We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Zipline, Monkey and Parrot Interaction plus Beach Resort Combo Tour in Roatan
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
US-PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We've traveled a lot in the Caribbean and West Bay is one of the nicest beaches we've seen. Incredible snorkeling right off the beach in crystal-clear water and just enough restaurants on the beach to keep you interested without being overdeveloped.
Main complaint is the vendors who are on you every few minutes. We stayed at Infinity Bay resort and loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjaymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    455
    134
    33
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stopped off in Roatan for 1 day as part of a Western Caribbean cruise with Carnival. Once we got off the boat, we found a shuttle to take us to West End Beach for $20 per person round trip. West End was a nice enough area, but in order to snorkel there you needed to pay for an excursion so that a boat would take you a few minutes out to the coral. Instead, we took a water taxi for $3 per person to West Bay Beach, and couldn't have been happier.

Just a few feet off of the soft white sand, we were able to see tons of colorful fish along the coral wall, including what appeared to be a 50 pound parrot fish. We were also able to swim out a bit more into the reef, where there were even more larger fish. You won't be sorry if you come for the blue waters, white sand, and beautiful green rainforest landscape.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Rena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
“West Bay Roatan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent a week in West Bay and LOVE it! Awesome place to vacation. The beach is great and the water is so beautiful. We met some wonderful locals while we were there.We can't wait to return and will stay in West Bay again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely beach, with very fine, soft sand, gentle waves and a gradual drop-off. There are a lot of restaurants and activities, plus restrroms are available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very nice beach. Chair available for rent. May get crowded when cruise ship in port. Watch out for sand flies!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanfom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing