We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Pearl
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$750
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
122
30
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
30
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

we stayed a week in the studio right next to the Vintage pearl resturant- it was the best, the Pearl is connected to the Bannarama resort and dive center, you can have drinks at the bar(thanks Alex and Tim) and a wonderful dinner at the pearl- Stephen raymond was a fabulous person and took really good care of us as dis Antonio and Victor with setting up beach chair and umbrellas daily so we could watch and giggle at the crazy cruise ship people trying to cram the "beach vibe" into a paltry 4 hours. We could not have picked a better place to stay even with a rainy friday afternoon, chess, pizza in our room and dinner at the Pearl! We also did a dive experience- bian was a fabulous instructor for a couple of old crusty souls who had lost their dive vibe! he had us back in the swing in no time. This is a casual laid back place, no shoes, no shirts no problem! Just our style!

Room Tip: studio at the Pearl, perfect for couples who love each other and like to shower together
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a week in the Island Pearl studio #28 and found it to be a bargain, Although the room is small, it really is quite practical for a single or couple. There is strong ac, a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe in the room and enough nooks for storage if you utilize it efficiently. The shower area actually takes up half the space which comes in handy for rinsing and hanging snorkel gear and bathing suits. This is not a luxury set up, but that is part of the fun. There also is definitely sound next door from the Vintage Pearl restaurant's kitchen area, but we came prepared with a "sleep machine" to block this out when we were in bed.

The real plus here is the staff and how the entire operation is so well run. Everyone is smiling and quick to help with any request. One of the owners (Jeff) was consistently on site during our stay and he made a point of interacting with guests and making sure things were running smoothly and that everybody was happy. He and all his workers obviously take sincere pride in the job they are doing.

We had the breakfast each morning and enjoyed the food/drink specials a number of times for lunch or dinner. Everything was tasty and service was never on "island time," even when it was busy. You also can get anything brought directly to your lounge chair on the beach. It all contributes to the relaxed vibe that we were looking for in this tropical paradise.

The only negative was the crowd from the cruise ships on three of our days, but the staff handles this as best as can be expected. It is only for about three hours in the middle of the day, and we just made sure to be active and on the move. It's a great time to take a snorkel trip, hike or jump in one of the free kayaks. Or better yet, rent a paddle board from Anita on the beach in front of the resort. She is delightful and will take you out herself if you're a novice and have you cruising across West Bay in in no time!

We have already booked our return trip for next year with relatives. This time we plan to get certified and use the resort's dive operation that everyone raves about. We can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank merrypranksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

After much Trip Advisor research, my fiance and I decided on having our wedding at the Island Pearl- sight unseen. My wife communicated with Sofia, Cori, and Angela for almost a year leading up to the trip on the details of our stay and the ceremony. They were very responsive the entire time. We brought with us 21 family and friends and were more than a little concerned that the facilities of the Island Pearl / Bananarama complex would not stand up to the hype. People thought we were crazy for having our wedding in Honduras in the first place and then to never have seen the place was sort of the crazy icing on the cake.

Every expectation we had going into this was completely exceeded. Both resorts are extremely nice but the Island Pearl is ridiculous. We stayed in the studio at Island Pearl. It was basically an incredibly beautiful and huge shower with a bed next to it. The porch was private and beautiful and we loved the hammock there. The room was nice but next time I think we stay in one of the other homes on the property where some of our family stayed. If you can get the beach front homes, run with them as they are fantastic.

The beach is glorious, diving exceptional, drinks and food yummy. We loved the swim platform 30 yards off the beach and all congregated there throughout the week. Understand that you are on a tropical island so if it takes you an extra couple minutes to have a server take your order it is not a big deal- relax!

We arranged for a rehearsal dinner for everyone in the courtyard of the Island Pearl near the Vintage Pearl restaurant and the staff helped set up a barbecue outside with a steel drum group playing. Food was great, atmosphere beautiful and a good time had by all. The actual wedding ceremony took place the next day at the other end of the courtyard, right off the beach. Nadia did the girls hair and makeup and did a incredible job. Birds of Paradise flowers all around, beautiful white linen everywhere, they even trimmed some trees in advance to make sure everything was perfect. Devin Stevens did our photography and did an absolute unbelievable job. We have the most beautiful wedding pictures I've ever seen, all bias aside.

The reception took place at the Vintage Pearl restaurant which was extra cool because there are no shoes allowed in there making it feel extra beachy. The food was fantastic and we hired Kristofer Goldman's band to play afterwards. We partied all night with the staff in the restaurant- Terry and Angela rock!

The next morning my wife and I just laughed and both said that we had pulled it off. We had the wedding our friends are still talking about 8 months later. An absolute epic trip of a lifetime. We will definitely be back and can not thank all those involved enough!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Beachhouse #25 was our home away from home! It was cozy, comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The kitchen was perfect, we had all we needed to cook a full baked chicken dinner, mashed potatoes, the works! We did eat a lot of our meals at the local restauants on site (Thirsty Turtle and Vintage Pearl) both were excellent and delicious food! The staff at the resort we found to be very pleasant all the time. From the grounds workers to the cleaning staff to the servers, everyone was very accommodating to our needs. I liked that they always seemed to have a smile and and Hola for us! We liked the relaxed atmosphere at Bananarama and Island Pearl resort....I noticed while walking the beach every day that some of the other resorts were more the traditional modern condo type places, while Island Pearl were more rustic homes! I felt like I was truly in a tropical paradise and not just another hotel room. The air conditioning kept it comfortable, especially for sleeping. You really don't spend a lot of time in the rooms during the day....too much to enjoy outside that is for sure! The beds were comfy, and the cleaning lady came every day to see if we needed anything at all. We didn't feel the need to have her clean each day but she brought us towels and always emptied our trash. We had the breakfast everyday at the Thirsty Turtle (which comes with your room stay) We found it to be great all of the days! Plenty of food and really tasty. If you didn't like the breakfast they were featuring you could always have the fruit plate and cereal. The coffee was hot and ready and it was wonderful to sit out and watch the morning activities on the beach while enjoying breakfast! We had different sandwiches, chicken and pizza while there and never had a complaint! Dinner at the Vintage Pearl was quite elegant in comparison and were pleasantly surprised at the amount of food we were served. A lot of of fine dining restaurants tend to be skimpy on their servings, not the case here at all. The wine selection was wonderful also. We were there during tropical storm Ernesto and the managers made sure to inform us what was being done as precautions etc....turned out of course not to be anything serious and ended up enjoying the waves that the storm brought in! We loved that we could do everything that we wanted right there...they also have a great tour center were they can show you things to do around the island and even set some of the excursions up for you. Great service for the guests! It has only been a few short weeks since we've been there and already we're trying to figure out how soon we can go back!

Room Tip: If you like privacy then any of the Island Pearl locations will be perfect. It is a little more noisy over on the Bananarama side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidneelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is my second time staying at Island Pearl and fourth time at Bananarama/Island Pearl complex. This stay we were at Bananarama for the first night (reviewed separately) and then a beach view 2-story villa for 5 nights. We received substantial savings by booking in advance. Even though there were only 2 of us, we wanted the extra room that the villa provided over a room at Bananarama. The villa has a kitchen with table, bathroom with huge shower and bedroom with 2 twin beds on the first floor. Second floor is a bedroom with Q bed and screened in porch. The first floor has a very large outdoor porch with chairs, a hammock and rope chair.

The chairs at the resort (at bar, breakfast, on the room patios and in our kitchen) are very hard. On the patio they have cushions, but they are somewhat flat. We sat on folded towels in the kitchen. The cusions could use a washing. Same for the rug at the outside of the room and in the bathroom.

We were there when Ernesto hit. Luckily we just lost one day when it rained on and off and the water was rough. We were glad to have the extra room of the villa. Everyone made it to breakast as there was a lull in the rain, but it was pouring at lunchtime. Staff came by to see if we wanted to order lunch. This was a nice touch. They also waived the $2 charge for renting movies. By dinner the sky was showing clearing in the distance and things were back to normal.

There was quite a bit of beach erosion and washed-up debris along the whole beach. However, the next morning, the entire beach had been cleaned and restored and the water was back to normal. The only sign that there had been a storm was the Bananarama diving platform was still chained to trees on the beach.

The staff at this resort is very friendly and helpful. Service is a little variable. Paying customers get taken care of first, and quickly. Sometimes we were taken care of quickly and sometimes we had to wait a little. But the staff were always friendly, happy and hustling. The view is beautiful so a short wait was not unpleasant. They have lots of drink and food specials every day so dining is reasonable. The brick oven is a new addition and the pizza is delicious.

The beach is beautiful here, but it was a little more crowded than 2 years ago. Chairs are provided but we never encountered anyone to help move them out onto the beach. And they need to be wiped down and cleaned once in awhile. Beach towels are now charged - $5 a week. I protested this as I felt that the price of a villa (more than double the rate of a room at Bananaram) should include a towel. No one wants to waste space in a suitcase carrying beach towels. They should do what other hotels do and give you a card that you can exchange for a towel. At the end of your stay, when you return the towel you get the card back. If you don't return the card at check-out then they can charge you for a towel.

Check-in and check-out was very quick. All in all, this place is a good value and has a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews