We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING RESORT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just spent a week at the Mayan Princess Beach Resort with 21 friends and family to celebrate our wedding in February. The resort, food, staff and grounds were amazing. Everyone of our group loved the resort and some were seasoned travellers. The weather was amazing as well. This was the 2nd time to Roatan and stayed at a neighboring resort the first time and was so pleased that we changed and came to the Mayan for our 2nd trip. The bar staff was kept busy and always smiling. Food was fantastic and staff was always happy and helpful to serve. We had an opportunity to talk to other guests at other resorts and none were as pleased as we were. Special thanks to Patrick and Lucy, Juan and Grace for organizing our events and dinners. Thanks to all your bar staff who weighted hand over first bringing drinks for our gang, especially Damaria, Rudolpho, Santos Johanne, Astor, Darlin. Ziggy and the breakfast staff you were always smilling every morning. Awsome capacinos! Eldon and Clarence who kept our gang laughing and safe :) ... i know i missed so many, but unfortunately didn't catch all the names... I would definately recommend this resort for groups or families. Thanks again for a great week!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coppertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I (40 yrs old) went to Roatan January 29th for a week. We had a great time and highly recommend this place!

Our main goal was to get our open water diving certification. We did the written portion before we left, which I would recommend highly so that you can get started right away into the practical portion of the program when you get to your destination. The Mayan Divers Instructors were great, knowledgeable and so patient, which was what I needed to overcome some of my fears. We had one instructor assigned to just us, which was comforting knowning that we had thier full attention. The diving was fantastic. The reefs were amazing and we saw such a variety of tropical fish, blowfish were cool, barracuda, lobsters, crabs, rays, turtles, but my favorite were the squid. They were facinating to watch and they were only about a foot long.

The snorkeling was also awesome as you could see down 20 feet very clearly and you could swim out from the beach to do this. The beach was clean and the water warm. I get cold very fast so I wore a wet suit, which allowed me to snorkel for a much longer time than I would have without the suit. It doesn't cost much to rent these from Mayan Divers at the resort and it adds to your comfort.

It was the rainy part of the season and it did rain almost every day except, of course, the last 2 days. It didn't bother us though because we were in the water anyways diving. We found that after diving and lunch, it would clear up enough to be outside for awhile before having an afternoon nap. Great way to relax and not get sunburned. Those that were not diving however, were a little upset with the weather.

A note about snorkelling: Always keep a look out for boats while you are in the water and don't rely on people being able to see you when you are swimming, even if you have a snorkeling buoy with you. On our last day, 3 people (not from our resort, but snorkeling in front) that were snorkeling were ran over by a little boat (not from the area). The boater did not realize what happened and continued on. The one elderly lady's arm must have hit the propeller and it broke her wrist and her arm had a compand break; the other two people had head injuries, but not life threathening. Ambulance response was not quick and the people were eventually taken by van as the wait was way too long.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mayan Prinicess Resort. The resort was very quaint, the suites were large and the pool was beautiful. It was quiet. The resort was well maintained and clean. Always had hot showers. Great TV reception, not that we watched a lot of TV, but we were able to watch the Superbowl. The main restaurant is open on the sides which I liked and the buffet had enough variety to try a little of everything. I liked the fact that there was not such an overwhelming amount of food that would end up going to waste. There is an a la carte restaurant too which is for that special night out. You could also get food at the palapas bar outside by the beach. I like that the resort would bring around snacks to try between meals. The alcohol drinks were very good and my husband especially enjoyed their special island iced tea; too strong for me though. Every night they had live entertainment where a small local band would play and sing. They were really good.

The resort, the restaurant and menu were not like the big resorts of Dominican Republic or Bahamas etc, which are huge and extrodinary, but we knew that and found that everything we needed was right there. Really liked the condo-type style.

If you like the plush, busy night life- over the top- type of resorts, and you need to be entertained this may not be a place for you. It is smaller but great for those looking for a more quiet place, enjoy water activites and of course for those diving enthusiasts. I did'nt see many kids here.

Locals didn't really pester anyone on the beach, because security always kept an eye on that and made sure that they were not bothering the guests.

I didn't find the sand flies as bad as everyone says. I did take precautions though and used bug spray and I didn't roll around in the sand. Some others had a bad reaction to the bugs and had many bites.

You do get beach towels, but have to go down to the beach to get them and you never know if there will be enough. We brought our own, so we didn't have to run around for this.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and bring back great memories. We would definitely return to this island and stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were actually not the upper suites of the villas, but they were the suites in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dolphin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We loved the Mayan Princess located in West Bay what a beautiful beach and very clean resort. They were very well organized and the staff was always friendly and smiling.
The server's brought your drink's out to the beach and snacks were even brought out to the beach as well.
The entertainment program was well organized and a board by the dining room always let you know what was going on throughout the day as well as Jane our energetic entertainer!!
This resort is located in the most happening part on the island where all the fun is.
We will be returning for our anniversary as the week we spent here we got married at Palmetto Bay Plantation which was beautiful as well but is not all inclusive.
We came with 27 of our family and friends and everyone loved it and had such a blast.
The food was good and creative they would change up the menu's and offer an outdoor BBQ lunch buffet or an elegant dinner with white linen's at their club nect door San Simon. They have 2 seperate a la carte resturant's for you enjoy both during your one week stay which were fabulous.
We loved the Mayan Priness and highly recommend that you give it a try Roatan is beautiful.

Room Tip: The tower rooms were beautiful and very spacious. I would recomend these for sure. We had a bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week at The Mayan Princess. It was a great experience right from the start, we had an easy check in/out with an unexpected surprise, an upgrade to a beachfront room with which could not have been better start to our stay,thanks again.
We stayed in room 201 which was very nice and a beautiful view from a very large paito. We had a living room a small kitchen a nice size bathroom with a huge walk in shower and the bedroom was big enough also, the bed was ok, the only bad thing about the room, it could use some ventilation in the bathroom.
The grounds were well kept, very lush,a beautiful pool with a water fall, hot tub and a perfect beach. The resort was about what we expected for it's size, one a le cart restaurant, one buffet and one bar which were enough. The food was very good and I'm a picky eater, they kept it interesting with dinner,there were different themes every night, lunch was good everyday with BBQ on sat. and breakfast very good also.
There was some live music on a few nights, between those night and after the music was over, we took a short walk down the beach was the Thirsty Turtle beach bar with nightly entertainment, fun place. All bars along the beach and at the Mayan close at 10 PM.
The beach was beautiful with enough chairs for guest even on cruse ship days. Towels did seem a little scarce get one early, we ended up using ours all week due to early morning dives and none were left by the time we returned to the resort, we had no problem with that.
The vendors on the beach were not much of a problem, just no thanks and they go away. For some great snorkeling and for your safety due to boats outside of the swimming areas, you have to go down the beach (turn left) to the wall in the Marine park,there's plenty of fish and coral to see,there's also a great dive shop, Mayan Divers in the resort.
We took walks along the beach, there are some cool beach bars and restaurants a short walk either way along the beach.
The staff were very friendly and service was good, a special shout out to Darwin at the bar for his excellent service, the others were very good as well. The all inclusive only had 16 different drinks and 1 or 2 beers included.
We took the water taxi $3 each per. each way to West End for a little shopping and lunch one day, make sure you go on a dry day due to dirt roads in West End. We had lunch at The Light house, the Grouper Burger and 2 very big Fish Tacos were very good. In the west end of West End were a couple of beach bars, we stopped at The lobster Pot a quiet shady spot for a cool drink and another bar(didn't stop at) I don't remember the name of that looked nice. On the other end a must stop, Sundowners Beach Bar, a laid back bar with good people and great drinks.
We traveled from the states on our own and no problem with our luggage, we handled it all along, no waiting for any type of delivery. It was a bit of a hassle when leaving at the airport to go home, you have get in one line to pay a departure tax $38 U.S. either before or after standing in a check in line, then another line to get your passport checked and yet another line for security with out any instruction, thank you to the other passengers who helped us out. When we return to Roatan we will be staying at The Mayan Princess again. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carbrig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Had a wonderful multi-generational week-long stay at the Mayan Princess! The beach is stunning, the pool has lush surroundings, and the food was great. We plan to return someday!

Upon arrival at Roatan airport:

Your luggage will leave the airport in a different truck than the shuttle on which you will ride. Ensure you have your swimsuit and sunscreen in the bag you have with you on the shuttle. The truck arrived at the hotel about an hour after we got there. No big deal for the adults who enjoyed an ice cold beer on the beach but the lack of sunscreen and swimsuits caused a bit of an issue for the wintery-white skin of the kids.

Rooms:

We were 3 family units traveling together. We had beachfront rooms/condos that interconnected so it was like being in a large villa together but no one had to cook or clean! From looking at various other units, this didn't seem to be the norm so if you're traveling as a group and want to be connected, ask for 128,228,229.

During the day, the noise level was fine but the nights when there was live singing these rooms were loud. Luckily, the singing was only from 7-9:30pm and the kids were so tuckered out from the outside play they fell asleep no problem.

The maids did an amazing job cleaning our rooms everyday!

Food & Drink:

The buffet is small but we all found the selection to be great and very tasty. Excellent variety of fresh crisp vegetables, fresh fruit, meats, rices, etc. Our only wish was better coffee. And a chance to hop behind the bar and create a tight foam with their amazing espresso machine!

If we had one suggestion for Juan (head of food and beverage) it would be to provide a more substantial snack at 4pm. A snack is served at 11 and 4 but it is only one thing each time. You can have as many as you like but there is not variation on what is served. For the adults, this was no big deal as the snacks were always delicious. It was a bit more tricky for our young children (the evening buffet doesn't start until 7pm and the kids were in bed around then). A 4pm snack of buns, cheese, fruit and veg platter offered casually at the bar would've made the 7pm buffet issue seems less of an irritation. One pro of the late buffet is that it 'forced' us to try some other food establishments along the beach. Bananarama pizza is definitely worth the money!

This was our first all-inclusive outside of Cuba so it was a nice surprise to see beer served in beer bottles!

Beach:

The beach is absolutely stunning. 'Busy' is a subjective term - we actually enjoyed the extra 'bustle' on the beach on cruise ship days. The resort did a wonderful job of reserving a whole section of beach chairs just for resort guests. All cruise ship guests are gone around 3pm so there is still plenty of low-key beach time each day.

Pool:

I generally prefer to hang out at the beach when I've flown all that way from a snowy climate. However, with 3 kids who just want to swim as much as possible, we inevitably spent lots of time at the pool. This pool is amazing! Lush vegetation surrounds the interesting exterior. The kids loved swimming on the stone waterfalls and playing with the fountain. There was always a section of the pool in the shade so it was fun to be at anytime of day. Again, the resort reserves a section of the pool chairs just for resort guests but we never found it to be overly full of cruise ship guests.

Bugs:

People warned us of the amount of sandflies. Again 'a lot of sandflies' is subjective. By no means did I find this to be an intrustion on my beaching time. One morning I was being bitten at breakfast but a quick spray of bug repellent kept it at bay.

OVERALL:
We all had an amazing trip so much that we even scouted out purchasing one of the condos for sale at Mayan Princess! We will definitely be returning to Roatan and if we do an all-inclusive again, the Mayan Princess. Thanks for all your hospitatlity!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PalmTree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were there for the day and all I can say is BEAUTIFUL! Everything about it was amazing!!! We enjoyed the pools and the beach! My family and I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

After spending one week at Mayan Princess I can honestly say the resort is outstanding. My wife and I stayed in a large condo unit located in the tower and found if very comfortable and well maintained. Staff were courteous and very helpful, always available to assist. Beach was marvellous, swimming conditions were ideal especially snorkelling. There was always a shortage of beach towels and management indicated that this problem would be resolved. Might consider taking your own beach towels. Food was good but very repetitive, require more variety. Al a carte meals were very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#6 of 14 in West Bay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
13.8 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: £273 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing