beautiful location and surroundings. Very good food and staff, they were eager to please and very attentive to our needs, especially Abel. Their attention and care made us feel like we were at home. There were 16 of us in our party and the only ones there so we had the run of the place.

Room Tip: Suites on East side have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mechyfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Yoga at Xbalanque was amazing. Courtney Harms the Yoga teacher was amazing. The locations were fantastic for the Yoga. We did Yoga on the rooftop at sunset, on the dock in the morning, sometimes in the Yoga Palapa with an ocean view and when it rained we did it inside with a beautiful view also. Courtney taught the Vinyasa style and gave each person lots of attention.
It was the best Yoga experience one could have. HHK

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from spending a wonderful week at Xbalanque. This was truly one of the best places we have stayed in our travels around the world. The hotel and setting were incredible. Patsy, the owner, designed this gorgeous boutique hotel and collected art pieces from all over the world. The level of service was impeccable. There wasn't anything we wanted that wasn't provided immediately. Patsy and her staff were warm, welcoming and made you feel as if you were staying as pampered guests in their home. All our meals were deliciously prepared and presented beautifully.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Xbalanque is truly a magical place. The decor, surroundings, and overall environment is just breathtaking. We were lucky enough to be at the resort at the same time as the owner and her family - they are truly wonderful people and we felt right at home with them and the other guests.

The location of Xbalanque is perfect - it is a short 10 minute walk to the popular and busy West Bay - but yet it is secluded from everything.

Snorkelling and Diving is amazing, diving can be arranged directly through the hotel, and you can snorkel right from your beach!

I highly recommend Xbalanque to all

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_dobso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is truly one of the most romantic places we have ever stayed! The location of Xbalanque is perfect! It is right between the West End and West Bay. You can walk to both (the West Bay is a much easier walk) and water taxis are plentiful during the day. The customer service was awesome! You will not want to miss a dinner (Pedro, the cook, is incredible). In addition, Marcos will help you arrange for any adventure you feel up to. I would recommend this to any couple looking for a romantic getaway or any group of adults looking for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After a crazy wedding week in Mexico my new husband and I wanted to find someone, quiet, beautiful and relaxing and wow did we ever find it. Patsy picked us up from the airport and was very helpful and informative throughout our entire stay. All the staff go above and beyond to make the guests feel special and always call you by name. Abell the bartender works so hard (as do all the staff) and is so sweet. From kayaks, snorkel equipment, fishing boat and everything you could possibly want to know, they make sure you find the enjoyment you are looking for. The resort/house is stunning architecture designed by Patsy herself!! We couldn't get over how perfect and stunning everything was. We stayed in the efficiency suite which was about half the size of the other four suites, but that suited us just fine as we didn't really want to be in our room anyway. The chef's make delicious fresh meals every night. The one night we watched them knock down some coconuts and use that for the coconut shrimp that evening. Can't get any fresher than that. Patsy would ask everyone what their tastes were and then the chef's would make a couple entrees accordingly and they were always delicious. The location was perfect as well, about a 15 min walk either way to West End or West Bay. If you are looking for a party place then this isn't for you, but you can always walk or cab into the nearby West Bay. I could really keep praising this place, but instead you should just go stay there yourself and experience all they have to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
1.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
216 reviews
8.8 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#2 of 5 in French Harbour
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xbalanque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xbalanque Resort

Address: Tamarind Drive, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in West Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: £214 - £621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xbalanque Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xbalanque is a luxury boutique resort tucked into the heart of West Bay and West End in Roatan. Xbalanque is located on the edge of the Caribbean Sea facing west with beautiful sunsets and white sand beaches. Several accommodation options are available from villa rentals to two bedroom or one bedroom suites. Lotus restaurant and bar surrounds the infinity pool by the sea with beach lounging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Xbalanque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalanque Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing