We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully small, boutique style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Mayan Princess is on the most beautiful stretch of beach in Roatan. The pool is an oasis and the staff are amazing! The only negative thing that I could say is that on the days that the cruise ships come into port, the " day - trippers" from the cruise are like cockroaches taking over the beach, the pool areas and everything else imaginable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it. It's great to know that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. It looks that you enjoyed a lot our pool, grounds, and beach. We hope to see you and friends again. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a one week all-inclusive stay at the Mayan Princess, Roatan. This is a beautiful, cozy, classy, friendly, safe, welcoming resort. It all began with the extremely efficient help of a Sunwing Rep named Catherine - she is the best at getting you to the resort best suited for you. The meals were very good at the buffet which was relocated to the beach for dinner on Sat night - fantastic! We also ate in the al a carte Luna Maya - you must try this - excellent. Drinks are very good and plentiful! Our room was an upgrade to 'the tower'. It was very comfortable, but bring your own blow dryer, there arent any in the rooms. The pool was nice, however we spent our time on the beach. There is a lot more shade on the beach - and you will want shade. We met many wonderful people who work at this resort and they put so much effort into making your stay an enjoyable one. Lany Romero was constantly checking on us, making sure we had whatever we needed. Including serving our drinks to us on the beach. We sat near the towel and umbrella stand on the beach where we were assisted by Rufino Fisher. He was fantastic. He would re-arrange our umbrella when the sun dictated and watched over our things when we'd go for a little swim. PS. He likes Iced Tea if you get the chance. Glenda Collins, supervisor, was always checking with us to ensure things were going well. Kudos to Glenda as well. We went snorkeling - amazing snorkeling to be found here. Played a round of golf on the most beautiful course with an ocean view. Take a couple of buns with you when you go swimming in the ocean, the Palmetto fish come along and you can hand feed them - so cool. The beach can be busy as cruise ships are visiting regularly, but the extra bodies did not interfere with our amenities at the Mayan. You can't drink the water here, bottled water is provided. Montezuma's Revenge also made itself known to some of our group. There is a little shop at the resort that sells Gatorade - we had been told to try it for people not feeling well - it helped a lot. Pack your Immodium. Take a small flashlight as well. There are regular power outages - they are short-lived. Also, lots of small US currency will help with tipping. Overall, we had a really relaxing, enjoyable vacation. Staff is excellent, food is above average, accommodations are very comfortable.

Room Tip: We liked the tower rooms. Private entrance and private balcony. Rooms not in the tower share a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissElleeBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Others seemed to have had a tough time getting the room type that they were promised but our family got exactly the room we booked. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were very clean. We had a great second-floor view. We only had the breakfast buffer, which was good. We almost always ate our other meals at other restaurants -- and there are many within walking distance along the beach. We also signed up for a dive package at Mayan Divers and they were also excellent. Friendly people and great diving -- and much better equipment than we had in either Belize or Cozumel. I highly recommend the Mayan Princess and Mayan Divers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank for sharing your wonderful experience at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort and with The Mayan Divers. We strive to offer the best in service with a friendly, relaxing environment and it’s great that this was the case during your stay. We hope to see you and your family again.
Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Mayan Princess is a beautiful, clean, well kept resort in paradise! The beach at the resort is gorgeous and clean. Amazing snorkeling is just a quick walk down the beach and nearby West End is a great place to go out on dancing on a Friday night.

What really made our stay special was the personable staff, especially Ivan at the front desk, who took great care of all our needs and always had time to talk about the island's best activities (and even teach a few words of Spanish). We had a great time and would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

I'm so happy that you and your family had such an amazing vacation at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort. We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and it's great to hear that we were able to create that experience for you. I will be sure to let the staff and especially Ivan know how impressed you were with their service. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you all again. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A giant thank you to those who made our trip -- like every year -- perfect! Maricella Welcome, Mary Ann, Reyna Fuentes, Damara, Shantal, Santos, Darwin, and we were so sorry that Engels injured his leg and was forced to return home for surgery. These are hard working people that make our stay perfect year after year. Please tip your caregivers! We were surprised at the number of people - obviously with means - that are just rude and cheap.

Room Tip: Beachfront condos are not all remodeled, but the location is awesome. We are not interested in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a great vacation with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations one more time and to know that our staff was able to showcase the true hospitality for which we are known.I will be sure to share your review with all of them, especially with Engels. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My familly and I spent the first two weeks of March at Mayan Princess. This was our 4th vacation at the Mayan. We really enjoyed each and every day of it. Lead by Juan, who shows great leadership, the Mayan team goes to great lenghts to make your vacation experience very unique and unforgetable. Coming back to work in the cold was quite a painful expérience :-)! The hôtel has made very nice upgrades in the last few years: new furniture, new matresses and bed linens(similar to those you would find in boutique hôtels in NY, TO or MTL), new doors and looks, new digital safes, etc...The grounds, pool, and landscaping are always, clean and very well manicured. They now offer more options for meals with their San Simon Beach club. The buffet is ok, better than other carabean destinations, and they will accept with pleasure various special requests. Just remember that respect and politeness is key, wherever you are in the universe. This is a well secured place. Just need to remember to be street smart and use travelling common sense.
West bay beach is so unique. Whether you dive or snorkle, this little paradise will never let you down. But the most important value for the Mayan is their team. Always helpful and smiling, they make sure you are well talent care of. Many thanks to Mary Ann, Yen-who was instrumental to our great vacation-, Victoria, Mario, the réception team: Erwin, Maricella, Paige and others, Glenda and Santos for managing the F&B team, Engel, Darwin, John, Damara, Paula, Aster, and others, and Juana who made sûre our room was always neat. Spécial thanks to the team that takes care of the pool, the luscious gardens and the towels. Please extend my thanks to all of those that I might have forgotten. Hasta la proxima!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nous3etleschats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are so happy to hear that you had such a great vacation at the resort. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations the fourth time around. I will be sure to let our staff know how impressed you were with their service. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of great team work. Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

First....WARNING....make sure when you book through Sunwing that you get the room you asked for. The catalogue is misleading....the day the final payment was due (we had already paid in advance) they told us that we weren't staying in the Mayan Princess...but at Las Sirenis...a hotel they aquired in the previous year. Our agent fought Sunwing but to no avail. Even she was shocked at what they did. They would not refund us nor give us the room we paid for. If we paid another $150 they would upgrade us. NOT!! We ended up with a small room and a bathroom. The room was quaint and clean, but not worth what we paid. It was in a quiet area and a short walk to the Mayan. We met a couple down there and saw the room we were supposed to get. Wow...certainly worth what we did pay (had we gotten it)!! OK...now that that's done...on to the resort and trip. FABULOUS !!! We had such a wonderful, relaxing time. The resort is wonderfully friendly. The food was very good. Good variety, lots of fruit, it was a simple buffet with one line, not all over the restaurant like some other resorts. On Valentine's Day they did a bbq on the beach, very romantic. They did another by the pool. We enjoyed both ala carts offered and they made us feel very special...mmm lobster! Our bed was very comfortable and the maid service was tops. The only two concerns I have about the room is: there was only one chair in the corner. It could have used a small table just to sit by. The other thing is....the entrance door is all glass. The curtain hanging on it was too thin, it allowed images to be seen inside at night when the lights were on. We did the 5 day/10 dive excursion. It was amazing. The Mayan Divers are very professional and they make you feel like family. The captain was extremely helpful with keeping me balanced and safe. They carried my gear to the boat each day...made sure I was taken care of. I saw many, many different spieces of fish, including baracuda, stingrays, cuttle fish, trumpet, cowfish and so much more. My first dive on the coral reef was so amazing. Our Dive Guide, Silvia, was extremely knowledgable and very passionate about diving. Thank you to the Mayan Divers for making my first salt water dive excursion a very positive and memorable experience. The day after we left, the Mayan Divers went out and expanded their business by adding another dive boat. Every morning we did 2 dives. We passed the bar on the way back to the dive shop, they always had our beer ready for us. The afternoons we spent either strolling, reading, relaxing, and/or eating. We spent one afternoon on the Zipline and touring the Gumbalimba Park. Another afternoon we took the water taxi to town. We gained new dive friends and met wonderful people. If you are looking for a resort to dive and relax, and is not over crowded, this is definitely a good choice. We left the resort feeling very content. Would we go again...?? ABSOLUTELY!! We will be bringing friends with us too !!

Room Tip: Room was nice...just make sure you read "through" the catalogue from Sunwing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
9.3 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
631 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#8 of 14 in West Bay
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: £214 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing