We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Place, Great Food, Nice People”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Foster's West Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foster's West Bay
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic Place, Great Food, Nice People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went with a group of friends to Roatan. Foster's was our choice. We all expected--rustic, cheap, on the beach, and nice enough. We were not disappointed. Don't come here expecting 5 star luxury. Go elsewhere if that is what you want. Foster's location on the West Bay is wonderful-white sand, clear blue water, and about a 1/2 mile of public beach shared by vendors, restaurants, and other hotels. We were there in June--off season. No crowds. Not too much aggresive hustle from local peddlers. Our group snorkeled right off the beach. The divers in our group went out scuba diving many times with well qualified guides. The food at Foster's in particular and Roatan in general was some of the best I've had. (Foster's two lobster tails for $12--on Thurs. night. What a deal! Also, down the beach at the Argentine Restaurant-whole grilled Red Snapper. Excellent.) The air conditioner in our room worked great. It will freeze you out. This is a necessity in this climate. No complaints. The Foster staff was really good. Leslie runs the bar and grill. Her food and drink and warm spirit were well appreciated by our group. Lincoln on the staff also deserves high praise. He will take good care of you--for whatever you need. Only down side--what is said about sand flees is true. Maybe seasonal? Bring bug spray for your body. Those suckers will bite.

Room Tip: We were to get a cabin with a beach view. Only problem was that they are now building a new dive sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    121
    36
    29
    27
See reviews for
100
152
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mr. Foster and his staff have created an atmosphere of relaxed hospitality. There are not too many places left like this in the world. Several large resorts have approached him to sell but he insists the land has been in his family for two hundred years and he's not going anywhere. The food is delicious, the casitas are great and you can't beat the prices. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to Foster's.

Room Tip: One casita is actually located up in a tree! A large spiral staircase leads you to the room in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Everything about Fosters was amazing! Right on the beach, wonderful staff! Live music a couple nights a week and the restaurant has great food at a good price! I would definitely stay there again, you've got to stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were hustled here by a guy on the beach trying to sell the nightly special. It was kind of bait and switch. The special really wasn't that special and we ended up ordering something different. Hot wings were good but average. Music was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk. I didn't find anything special here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great place, right on ocean, friendly, personable and attentive staff. Not fancy, but very rustic and charming....we were made to feel right at home! Food also was fantastic. Family-owned and operated! Would definitely stay here again! We loved our wrap around deck, beautiful ocean views and laid back atmosphere. The owners are very accommodating and invested in making sure you are happy while staying with them! If you are the type that wants luxurious and tourist laden this is not the place for you. Book down at the other end of West Beach instead for that where you too can be packed onto a very small beach front with wall to wall tourists. We chose Fosters any day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at Foster's on 4 different trips to Roatan. Each trip it seems like it goes further downhill. Now they have a zip line out over the water and a booze cruise junky boat docked at their pier. Their rooms are in desperate need of remodel/repair.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent a lovely week at Fosters West Bay. Our cabana was very nice with king bed, air conditioning, big deck with hammock and direct, direct beachfront! Seems that there are few truly beachfront rooms and cabanas on West Bay and Fosters has a beautiful beachfront location that is totally paradise. My husband spent a lot of time in the hammock with some much needed rest, and I went snorkeling every day, something 2 and 3 times a day. The reed is amazing. The cleaning staff was very nice and did their job well. The restaurant was excellent with lots of specials and they had live music with a latin band and it was so much fun. Otherwise the resort is very laid back and everyone very friendly. We cant wait to come back next year. Lovely vacation.

Room Tip: stayed in the Deluxe Duplex Cabana which was very nice and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Property: Foster's West Bay
Address: West Bay Main Road, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foster's West Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing