We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Tropical Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My Tropical Home”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Just returned from my 6th stay at Bananrama. This resort is located at the center of West Bay beach which is the most beautiful beach on Roatan. Roatan is very convient to get to from the U.S. You can fly either Continental out of Houston, TX. or Delta out of Atlanta, GA. and arrive by midday on Saturday and still have plenty of time to get into the water after checking in. If you are a first timer Louise who takes reservations for the resort can help you with any questions or issues that you may have. In addition to the beautiful beach there is also a great reef right in front of the resort that has an abundance of interesting marine life. This time of year (April 9-16) is a great time to visit as every single day was warm and not a cloud in the sky. The dense tropical plantings at Bananama are not only beautiful but also shade you from the afternoon sun. The cabanas are simple but this helps keep them affordable. Most resorts on the beach tend to charge far more for lodging. The Thirsty Turtle beach bar is fun and is where people from the other resorts hang out as well so you know that you are in the right place. However, the bar does close at 10p each night to ensure that noise is not an issue for guests trying to sleep. Bananrama's owner Guy St. Louis is a big-hearted man who is commited to giving back to the community of Roatan he is involved with everything from the local marine park, the orphanage, and the clinic to finding homes for stray cats. If you love the water, warm weather, sandy beaches and an escape from the daily grind this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ba1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    334
    88
    30
    25
See reviews for
321
502
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We just returned to Bananarama for the third time. We have seen it go through several changes over the years, but some things remain the same. One is the absolutely gorgeous beach and the beautiful blue water of the Caribbean. The island is getting a lot more cruise ships coming in since Carnival put in a new harbor. The owners are trying to separate the cruise shippers from the hotel guests by roping off a private area in front of the Island Pearl for hotel guests. It does really help. Most days the cruisers are on their way back to the ship by mid afternoon or sooner.
The food at the Thirsty Turtle is still very good. Just remember you are on Island time and don't expect lightening speed service. We were so happy to see Carolena was still there. She remembered us from our last visit and ran up to give us a big hug as soon as she spotted us. She has always gone out of her way to take care of us. Sara and Victoria in the office were always very friendly and helpful as well. The dive staff is fantastic as well. This isn't a fancy resort, but the staff really makes the difference. If you want an unpretentious place with lots of beautiful trees, flowers and an amazing beach this is your place. We love it.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziqaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My adult daughter and I spent eight nights in one of the Island Pearl Villa's at Bananarama. We had the best vacation EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not only is it an absolutely beautiful and pristine beach and resort, but the people that own and operate the resort and their employees could not have been more perfect. I had planned to go to Italy and Spain next spring but decided instead to return to Bananarama. I'll do Italy and Spain in 2013.

Jill
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill92028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My husband and I joined our son and daughter in law at Bananarama. We all loved the relaxed place and pace of the resort. Our son and wife were diving everyday and the enthusiastic staff encouraged me to try, and love, a first time dive experience. We read about the island community programs connected to the resort and brought some school supplies, cloths and formula with us to donate- a great place filled with open hearted, enthusiastic, honest staff. Good food, great island drinks and local beers at the bar. The reception staff arranged an excellence tour of the Island for us and we took water taxis to other areas for $3. The beautiful beach and alive vibrant reef were feet away. Sunday crab races and fire dancers and evening music- it was an awesome vacation for our minds to relax, swimming, snorkeling, diving and walks were body great and opportunities to give back where heartfelt. Thank you Bananarama staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eslbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

A beautiful well run resort right on the best beach in Roatan. The Caribbean sunsets were fantastic, and the staff was wonderful. We felt like we were leaving family behind when we left. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious and were different every day. I can’t say enough about their dive center, the Instructors and Dive Masters, boat Captains, and everyone involved were knowledgeable, friendly, and left us with the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Words cannot describe the absolute paradise that is Bananarama Dive Resort. My mother and I spent 8 glorious nights there and could have easily stayed another 8. Our room was absolutely wonderful (the best at the resort) with it's ocean views under the swaying palms. Not only are the grounds breathtakingly beautiful, but everyone employed at the resort goes out of their way to ensure a good time is had by all. I cannot tell you how warm and friendly everyone is. By the end of our trip it was as if we were part of a new family and both my mother and I shed tears when having to say good-bye to them. There isn't a single negative thing I can think of to say, and I'm already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My college student daughter and I spent a week at this wonderful place and were enchanted. Bananarama is a beachfront complex in the middle of the best beach on the island and is a perfect mix of relaxation and activity. The water is crystal clear and turquoise, and because of the reef, almost without waves. There are lots of activities if you want and a concierge service run by the hotel on the beach that will help you book boat tours, dolphin experience, ziplines, etc. as well as rent snorkeling equipment. Beach chairs and sea kayaks are loaned out free to guests, but you need to bring your own beach towel. The dive shop, also attached to the complex, was first-rate, friendly and affordable.
There was always something going on at the Thirsty Turtle, (the hotel's beachside bar/restaurant), whether it be a movie, live music or karaoke, and so there were always people around but it never felt overwhelming - except mid-day on a few weekdays when the cruise ship passengers were passing through. Food at the Thirsty Turtle was decent but not inspiring and service was "island service" speed (like almost every other restaurant we visited, you need to have patience). On days when there were no cruise ships (Sat, Sun, Mon), the beach, restaurant and hotel were quiet and relaxing, but did not feel like a ghost town. My only complaint is that the bar did not put umbrellas in their tropical drinks! If you want a gourmet dining experience, the Vintage Pearl, was absolutely first-rate and gourmet - the best place we ate at during our stay - fine dining, but in shorts and flip flops.

The hotel is not a 5-star resort, nor does it strive to be, and you should not expect that level of finish or staff in fancy uniforms. Instead, it is an extremely comfortable, well-maintained and memorable complex of 20 or so rooms in a complex of wood buildings that is as non-corporate as you can get but still attractive. The whole place feels like a family-run business in the best sense and both management and staff strive to take care of you and be as friendly as possible.
Our room had its own private stairway and spacious balcony complete with hammock. We had plenty of hot water, daily maid service, air conditioning, ceiling fans and wi-fi that worked. We were in a building of 4 units, steps away from the beach, yet it was still very quiet at night. The clientele was - other guests included several other families with teenage kids, some families with young children, older couples, and younger singles and it had a very family-friendly feel. Overall, both my daughter and I felt it was a great value and a memorable experience and would return in a heart-beat. I've been to 45 countries and this island and this hotel are two of my favorite places anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdesmond1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
531 reviews
11.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing