We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front porch is the best part”
Review of Island Pearl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Pearl
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Front porch is the best part”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed in beachfront house #25, really a great location. I choose Island Pearl based on reviews and location.
House...large enough for the four of us with one large bedroom up and one down and one bathroom on the downstairs level. Really thin pillows on the beds, you may want to consider bringing your own. Kitchen was adequately equipped. Have the driver stop on the way in from airport and get groceries. The small market near Island Pearl only has the basics. If you want anything more than beer, wine and canned goods you'll need to stop.

Service...We didn't have any problems with the staff, but our experience was they never went out of their way to be helpful. Reception staff when we arrived not at all welcoming. Wait staff not much better.

Food...Good pizza and that's about all I really cared for. If you like a hearty breakfast consider making you own. The hot item in the morning was adequate but not very well prepared. Fruit plate also just okay.

This is an ideal location, close to snorkeling, water taxi's and restaurants but don't think we would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62travelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    30
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in one of the beachfront houses for a week and did not want to leave. The house was perfect for a family of four (queen bed upstairs, two twin beds downstairs) and the kitchen enabled us to cook in every night and eat on the balcony while watching the sunset and waves. The best part was the location: right on the beach. Breakfast was at the Bananarama Restaurant next door -- and while we ate, the kids usually played in the sand. The beach was clean, and there is no undertow in the crystal clear water. The kids called the Caribbean their 'pool' and spent most of the day in the 'pool'. Great snorkeling about 10 minutes down the beach. Fantastic staff, particularly the security staff. The only drawback was the daily influx of cruise ship passengers who would fill up the beach from 10am until around 2pm, but with the privacy of the Island Pearl grounds, even this wasn't much of a problem. We are definitely going back again next year!

Room Tip: The beachfront houses have the best view of the beach and surf, particularly during good weather, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CISWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copan, Honduras
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The room was nicely located, I think it is the only one in the Island pearl for two people..just beside The vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar so you get to smell food aromas from the kitchen...the room is very oddly designed, the bathtub is in a different place though than you´d expect, so I guess some people may not like it that way but the price is good, you´ve got the beach right in front of you, a private porch, hammocks, beach chairs at your disposition, kayaks, the rooms are all in the same area, the banarama is right next door, the Thirsty Turtle is also there...breakfast was good...mini fridge, water, microwave, coffee maker all included in the room, you can relax in this place and watch beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatiana271z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in Island Pearl beach front house #24i
(Bananarama Eco Dive & Beach Resort). We went to Roatan for our 15-year
wedding anniversary, and can't wait to go back! Our house had
everything you'll see on the website...little kitchen/dining room,
downstairs bedroom with 2 twin beds & A/C, upstairs bedroom with queen
bed & A/C, a bathroom with a large shower and a HUGE front porch that
faces the ocean (there is also a smaller, screened in porch off the
bedroom upstairs). It was a perfect space in the best location (best
views of the beach/ocean).

I would like to mention that it was the 'low' season, so there weren't
that many people on the island, which made it seem like we had it to
ourselves.

We spent a lot of time at the Thirsty Turtle, each night was a different
event, and the people that work there are SO much fun. They are eager to
make sure you have a great time. We never had any issues with service
(some visitors mentioned slow service)-in fact, it was awesome service!
Vilma was especially nice, taking us on an island tour (a must if you
are visiting the island for the first time), taking us ziplining and
letting people play their own music at the bar. She was so much fun, and
we've made a lifelong friend. Others I would like to give a shout-out
to were Eddison, Chile (Adolfo), Derry, Steven, and Ana! There are many
signs around the bar with the names of specialty drinks on them and, if
you are brave, you can try and knock them out one-by-one (not in one
day). It's tough, but my husband did this and became the first to
tackle what we named "The Texas Challenge". Every day, someone would
ask us how far along he was.

We also went diving for the very first time. We initially talked to
Malek and Tyler, who were both very nice and informative. We ended up
going on our discovery dive with Malek, who was patient and made us feel
very safe. The water is gorgeous and there were fun things to look at
everwhere (coral, lobsters, flounders, shrimp, even a sea turtle!).

There are many places to eat, drink and relax along the shoreline, just
a short walk from Bananarama. We really enjoyed renting snorkel masks
and fins at the resort, and then making the short walk to the end of the
beach, where there are hundreds of yards of coral to snorkel and kayak
through. Not to mention the iguanas all along the rocks.

For lunch at The Lighthouse (recommended) and some shopping we went to
West End. West End was a short water taxi ride away, however, after
visiting one afternoon, we preferred to stay in West Bay the rest of the
time.

For a nice dinner, you HAVE to eat at the Island Pearl at the resort.
The food and wine, not to mention the service, was exceptional! Fine
dining in the middle of nowhere...just leave your shoes in your room,
though, as they are not allowed inside, which made the atmosphere even
that much more relaxed. They also have a new wood-fired pizza oven. We
thought we were going to get the first one, but due to rain, the oven
was not finalized before we left.

I highly recommend visiting Roatan and staying at this resort!!! We met
lots of people staying in other places on the island and they all
thought our location was the absolute best (many said they would prefer
to stay where we were instead).

Notes for stay: bring extra ice cube trays, a HB feeder, lots of bug spray.

Room Tip: The beachfront villas are completely private with perfect views of the beach & ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Island Pearl the last week of September, 2011. The rainy season was on its way, and heavy rain actually arrived the day we left. Because of the timing, there weren't many tourists on West Bay. We rented kayaks and snorkeling equipment a few steps from our room and walked right out into the beautiful, clear water. The fish and coral, a mere 200 meters away, were amazing.

We stayed in the efficiency unit, #28; it is all on one level, has a double? queen? size bed, fridge, a/c, open shower, sink with shelves, closed-off toilet, and a table. There's nowhere to sit inside besides the bed, though, and the curtains don't block any sunlight. Outside, though, there's a large square porch with chairs for four, a large table, and a hammock. This unit is right next to the Vintage Pearl restaurant, but there was not any noise because of it. It's a very comfortable unit. Bring bug spray, though... the mosquitoes were fairly bad outside on the porch and at the bar.

Breakfast comes with your stay. There's a great coffee shop (Cool Beans) within walking distance with breakfast items as well. A deli and market are right up the road as well.

I would recommend staying here because of the access to the beach, the number of restaurants within walking distance, the access to snorkeling/diving/kayaking equipment, and nightlife at the Thirsty Turtle bar at Bananarama.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

First of all you dont want to stay anywhere else because you'll be spending alll your time here. This is the second time we stayed here and will again. We brought our family this time and they loved it. The rooms have the Island flair and are wonderful. We were about 30 steps from the ocean. But what really sets this place apart is the staff and the entertainment. Every night there is something going on. Music, bands, firedancers, crab races, trivia night and much more. The best part is the staff in the Thirsty Turtle. When you go ask for Shanni, Wilson, Anthony or Zebby. They also have attendants walking around and we loved Nati.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank llbeards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Island Pearl July 2011. We booked the beachside villa, #27. The villa was nice, clean and basic. It has a large porch that we spent a lot of time on, with ceiling fans and furniture and a sliding door leading to the kitchen and downstairs twin bedroom. The bathroom is downstairs ( a little inconvenient) but is large and well lit. Upstairs there is a firm queen size bed with white linens, closet, armoire and a desk. This room also has a small private screened porch but we did not use it because the furniture was uncomfortable for relaxing ( 2 straight back chairs) The kitchen is basic as well- they provide filtered water in a large cooler, plates glasses cutlery etc, a microwave and refrigerator and a stove. we used the microwave, refrigerator and appreciated the free water...
The included breakfast was very good and filling with self service coffee. There were two choices each morning, a fruit and yogurt plate which was very generous and fresh, a "hot" entree like eggs, pancakes etc, along with self service cereal. There is no room service however the staff went out of their way to accommodate me as we preferred to eat on our porch, they would follow me to our villa (about 100 yds away) to help me carry the food over. Also the freshly squeezed juices were fantastic ! One morning I noticed one of the staff members cutting up some mango and commented that it was my favorite, and every morning after she (Shalonn, one of the general managers) brought me a mango from her own tree !
The food at the Thirsty Turtle is good, and generous. Nothing special, but we enjoyed the scene, the fish dip and the bbq one night. The drinks (especially the mojitos) are great ! Wilma is a great bartender and she can SING too, as evidenced on karoake night which was a lot of fun.
We also enjoyed the 3 course meal at Vintage Pearl - a little pricey, but well prepared food, nightly specials, and generous quantities, good wine. Dessert was sub par though unless you ordered it a la carte which I thought was unfortunate since we had paid for 3 courses and the other 2 courses has been very good. we loved the setting and they have a great wine selection.
We have traveled to beaches all over the world and stayed at 5 star resorts as well as holes in the wall, and I would rate this place as a solid 3 star property, and it is an excellent value for your money. The service is very good and that stood out to us.
Some suggestions, lose the tacky (VERY) id bracelets for guests -i know they are necessary b/c of cruise traffic (which wasn't that bad) and for other included items (like beach chairs kayaks etc), perhaps something more tasteful that could also be a keepsake- hand braided bracelt with shells, or a leather band ? heck even black rubber would be more subtle. I think it is weird not to provide beach towels (never encountered that before) but it wasn't a huge deal. Lastly more comfortable porch furniture would be a good investment. Oh and a mirror in the bedrooms would be appreciated. There is only one and it's in the downstairs bathroom.
Overall, we had a great time, loved the beach, enjoyed the good service, friendly staff and felt we received good value for our money.

Room Tip: We preferred the beach front villa but is was booked -this beach side villa was literally 10 ft furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TNGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pearl

Property: Island Pearl
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little known wonder in the Caribbean, where you can bask in near perfect weather steps from the silken sand. With intimate villas and a spacious owners villa, Island Pearl provides a serenity undiscovered in Roatan. Canopied by swaying palms, the beauty and intrigue of an Island Pearl visit has always drawn guests who are looking for something more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Pearl West Bay
Island Pearl Hotel West Bay
Island Pearl Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing