We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise for sure!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
hamilton ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise for sure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My daughter and I spent Christmas and New Years at Paradise Beach Resort. It is our second time there and we love the smaller resort. Lot's of sun and shade, and always a chair on the beach. The staff is amazing and because it is a smaller resort you get to know everyone. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food has greatly improved thanks to the new chef! Thomas, Ever, Ingrid, Aquino and all the staff are amazing! Kathleen the Sunwing rep is very helpful. If you are there to dive, then TGI Diving right beside the resort is awesome. Juan Carlos is very patient and the entire staff has a great sense of humour. After talking to some divers that went with other companies, I found that TGI dives were a little longer. Also you have to visit Anita, The Queen of the Paddleboards!!! She and her Daughter will have you dancing in the ocean on your board! This island is truly a piece of paradise, but remember it is a very small island, so if you are a 5 star kind of person, then this is not for you. If you can go with the flow, then book your trip now!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tlc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear TLC,

We are always pleased to hear from repeat customers and even more pleased when you notice the changes that we have made and how we have taken your comments to heart. At Paradise we try and accommodate to all your needs and go that little bit extra, whether this be a slightly longer Dive Experience or a delicious meal.

We look forward to your next visit, so that you can enjoy the latest changes,

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    196
    64
    29
    17
See reviews for
169
236
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I really liked the smaller atmosphere! You got to know the staff and vice versa. The only reason why it is 3 1/2 stars is because there are no additional activities there. But it is not needed. You never have to get up early to get a chair. The beach sand is like flour it is so soft. The water is clear and very accessible, snorkelling and scuba diving nirvana. We were at the back end of the resort and it only took about 2 min. to dip my toes in the water...can't get that at a big resort! Yes, the bar does close down at 10pm, but you can stay there or go to another resort for more dancing and music, or not! Ever and Thomas the bar/beach restaurant staff were fantastic! Actually, all of them were great! Being so small the resort is able to be nice and get to know your name! The buffet was fine... they do try to vary things but all enjoyable (previous reviews suggested poor food or people being ill, but the chef was replaced about 6 months ago) no one got ill. You were never in search of something palatable at any meal. The wine on the other hand is undrinkable. I wouldn't even call it wine. A friend had the head chef (also in charge of the wine) try the white and his look confirmed its inpalatability. We'll see if it gets changed. If you like bar drinks as in margaritas, daiquiris, pina coladas etc. there are amazing choices...better than a 5 star. I will go back! See you soon Ever and Thomas!

Room Tip: There are upgraded rooms for more space. The basic rooms are just that, but CLEAN! There are 2 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear LC,

It is always nice to read reviews which highlight our constant effort to improve and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Paradise. As you mentioned we recently changed our Food and Beverage Team, to make sure that your experience was the best available.

Diving or simply snorkeling in Roatan is sublime or as you quite rightly put it "Nirvana". West Bay Beach is not only a gorgeous beach, but also it is located within a Marine Reserve, guaranteeing such memorable and eloquent words to describe your surroundings.

As always, we appreciate your remarks with regards to the wine and although Honduras is not renowned for their wine, we have looked for better options. Cocktails are our specialty and we are proud we have made good on that.

We look forward to your next visit and rest assured that we will have a Sauvignon Blanc chilling for you.

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned from a trip to Paradise Beach Hotel and Resort in West Bay, Roatan - it was such a great time! We had a short delay in Belize coming in due to issues at the airport, then we had a couple days of rain but after that it was sunny skies and warm weather. The beach was beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable. We did Scuba diving with the West Bay Divers and they are highly recommended, very knowledgeable, friendly and decently priced. We rented a scooter from the rental place in the West Bay mall located about 2 minutes down the road from the resort. We toured the island on our last day and it was such a fun day!

Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Make sure you take a water taxi to West End for the day and evening. We went on two boat trips with Alan, who operates the boat called "Captain Wayne" if he is on the beach when you are there make sure you say hello! Super friendly guy and very knowledgeable.

The only downsides were you only had 1 a la carte for the full 7 days and if you wanted to eat at the restaurants on the resort grounds you would have to pay. The all-inclusive did include all 3 meals in the dining hall but if you wanted food you needed to be there right as the meal time started or they frequently ran out of food or took a long time replenishing items. There was usually a good selection of food. You are only given two bottles of water upon arrival and you must keep them and refill them around the resort if you want to have water with you, which I found annoying but it was doable.

Other than that the resort was quiet, it was small enough you met your fellow travellers and people were friendly. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others looking for a relaxing vacation is a really beautiful spot.

We caught fish and if you chat with the chef he will prepare it for you, for whatever meal you wish. This was an awesome addition - we had fresh fish for two meals while there. Make sure you trip nicely for that extra benefit! :)

Room Tip: Our room was in the first tower after the reception and it was great, never had any noise problems a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Penelope,

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Roatan and the bounty that is has to offer. Fishing and Diving are two great activities that you can enjoy here in Roatan, yet we are not limited to just these... next time why not try a round of Golf.

We are always looking for ways to improve and we have taken note of your bottled water comment. Currently there are numerous points around both hotels where you may replenish your bottles at any hour of the day or night, while at the same time you are no longer limited to just two bottles. While our staff try to accommodate everyone's needs, we realise that at meal time there is a rush, we are working on ways to solve this and we have already taken steps to fix the situation.

Roatan offers great Diving, Fishing and now amazing Golf, so we hope to see you back soon, so that you can put our improvements to the test,

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My extended family had a great vacation in Roatan. The chef was excellent and open to suggestions (like more fruit and salads and birthday cakes). The grounds are gorgeous but there was often a sewage smell that was a little off putting.
We also did not appreciate the loud music at the beach bar especially when it had a dance beach. (Bob Marely and Salsa music were much better).
As soon as the sun sets the mosquitoes and sand fleas come out, so that was nap time for me. I witnessed the walkways being fogged with insecticides on 3 occasions the week I was there. Kind of freaky but better than the alternative I presume. We hired a boat to some snorkel destinations and also went diving one day but the days I spent snorkeling a little South of the resort (away from the boats) was by far the most enjoyable. Loads of fish and reef. Got a bit cut up because it was uncharacteristically windy the last few days and I wasn't carefully enough in the shallow parts, but still magical. I recommend heading out to where it starts to get a little deep. Loads of fish and coral varieties.
We went diving with the Banarama divers just N of the resort. I am certified and was not impressed with the rushed preparation and we only had about 35 min of dive time after doing the drills. We should have tried the resort guy (even though his prices were a bit higher for the refresher dive) because some practice in a pool would have been better than heading to 15 feet (waves too high to go off shore).
A few of us went for early 6 am walks to the road that leads to Gumbalimba park and back through it too the beach and then back along the beach to the resort. The gardens there are gorgeous and if you go early enough you can check out the suspension bridge on the way through. There was a lot of garbage on the beach away from the resort areas which is a bit depressing.
The Sun Wing staff were very helpful and went out of there way to please us. Catherine let us use her computer and phone and did her best to make our trip enjoyable. I recommend you arrive with a a lot of 1$ bills for tips as the bar often did not want to give change.
We did one A la carte night and it was not nearly as good as the other meals, but that might have have been because it was the chef's night off. We sometimes had to remind them to bring the bar snack. Be careful, the bar drinks are very strong.
Very satisfied overall (and only gained 1 lb.)

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are very spacious. We booked the suites but didn't use the kitchen or living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johannatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Johanna,

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the natural beauty that Roatan and our Marine Reserve has to offer. Snorkelling or Diving just off our shore, within the second largest reef is something that everyone should have the pleasure.

You are correct that mosquitoes and sand fleas are an issue, yet when you want such natural beauty as you found walking around Gumbalimba Park and our gardens, there is a compromise that one must reach. Nevertheless we do our best to try and keep them down to a minimum.

We are always looking for ways to improve and continue offering the best selection of food on the island, so any and all suggestions are welcome and that is why our Chef is always available to try and accommodate our guests' needs.

We look forward to your next visit and for you give our Dive Centre an opportunity to take you out on a proper dive.

See you soon,

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent NY2014 week at the Paradise. Cayuco Bar rocks in front of the best strip of beach in the area. Room was great, clean with AC. Dive shop next door (TGI) was a real gem. Check it out for yourself, you won't be disappointed. By the the way....the pizza at Il Pomodoro also rocks !!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karlitos1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Karlitos,

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that your year started on such a high and positive note. We hope to see you again during 2014, otherwise we look forward to your next vacation.

Next time you visit us don't forget to check out our new property at Oceanic Hotel, specifically orientated to Divers.

Hope to see you soon,

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We purchased an all-inclusive through Sunwing and were not disappointed in any way. It is part of their small and friendly line of resorts and we found every bit of it fantastic.

The grounds are lush, natural and very well maintained with a lot of care by the resort's staff.

The rooms are very clean and bright and most comfortable...although we didn't stay much in our room with all there is to do.

The beach offers a great mix of sunny and shaded spots, and the turquoise waters are just feet away, filled with seemingly infinite stretches of coral reef teeming with fish of all colours, shapes and sizes. Don't be surprised to see a stingray or turtle pass by during a dip in the water just feet from shore.

The excursions are terrific and reasonably priced. We travelled to Gumbalimba Park and also did a sunset catamaran sailing trip up the coast and had a great time.

The staff at Paradise Beach Hotel and Resort were so friendly and attentive, whether in the dining room, at the bar or cleaning our room.

The French chef Mathias was phenomenal...and obviously paid great attention to the variety, presentation and flavour of the food he created. We have travelled to many southern resort destinations and have never sampled food like this, each night themed with something different...Italian, Thai, Honduran...etc

The activities staff and our Sunwing rep Catherine went out of their way to make our stay an exciting one, and gave us great suggestions on places and attractions to check out.

Juan Carlos in the TGI Diving shop located onsite gave us great suggestions on where to snorkel...the best to us was in front of the Infinity resort just a short 1-minute stroll down the beach. The snorkelling and beauty of the reefs is like nothing we have seen.

If you want a pleasurable stay, with natural, idyllic surroundings and facilities, this is your place. We are sure to return to Roatan and this place will be at the top of our list of where to stay when we do.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Bilbaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your candid review. It is unfortunate that your stay at Paradise was not as exceptional as others. We try and please everyone and although we realize that we are a small, quiet, relaxing resort, we have taken to heart reviews like yours. To this end, you will be pleased to know that we now have afternoon snacks available everyday; there are at least 2 arranged activity nights such as Karaoke and Garifuna Dancing, we have added a coffee machine to the Beach Bar and have increased the serving times at our All Inclusive Restaurant. We would love to show you how much we have improved since your last visit and we hope you will return in a very near future.

Paradise Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The trip started off very badly with a detour to Belize so a flight that was suppose to get in at ten oclock didnt get to the hotel till seven pm. We lost a whole day. It rained the next day and the weather got better as the week went on.
The hotel is on the beach but the bathrooms were not if they were working. I had to go back to the room to use the bathroom.
The days the crusie ship came in the beach was packed ,the bar service and everything else was bad. The beach was a ten minute walk to one end to the other .
The tours were over priced.
The bar closed at ten pm at night and there was nothing to do in the evenings. The nights they had some entertainment it was good but ten oclock is a early shut down for a bar.
The food was excellant it was a buffet but there was a good selection and yummy bake goods.Some snacks in the afternoon but not much
There is a departure tax of 40 dollars each and no duty free at the aiport.The roads are in bad shape with pot holes everywhere. There was snorkeling and did get stung by jelly fish
The staff was good ilttle issue were dealt with asap and the staff was very nice.
Lots of vendors on the beach and were always asking you to buy something.
I had a good time but having no night life made it boring... The beach was nice but crowded and lots of boats in the water. I counted seven in front of our resort. There are so many place to go to so i would not go back to Roatan..

Room Tip: It is very small so any room is fine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hotel

Property: Paradise Beach Hotel
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#4 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tropical gardens, the newly renovated Paradise Beach Hotel with direct access to the renowned West Bay Beach and only steps away from turquoise waters and world famous coral reef is a great family destination. With four restaurants, two swimming pools, fully equipped dive center and Gym, Paradise Beach Hotel has something for everyone. Roatan as a destination is renowned for its Dolphin attractions, world Class Golf Course, numerous outdoor activities and its close proximity to the USA with direct flight from Atlanta, Dallas, Houston, Miami and El Salvador. Come and join us for one of the most beautiful sunsets in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Club Hotel West Bay
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Hotel Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing