We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great vacation again!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Second time at this resort and really enjoy it. There were only two con's for me and that is why I ranked 4 instead of 5. Con's: 1-food- would be nice if they offered more of a selection. Many of the dinner options were unavailable the entire week I was there, so that made selections slim at night. Serving more people at the 3 menu restaurants would also be nice. There were only 1 reservation taken per every 15 minutes, so when in a restaurant there would only be a few other tables of people. Seems like if they had more servers they could have served more people and the dinner reservation times would not have been so hard to get. 2- alcoholic drinks- bartenders pored half shot drinks. Not that I am a really big drinker, but I am on vacation! If you asked for a full shot or an extra one, bartenders did oblige, but I do not think you should have to ask.
Pro's- pool, beach, atmosphere, and room. If you like the sun, being laid backed, a big pool, and clear Caribbean waters...this is the place for you! I had a beach front condo and it was clean and spacious. Yes, I did notice a smell sometimes from the faucet, but this is Honduras and not the US, their sewer systems do not work the way ours do. It is not that big of a deal. Would also like to give a shout out to Glenda. She remembered me from my trip 2 years ago and is a terrific person and employee! Really, all of the staff were fantastic, from the desk to housekeeping. I was able to get an 1.5 hour late check out and that was nice too since I had a 3:30 flight.
My trip #2 was just as good as the first one and I will be back! I do recommend this place for you! If you are a diver...even more. I dove with onsite shop, Mayan Divers and wrote a review for them as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that you had such a great vacation with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations the second time around. I'll be sure to send this post to our staff, including Glenda. They all will be happy to see your review. Thank you for your feedback, it's always very important to know what our guests think about the resort.
We hope to see you again in a near future.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    302
    119
    54
    37
See reviews for
247
374
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the perfect example of a resort where its people makes all the difference -

I was here in early July and Yean at the Front Desk helped me out immensely with what could've been a disastrous visit. The hotel's gift shop was already closed and the local market in West Bay ran out of it. I was frantically looking for tampons, (among all things) right before a night dive...this is an emergency for a female - it was a learning experience visiting Roatan (how inaccessible these things are down there). :( I've been on the island 4 times in 20 months but never thought anything of it - and it wasn't supposed to happen yet that week; so ladies, whether or not you think it's that time, please bring some with you.

Then Yean came to my rescue - her and Oliver (are such a great team). Yean, without hesitation asked Oliver (the driver) to see if he could drive to Eldon's in Coxen Hole to get them for me...these two saved my life, they went above and beyond what I had expected.

It's things like these that makes a guest loyal to a resort. Thank you, Mayan Princess for putting together such a dedicated and professional team! I will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I’m so happy to see that you were able to have an enjoyable stay at the resort. It's seems you had a great time! I will be sure to let Yean and Oliver know how impressed you were with their service. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of excellence.
Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see you again.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed there 7 long can't wait to come home days! The water in the faucet stunk like sewer water, we all got attacked with bites all over by sand fleas that traveled into our room or they were bed bugs in the bed. A lot of us got diareah and vomiting ( maybe the water), no room service ( had to tell the waitress that i would give get a good tip so she could bring the food up) extremely poor night entertainment and food was ok.. Nothing out of this world. The island was very poor looking and beaches were beautiful! In the resort you get bombarded by locals every 2 seconds trying to sell u something. Very annoying.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsrrodezno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 12 long days at the resort. Yes, the beach was beautiful and the pools were great. Our room had a terrible sewer smell for the entire length of our visit. The food was okay. Most of the food arrived cold, the lobster was always over-cooked. They did not have premium liquors. Their choices were very limited and when they ran out they never replaced the bottle. Their tonic water must have been generic, because it didn't taste like tonic we get in the states. I would definitely go back to the island but NOT to the Mayan Princess resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent place to stay, amazing beach, super clean! Would recommend for family and get away! I loved the beach. They do an amazing job keeping it clean. We had a few maintenance issues but they were resolved right away. Most of the staff were very helpful but I most mention that Mario and Douglas were always ready to assist with almost anything, from maintenance issues to planing trips. It was an amazing vacation and excellent choice of resort. I would definitely go back. The only thing I can say that needs a lot of improvement is that the food even though it was good they need more selection, also the service of the bartenders not so good even though we tip them every time they would not go out their way to get you a drink. The buffet was very small and not much to choose from. Other than that great location, super clean, beds super comfortable. Two nice pool always super clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I'm so happy to see that you and your family had a nice vacation with us. Sounds like Mario and Douglas took good care of you during your entire stay. Our beach is one of a kind and I'm happy you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to share it with our entire staff. We hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

One of the best diving programs I have ever used. The dive staff made the resort staff look horrible! The staff was so helpful
And friendly. Only half the menu was available for dinner. We paid extra for vip bar priveleges and did not receive. Quite disappointed in food. Dined next door at Fosters and paid, well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stpatty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridge Manor, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great great place to stay, beautiful beach and view is spectacular ! Would recommend for family or for romantic getaway. We loved the pool ! Our family loved it very much. Food was very good also. Ready to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 21Angela_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! It's great to know that we were able to meet your expectation and make this an amazing experience for you and your entire family. We hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing