We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time at bananarama”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bryant, AR.
1 review
“We had a great time at bananarama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We went to Bananarama to dive the barrier reef on Roatan. What we got was a lot more. Guy & the staff at Bananarama made our stay a pleasure. Everyone was so friendly & accomadating, & the whole compound was clean. While Bananarama is not a luxury resort, the rooms were cozy & clean. The food & drinks at the Thirsty Turtle were excellent & reasonably priced. Thanks for a wonderful week Guy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rzrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    324
    79
    28
    24
See reviews for
300
486
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Returned from an eight-day trip to Roatan and was lucky enough to be able to stay at Banarama. There was a group of eight of us and four had been to Banarama previously; otherwise, I'm not so sure I would have heard of this family owned resort. And when I say resort, wipe from your mind the usual images of disco and entertainment director and overladen buffets with ice sculptures. This is a small, family owned resort and the cabins are more than adequate and in quite a few aspects resemble a cabin you'd see in the north woods. Lots of wood cabinetry and floors, basic but clean. Was pleased to find almost a full-sized refrigerator in the beachside villas along with a microwave and a t.v. Never used the microwave, and who needs a t.v. in paradise? Hammocks are strung outside every room and beg you to sprawl out and take an afternoon nap or just sit and count your toes and watch the day go by. If you require a phone in your room and room service and expect to "dress" for dinner, this probably is not the place for you.

Four of our group had rented a villa on the beach and we spent quite a bit of time on their more than ample veranda chatting and playing catch up and just listening to the lapping of the waves. We were in the beachside cabins and that meant we had to stroll maybe an extra 25 steps to be on the beach. Considering the amount of food and drink that was consumed there, I choose to count that as a good thing.
Sand is that white powdery consistency that makes water lovers everywhere get weak in the knees. Snorkeling and diving were outstanding.

There were a couple cruise ships in port for a portion of three days we were there and Banarama has figured out a very polite way of keeping non-guests from completely taking over the property via a restaurant/bar that is opened only for hotel guests and with a very simple fence around the villa area as a polite deterrent and that way you still have got plenty of sandy areas with beach chairs for your comfort and convenience.
Was able to meet Guy and his wife, Tina, who are co-owners of the resort and a nicer, more caring couple you couldn't find anywhere. Guy's got a terrific tee shirt collection and both of them just went out of their way to make us feel welcome and catered to and this wasn't just limited to our group of eight. Another couple who were housed in the cabins close to us evidently had someone on top of them who liked to tap dance with the table and chairs late at night and Banarama was able to accomodate their request to move immediately and, in fact, moved them without the couple having to lift a finger.

Staff went out of their way to be warm and welcoming went out of their way for us. We were celebrating a couple of landmark occasions between our group and Carolena and other staff members set up a special table and decorations and helped make arrangements for a special cake, artfully arranging flowers and napkins and doing it just for the joy of creating and helping. How does Mastercard phrase it? Priceless.

Some of the comments mentioned the bar closing early at ten. Yes, it does but have to admit with a full day of sun, sand, food and a couple of cocktails it wasn't an issue at all as most of time we couldn't keep our eyes open that long anyway - and it's not like we're crotchety oldsters, either.
There's other places you can wander up the beach if you so choose. And heck, you can do it and still not put your shoes on - it doesn't get any better than that.

The only semi-negative aspect - and this wasn't just Banarama by any means - is so much of the food is breaded and fried. And everything comes with french fries. It would be nice to offer a little bit more expanded menu with options of say a green salad or baked potato. And with those critiques and comments would I go back? In a heartbeat. In fact, if you go and stay in room 19 and see claw and teeth marks around the doorframe, that's where they had to pry me off and drag me to the bus to leave.

Speaking of going back - when/if you do decide to go, Guy/Tina and their family are involved with an orphanage and several other projects that benefit children of Honduras and we brought a couple suitcases full of shoes down for the orphanage and people are so grateful it makes me ashamed to come home and see how much stuff/crap I have. I guess my point of all this is if you have room in your suitcase (and some airlines you get two free still) and were able to throw in some kids' clothes or shoes or school supplies or childrens' books or even just jump ropes and things that kids of all ages adore, something so simple can not only make someone's day but in fact their whole year. One of the gals who was there last time had given some pencils to a vendor on the beach - and after a year and a half, the lady remembered Linda and came up and made a special point to still say thank you.

Lynne

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Know how they say time flies when you're having fun? How could it have gone by so fast?Simple answer___when you're totally relaxed, well fed and cared for by wonderful people on a gorgeous beach, it's easy to think this is where you must belong, and just assume it's never going to end.
Some of our group had never been here before and some of us are repeats, all of us were totally at home. The owners are great, always there to share a joke,offer advice on activities and ask how everything's going for their patrons. The staff is happy and it shows.__from the housekeepers who left a different happy towel sculpture when they tidied our rooms to the cooks, bartenders and servers(We love you Carolina!)
The food and drink at the Thirsty Turtle are great and vary from fresh, crisp chips and salsa that taste like you've never had before to amazing coconut shrimp! And the monkey laa-laas___Wow!
The best beach on the island a few feet from your door, an amazing reef for snorkling and diving, and on the days that the cruise ships do arrive, they've even got a Guests Only beach and bar.
When we left, we felt we were leaving family, not just a place to stay. Thank you for your little bit of Paradise on Earth. We'll be back!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LoonChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Traveled to Roatan for 20 days with a buddy and picked Bananarama as I had stayed threre previously. Louis and Jamies (the owners/managers) had just turned over the reins of the resort to Louis' dad GUY and returned to the states to raise their great kids. Guy and Tina are awesome and continue to operate the resort in the manner I was used to. The entire staff if friendly and competent. Guy even arranged a birthday celebration for me on my birthday. They had made a cake and had a card signed by all the staff and had even had enough forethought to have friends we had met at the beach the previous week. Every day was a joy and the resort is on the best beach on the island. The resort is clean and well kept and Guy always keeps the staff busy doing chores and maintance. There are good restaurants within walking distance i.e. seafood, steaks, pizza, sushi, thai, argentinian and also the resorts own "Thirsty Turtle Bar & Grill". I recommend Bananarama to antone who likes a family feel boutique resort that makes you feel like your staying at your own personal vacation home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIVERLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Roatan and stayed at Bananarama for seven nights. The location is absolutely ideal...Steps away from the BEST beach in all of Roatan.... The room was perfect, all you would expect from a private cabana. The staff was great, some of the best people on the whole island. The owners are great, Guy and his wife make you feel like you are personal guests on the island. The bar/kitchen was amazing, every morning I woke up to a few cups of awesome Honduran coffee and a very tasty breakfast with delicious fresh squeezed juices (cantaloupe, lemonade, orange etc.). There wasn't a bad meal the whole week that I was there. Every Sunday there is live music and fire dancing performances. The maids are great!... they keep your rooms sand free, neat and stocked with fresh towels and sheets. There really isn't a bad thing to say about the resort! Not a single bad memory!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

Just returned from Bananarama and loved it! My wife and I did not dive, but will probably get certified next time around. This resort does not pretend to be five stars, but has evrything that you need for a great vacation, and then some. The owner and staff are VERY friendly and cater to your needs, the rooms are OK, clean, have A/C and a fridge/coffe/Micro/Water cooler/Wi-Fi (slow). Here are our thoughts summarized:
PROS:
Location - unbelievable baech/water - not having a pool is OK, trust us!
Staff - Could not be nicer!
Bar - Great bar, drink specials, easy to meet others.
Dive Shop - Did not use, but heard great things while there! Snoreling off reef very good.
Price - Specials are VERY reasonable, incl: Airport transfers, breakfast, drinking water, kayaks, beach chairs and more.
Extras - Sunday fire dancers - AWESOME, crab races for local charity - excursions can be arranged from office. The staff and island locals are so fiendly!
Bugs - Did NOT have a bug problem at Bananarama - the owner installed large deterant devices that gets rid of mosquitos and theyn WORK! Use DEET anyway, as they are on the island! Sand fleas are destroyed by the staff's constant raking of all the grounds and beach. This place is very well kept up!
SAFE / DVD Players / DVD Library all available for your stay (CHEAP)
Hammocks outside of rooms and on beach.

CONS:
If power goes out, the generator needs to be turned on, but is often not - email ahead and get assurance they will turn it on.
Bit busy on the beach when ships are in port, but does not last long, and its a big beach

BRING WITH YOU:
Flashlights
Water Bottles - Drink LOTS of water during your visit (free in rooms).
ProBiotics
DEET
Sunscreen (SPF 30)
Beach Towels
Do NOT brush your teeth in sink water, use provided drinking water.
Use foot spickets/buckets outside of room to prevent sand fleas - do not leave doors open.
Bring lots of smaller bills (nothing larger than a $20, unless paying for room/excursion.
ATM at Mayan Princess (100yds away) gives Limpura OR Dollars!
Do not bringing many clothes - It is very humid.
Bring own snorkeling stuff, if you can - 100 yards to great reef.
Bring underwater camera from home state, cost too much on island.
Ask driver to stop at store on way from airport - $10 charge - arrange with office.
Try the Zip-Line tour, it's awesome!

This is one of those vacations you will have trouble not thinking about when you go back to work - LOVED IT!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atlanta-Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

First of all, I will list the positives.
- Great location on beautiful crystal clear water. Shore snorkeling, access to kayaks, beach chairs and a lot of sun!
- The Dive Shop was very helpful and we got certified on our trip. The staff was very patient with us and really made sure that we were comfortable in the water. My wife and I both got certified and continued to dive the entire 9 day trip.
- The breakfast is included in the hotel price. Only one option, but they do a great job of mixing it up throughout the week.
- Good daily drinks specials (same as other hotels in area though).

Next are the Negatives
- We stayed in a beach cabana. We have traveled extensively in South and Central America, and his was by far the worst room we have stayed in. The AC stopped several times throughout the nights, due to the fact that the back-up generator never worked. Also, we were infiltrated with Tropical cockroaches. Not just one or two, but at least 15 in a 5 day span.
- Got busy on cruise days, but we planned our trip around those days. We stayed in West Bay for our first 5 days, and moved to West End for the latter part of our trip. West End is less busy on cruise days.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treyball34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing