We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Get Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rustic Get Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We rely on Trip Advisor reviews for our vacations and were very glad we decided on the Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort . We booked our week long stay through emails with Jane and she was very helpful in answering our questions. It is very reasonably priced. When we arrived in Roatan we were met at the airport and were helped with our bags. It was a short van ride to the resort and our relaxing vacation began. Upon check in, we were provided with wi-fi passwords for as many devices as we needed. The wi-fi worked all through the resort and on the beach. We received a tour of the resort which was nice in helping us get acquainted with what it had to offer. The resort is very laid-back and relaxed. Don't bring shoes or fancy clothes. You can feel free to go barefoot all through the resort. Shorts, tank-tops and a bathing suit coverup are all you need. We stayed a garden cabana. It was perfect. It was steps away from the dive shop, the restaurant and the beach. As others have reported, this is not an American type high rise resort. It is rustic and we feel it provided an appropriate relaxed atmosphere. Our room was always swept out and cleaned each morning when we got back from our snorkelling with cute towel animals created on the bed. The best was early morning coffee on the little front porch in rocking chairs. The coffee is brought in from the mainland , hand ground and sold by the maids to raise money to help support them to provide school supplies and medical supplies for their families. We also took Infant formula and baby bottles to help support some of the ongoing philanthropy the resort takes one. Even being steps away from the other cabanas, it was quiet. The Bananarama was exactly what we expected and what we were looking for in our Roatan vacation. We highly recommend it for other travelers.
The snorkelling just off the beach was the best we have seen in the entire Caribbean!

Room Tip: Garden Cabana's are a great way to kick back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadatsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our resort. We love the rustic feel and it is what we are aiming to provide our guests:) The Wi-fi is a huge plus and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    316
    78
    28
    23
See reviews for
290
480
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our third trip to Roatan and second to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort. If you are looking for a 5 star all inclusive decadent resort, this is not it, but if you want a laid back, bathing suit and bare feet kind of place, look no further. The diving is world class and the dive shop staff are amazing. The villa we stayed in was a beachfront villa, two bedroom, bath and kitchen that had a screened porch for the upstairs bedroom and a covered porch facing the ocean on the ground floor. The villa was clean and very comfortable for the three of us. It had a water cooler in the kitchen which I feel is a big plus rather than buying bottled water, and a full size fridge if you wanted to buy your own supplies and cook, we didn't. The addition of the pizza oven was a big plus for my teenage son and the food at the Thirsty Turtle was good and reasonably priced. The staff/owners at Bananarama are very friendly and approachable. The beach gets busy on cruise ship days, but the resort keeps an area for us private. There is no pool here but I don't mind that at all, but if you have smaller children, the ocean is the only place to swim. I have been to a few 5 star resorts and the difference here is that you feel like this is your own private oasis. If you go, take a look at the website for tips on money (bring new bills) and helping the charity with infant formula or a small donation of money to help feed newborns of mothers with aids so as not to spread it to their babies, $20 is nothing if you can afford a vacation and it could save a life. Bottom line, great place, amazing diving and family friendly. They have. 24/7 trained security guards who speak English and built in safes in the room, I have never felt unsafe but it is reassuring to see. We have booked again for this year, can't wait!

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to share you experience with us and others. I agree 100% that Bananarama is not for everyone. We have a authentic Caribbean vibe prior to the concrete, pools and heavy commercialization... Definetely not for everyone, but if you enjoy clean, comfortable accommodations with a hammock on your porch and amazing staff than you are coming to the right spot:)

Our dive shop is incredible and we are really fortunate to have an incredible staff. We look forward to seeing you again this year!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We loved Bananarama and didn't want to leave! The beach was the best beach I have been to with soft white sand and the snorkeling was amazing! We can't wait to go back and spend a whole vacation there! A special thank you to Jeff and all of his staff that took care of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mak0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are really happy that you choose Bananarama to visit! West Bay beach is absolutely amazing and is by far the islands best beach:) We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I rely on Trip Advisor reviews for our vacations and am very glad we decided on the Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort based on the reviews I had read. I booked our week long stay through emails with Jane and she was very helpful in answering my questions. We booked a 7 night stay that included airport transfers and we included 2 10 dive packages. It was very reasonably priced.
When we arrived in Roatan we were met at the airport and were helped with our bags. It was a short van ride to the resort and our relaxing vacation began. Upon check in, we were provided with wi-fi passwords for as many devices as we needed. The wi-fi worked all through the resort and on the beach. We received a tour of the resort which was nice in helping us get acquainted with what it had to offer.
The resort is very laid-back and relaxed. Don't bring shoes or fancy clothes. You can feel free to go barefoot all through the resort. Shorts, tank-tops and a bathing suit coverup are all you need.
We stayed in #10, a garden view 1 bedroom cabana. It was perfect. It was steps away from the dive shop, the restaurant and the beach. As others have reported, this is not an American type high rise resort. It is rustic and we feel it provided an appropriate relaxed atmosphere.
We took minimal clothes so had our laundry done in the middle of our stay. It was back in our room a few hours later, washed and folded. Our room was always swept out and cleaned each morning when we got back from our dives with cute towel animals created on the bed. On Valentine's Day, we were greeted with 2 adorable kissing swans and some Hershey's kisses.
During the few rain showers we encountered and when we needed a break from the sun, we spent the time on our front porch. Even being steps away from the other cabanas, it was quiet. We never lost power during our stay and the air conditioning in our room worked great.
The Bananarama was exactly what we expected and what we were looking for in our Roatan vacation. We highly recommend it for other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We generally are pretty laid back and we really enjoy working here at Bananarama. Our Garden suites/Cabanas are some of our guests favorite rooms as they are quiet, clean, comfortable and affordable. We look forward to having you come back soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State Eastside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in a Bananarama cabana as the GRAND FINALE of our 3 weeks in Roatan and Utila. What a lucky, excellent choice it was! Our cabana was quietly nestled in a beautiful garden area, painted in bright, colorful Caribbean colors. Everything was great...the restaurant (wonderful nightly specials!!), fun entertainment (Superbowl & movie on the beach), musicians, employees who were over-the-top friendly and helpful...and a beach too beautiful to describe. It was truly one of the best vacation spots we've ever visited.

Room Tip: We loved cabana #2, the middle of their several cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolCatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Coolcatch,

Thank you for saving us as your Grand Finale! We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback and experience you had at the resort with us and others. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Spent the day at the Bananarama, while in port from our Carnival Cruise. Staff is very friendly and good at what they do. The food at the Thirsty Turtle was really good. Strawberry Smoothies were a favorite. Our waiter was always smiling! The Resort grounds are Beautiful. The sand is so soft, you dont need shoes. The swimming was wonderful. The Kids enjoyed the Water Trampoline in front of the Resort. We hope to actually stay at the Bananarama Resort for several days in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Michelle,

The trampoline is a huge hit for guests at the resort... we actually got it for free from a client who was upgrading to a bigger one in the States and thought it would be fun to ship it down! It has literally brought 1000's of hours of entertainment for guests and especially kids who love jumping on a water trampoline in the middle of West Bay:) Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other and we hope to have you stay with us in the near future:)
Sincerely
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concan, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent the day here at the bar and restaurant on a cruise excursion in January. Staff was very friendly and food was good. My son loved the banana soda. We would love to come back and stay there. We met the owner's father who was friendly and informative about the island. It was a wonderful day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Mary,

I am really happy to hear you enjoyed our resort for the day. The banana soda is a huge local favorite here and a bit hard to find in the states! My favorite is the grape with a lime:) Our partners including my father are pretty proactive when it comes to meeting guests and visitors. It is one of the most important ways we have found to improve the resort and make it better each year. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing