We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Pearl(West Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
412
262
81
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
262
81
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue planet diverswest endfishsunwing rephotel groundsrooftop poolcruise ship dayshenry morganhotel guestslarge balconyall inclusive packagebottom floorgreat poolnice resortlocal beerlounge chairsdive shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This place has a lot going for it. Service, drinks, food, size and most of all location! The beach and swimming are spectacular. I dove some, but the snorkeling down the way is just as good. Don't be afraid to go out to deeper water and go in the early morning. Fabulous. On the beach every one is in a good mood so be prepared to make some new weird friends. We did a lot of laughing in the evening with our newfound buddies. The only draw back we found with the rooms was the headboards not attached to the wall. We mosied down to the mall down the lane for wine at supper. Well worth it. Toured West End also. Best part of that was the water taxi ride. French Keys tour was fun. Go when there is no cruise ships. I had a banana doughnut almost every day, even though they didn't taste of banana, and drank a lot of cold beer. Its nice to drink cold ones on the beach right out of the bottle, no plastic. We'd go back!

Room Tip: Shampoo in your room worked well to keep my Goggles clear.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Ray K,

Diving in Roatan is great and as you point out, snorkeling just feet from our resort is just as good. West Bay Beach is a perfect white sandy beach, with turquoise clear waters and a great place to enjoy a beer. Always taking care of our reef and making sure that you have a great time.

We look forward to your next visit, you might try our sister property Oceanic Hotel,

Paradise Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our second time to Paradise and are considering going back a third time. If you like tranquility, quiet nights and small gatherings this is the place for you. It's what sets this place apart from the other bigger resorts (Infinity and the Mayan Princess for example). We like small so this suits us fine. We like quiet because we're up early for dives. You get to know the staff and other guests fairly quickly. We found the rooms were clean, the food and drinks fine. The staff at the resort are also very accomodating. If there are any issues they go out of their way to resolve them. As well, our Sunwing rep, Catherine was incredible - friendly, funny, and really helpful. She was always available to answer questions. One of the reasons we returned to Roatan was for the snorkeling and diving. The reef is beautiful here. This time around we dove with West Bay Divers (not at this resort). You can find them just down the beach behind Beachers Bar. They are fantastic and I highly recommend the shop. Just check out their reviews. They are very professional, take care of the equipment, and make your dive experience enjoyable but most importantly SAFE! Thanks to Malcolm, Deb, Arturo and the rest of the gang at WBD. Even if you're not planning on diving Roatan has so much to offer.... incredible natural beauty, zip lines, fishing, tours of the island. Visit and you'll see for yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TorontoBikechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear TorontoBikeChick,

They say that "third time is the charm", so who knows, maybe next time you might just decide to stay here forever. A gorgeous beach, amazing diving and a beautiful island, what else can you say about Roatan.

We look forward to your next visit, so that we may surprise you with the changes that we plan over 2014.

Come back soon,

Paradise Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I think this hotel is incredibly underrated! It was our first time staying at a resort of this type (50 rooms or less) and I don’t think we could ever stay at a large resort again! We had amazing weather the whole time we were there. The staff was wonderful; the resort is well-kept and clean. Food is amazing and there is no shortage of drinks!
Property/Grounds:
The grounds are well maintained and will wow you, stone pathways, decks and buildings built around beautiful trees. The hammocks in the shade were a nice touch, this place was an oasis!

Bar/Drinks:
Kiro and Jakeno made our trip (Hi guys!!!!!) They were amazing bar tenders!! Keno was always coming up with new shots and drinks for us, they were so entertaining and made us feel at home! Kiro has some funny riddles and tricks up his sleeve that will really leave you laughing. Before we finished our first drink there was already a fresh one sitting in front of you. They were on top of their stuff, they could recommend new drinks to try and made our drinks just to how we liked them. We spent all our nights sitting at the bar having a BLAST!! Bar closed at 10 which at first we thought would be an issue but we were constantly on the go that it didn’t bother us at all.

Entertainment:
There was a band a few times and Aboriginal dance/show. You won’t find nightly entertainment or an entertainment team like large resorts, this didn’t bother us at all we had tones of fun sitting at the bar like previously mentioned. There aren’t any water sports included so that was a disappointment, I hope the hotel adds this amenity ([paddle boards, kayaks, etc) in the near future

Food:
I personally though the food was AMAZING! We travelled with another couple – all 4 of us with very different taste buds and there was always something to satisfy every one of us. The chef has an amazing combination of authentic food and different foods from around the world – Superbowl spread was UNREAL! Fresh fruit every morning, standard breakfast…eggs, pancakes..omlette station etc. Lunch was also a full blown meal, lots of veggies, salads, chicken was always tender and juicy, lots of stews and soups etc. Personal favorite – curry mint beef meatballs! Don’t expect a huge buffet with endless options – this isn’t that kind of resort, there was a variety of choices every night, Asian inspired night etc. which was more than enough for us. We didn’t catch on to the snacks until the end of the week, they aren’t well advertised, Pizza was good and I think it should be included in the All Inclusive as it can get annoying having to constantly pay for little extras here and there. 1 a la carte is included and it was too much food, it would be nice to eat at both restaurants without having to pay extra. It might also be nice to have longer hours for the buffet as sometimes it was hard to plan around meals, or have cold cuts and salads available at all times?

Pool/Beach:
There were 2 pools which we didn’t use at all, the beach was too nice to be sitting by the pool. They did have nice comfy chairs and fashionable umbrellas around the pool. Plenty of chairs at the beach, no need to wakeup early and put a towel out etc. Lots of shade all over the property and on the beach. We snorkeled by the rock (highly recommend) and by the marked areas (50ft? out), if you love adventures there’s plenty to do. We also rented paddle boards on the beach and it was a lot of fun!! People walking up and down the beach selling stuff could get irritating but overall the people from Roatan are polite. Water Taxi's are the best way to get to West End and super cheap if you can fill up the boat.

West End:
Went over the shopping and bar hopping, came back to the hotel around 8:30-9:00 so didn’t go clubbing or anything, there is a lot to see if your interested in how the locals live, we visited the Blue Marlin, Sundowners and Boskey?? Cheap drinks, most places have happy hour etc. I always felt safe and welcomed. If planning on staying out late and regular road taxi is much safer to get back to the hotel. Also note that driving on the roads are crazy and sometimes terrifying (Taxi drivers are always professional and safe - it's the other guys!!) but what can you expect!

Tips:
Anything you need on this vacation will be at the beach bar (drinks, towels, etc)
Catherine our Sunwing rep was AWESOME!!! If you never go to your meetings, don’t miss this one! lots of useful information, she was always around the resort if you had any questions, came to the airport with us before we left, I cant say enough good things about her!
We did the Zip Lining Tour (through the resort), deep sea fishing with Lonny @ Roatan Anglers – such a great guy!!! We coordinated on our own with him - Dale cooked up our fresh caught Tuna for us what an experience!!! and the Learn to Dive course through the resort (no swimming pool all ocean!!) Diving was so fun and the fact that a photographer comes with you is unlike anything else we’ve ever experienced.
You only get one water bottle for the week so bring a larger one from home, they are a small island and try to minimize waste – something we should all learn from!

Overall the week spent at Paradise Beach was reall paradise. I would highly recommend this resort to my friends and family and definitely plan on returning in the near future!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing a side street (right hand side), not the prettiest view but was quiet enough for us, rooms on the otherside of the building have nice lounge chairs and tables. We didnt mind the bit of exercise getting up to the top floor :) Beautiful view of the pool from us there.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Rosie,

We await your return and we hope that you will like all the improvements we are making. It is a pleasure to see when our guests understand how we are trying to look after the island and make sure that it stays a jewel for a long as possible.

Diving in Roatan is an amazing experience and as we are located within a Marine Reserve, you can simply walk out and enjoy the sights. We are constantly improving and we look forward to your next visit, maybe next time you might want to try our sister property Oceanic Hotel.

See you soon,

Paradise Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Flight and Arrival
Our flight was delayed 2 hrs due to weather, and once we arrived it was a slow process to go through roatan customs. We were directed to our resort transportation by the Sunwing reps who were very helpful and friendly.
Check-in and Room
This was done in good time and we were offered a nice cold rum punch while we were waiting. We had requested and received a king bed. Our room was on the bottom floor of a three storey building. Room was very clean, had a small bar fridge with 2 bottles of water which you need to keep for the week and can be filled up at water coolers through out the resort. No hair dryer in the room. Bed was very comfortable and by 11 pm outside music was finished. We had a large outdoor patio to sit, this was nice when it poured rain one morning.
Food
This was probably the only area that really needs some improvement. Breakfast always had good choices, however, the temperature of the food was never quite hot enough, sometimes barely warm. Get your egg dishes made at the omelette station to guarantee that it's hot. We always had an omelette. Coffee was really not good. Isn't coffee grown on the island? It's worth a 2 minute walk to Javavine coffee shop off the resort. In the coffee house you can find a local area pamphlet with a 2 for 1 coffee coupon. Lunch and dinner food choices, while variety and taste being good, again the food was nowhere near hot. Serving staff are very nice. We tried the afternoon snack out by the beach bar in the afternoon, but again, barely warm.
Beach
This was the highlight of our trip. The beach was raked daily and lots of beach chairs, with plenty of shade areas. Cruise ship visitors weren't allowed to use/rent chairs at Paradise like at some of the other resorts. The water is spectacular and aquatic life everywhere. Drinks at the beach bar were really good. Beer and pop in bottles. They do have a bar list of the drinks that are included in the all-inclusive package. Good variety, but wine was only available with meals and stay away from the white, it's really bad. Plenty of vendors, but they will move on after you've said no. The same vendors usually heard me same no 20 times a day.LOL They were never rude with us, always friendly. If you hear a man yelling "banana doughnuts" try one, they are $2 ea and warm and tasty. The vendor is Milton, great guy!
We would definitely return to this resort, even with the food issues. There are plenty of restaurant choices along the beach for all meals if you want a change.
Two activities that are a must try, are snorkeling and paddleboarding. This island seems to have a very easy going vibe, very relaxing.
The resort is quite small and you get to know many of your fellow visitors. Good fun. Keep in mind that the resort is pretty well shut down by 11 pm. If your looking for lots of evening entertainment, this is not a good choice.
The return trip went well, but the airport waiting lounge doesn't have enough seating, so I would stay in the restaurant area as long as possible before going thru security.. Flight was great and arrived home early.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Runfitt,

Thank you for your review and the time taken to let us know the areas that need improvement. We continue to strive and offer our guests the best quality and service, which is why we are so grateful when they take the time to let us know what needs work.

Coffee is indeed something that is grown in Honduras, but unfortunately not in Roatan. This is something that we have already taken steps to rectify and a coffee machine has been installed at Cayuco Beach Bar to offer the best quality available.

Might I suggest that in a future visit you try Diving. Roatan is renowned for its Diving, which you can enjoy at our Dive Center. As you mentioned, Snorkeling is a must and since we are located within a Marine Reserve, it is exceptional.

We look forward to your return trip,

Paradise Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon Jan, 13th-21st 2014

ROOM: 4/5
We loved our room, clean, simple, and a spacious balcony with a garden view. The Hotel is a perfect size so everything is really close by including the beach & buffet. The T.V. had great chanels which came in handy because it was still rainy season at this time. The bed was really comfortable but it did need a bit more drawer space & hangers for the closet.

BEACH: 5/5
Spectacular beach with beautiful white sand. I would still recomend water shoes for sharp shells or coral you may step on. Swimming was great fun on the more rough days with big waves and perfect for snorkeling at the far West end of West Bay for calm days. The water was a brillant color of turquise!

FOOD: 4/5
I was pleasently surprised with the food quality. Me and my husband ate most meals at the Hotel & the French Chef Mattice was very talented. Breakfest was often the same types of things but there was more than enough variety to have something different each day. I really liked the omlete's and the yogurts. For lunch we were often out on excursions & only ate at the hotel about 3 afternoons, each time was good but we'd like to see hamburgers or fried chicken that we may have missed. Dinner was always different and had a variety of meat dishes as well as vegtables, pasta, ect, we really enjoyed the Asian night but not so much the romantic night meal.

DRINKS: 3/5
The alchoholic drinks were not to our liking. Only a few things are actually included in the all inclusive but we really didn't mind. We really only drank gingerale & water. You get two water bottles at the start of your stay that you are asked to refill I recommend bringing your own bottle or an extra cup for drinks + it reduces waste!

POOLS: 2/5
Tiny, cold. Not really something you would swim in. It could be nice on extremely hot, dry days for sun bathers or if it was turned in to a large hot tub it would be nice. It did serve a purpose though it was quite helpful in the free scuba trial they offer to test the equiptment before commiting to classes.

ENTERTAINMENT: 4/5
This is a small hotel but they really do their best. Karaoke night and the night they had the native people do their dancing were the best two nights. This place has no real night life after 11pm though so check Bananarama beside Paradise on the Beach or head into West Ends BOOTY BAR for a wild time Friday or Saturday!

STAFF: 5/5
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with our safe and maitnence was there within an hour. You always felt very safe as well as welcomed in and around all of West Bay. They also do personal wake up calls in the mornings in which they send some one to knock on your door & the maids were so lovely putting new towel designs on our bed with flowers everday.
Bar service was sometimes slow though.

OVERVIEW & TIPS:
Overall we had a very enjoyable honeymoon. Next time I am coming back scuba certified so I can take advantage of the world class diving in Roatan. * The guys at Paradise Beaches dive shop were very nice & helpful.

This is not a 5 star Hotel so don't expect luxury at every turn but it is a very comfortable, affordable, and enjoyable place. We came with an open mind and our expectations were exceeded. We would stay again or at the sister Hotel Paradise Oceanic because they are right beside each other & The Oceanic has a lovely pool top bar to watch the sunsets from. We were originally going to stay there but it was over booked for our stay time period.

Our Sunwing Rep Catherine was a friendly and very informative lady. I loved her personal touch, if you get her book a few excursions with her. We enjoyed The city tour + shopping, & Gumbalimba Park Roatan.
** Travel to the mainland La Ceiba if you want adventure & go white water rafting!!

Finally, go to West Bay mall & eat a pizza from JAVA VINE... YUM YUM THE BEST PIZZA EVER!!
MUST BRINGS: Bug Spray, Water Shoes, Snorkle gear, Big drink cup!

Enjoy Roatan
xo

Room Tip: * No fitness centre! The Ocean & beach? =) If you want a room with full kitchen ask for an upgrade but we enjoyed our general room with king bed. * Ask for the King!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ayla-Reza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo G, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Ayla,

So pleased that we were able to be part of your Honeymoon memories. Your review is very detailed and helpful and it allows us to continue improving our services. You might be pleased to know that there are already plans for a much larger pool to be built at Paradise, in the meantime we advice customers who want a larger pool experience to use our 2nd pool which is located right next to our All Inclusive Restaurant "La Mouette" or ultimately the top floor infinite pool at our sister property Oceanic Hotel.

We hope to see you soon for your future anniversaries,

Paradise Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews