We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Needed Break from Civilization” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry Morgan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Morgan Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much Needed Break from Civilization”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Henry Morgan provided a much needed escape fron modern American society. It is a quaint resort - definately not 5 star. It provided a relaxed atmosphere - it may not be for the average American, but it was exactly what this American needed. We did not encounter sand flies; the food was good; the staff were friendly; and the beach is lovely but not too touristy; very good security. If you want Gulf Shores in Honduras, visit one of the other resorts further down the beach. I would definately stay here again and would recomend this resort to friends who do not mind staying in a resort that is not 5 star. I had a wonderful vacation and would recommend visiting in the off season. It was primarily quiet during our 7 night/8 day stay - not until the second to last day did we encounter a large group. I would recommend an upstairs room. fellow American travelers told us that they upgraded to a condo for only $100 more for the entire week. The rooms are lovely, although the walls are thin - we did not have neighbors until the end of the week, so it was not an issue for the entire stay. Thanks Henry Morgan and staff for a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room - beware - you have to carry your own luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    574
    275
    118
    88
See reviews for
331
603
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed 7 nights & had a great trip to Roatan! Henry Morgan felt very "islandy" & laid back. The room was just as pictured- romantic tropical feel. I recommend requesting a top floor room. The workers were wonderful at all times. We felt very safe always. (we left our Nook Color & camera in our beach bag while we swam...nothing was ever touched. Our room was safe as well. We brought a luggage lock, but we do that anywhere. The beach guards are very mindful of who is sitting where & watches closely-not that it would have mattered anyway, because it was safe). And just to emphasize, we felt safe off the property anywhere we went as well. The resort is basic, but offers all you will need to enjoy the amazing beach and calm crystal clear waters with perfect snorkeling conditions every day. There are reefs you can swim to right off the beach (a few minute walk left down the beach to the end- AMAZING snorkeling!)...with a balance of soft sandy swimming areas as well. Paradise! Quite a variety of fish to look at everyday. (bring your own snorkel gear...you can rent it easily everywhere, but it's not included). The food is nothing exciting, but was good (to the negative nellies out there...no, we never got sick). When we were there, nearly all the other guests were Central Americans. We enjoyed this...felt more "authentic" than Mexican resorts..piled with Americans. We don't speak much spanish, & never had any trouble with communication. It is easy to take a water taxi ($3pp each way) to WestEnd to shop/go to resturaunts if desired, though there is enough of that within walking distance right on the beach. There is a dive shop at the resort to coordinate dives/snorkle excursions, though it really isn't needed since it's within walking distance. The resort is located perfectly!
I had heard about the "sand flies" prior to going- but didn't know much. Definitely bring Off! spray with DEET. It really isn't anything to obcess over. Just a minor adjustment of using bug spray while on a beach trip. The tiny little flies come out late-afternoon, but with a few sprits of bug spray, they are gone. We could relax & read on the beach easily. My husband got bit our first evening there (we forgot to spray!). They felt like a horse fly biting you, and would leave a 1cm red circle, but never did itch & the red mark would be gone in the morning. no biggie at all.

Room Tip: request a top floor "king suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank HaveAnotherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you are a picky American and don't enjoy culture other than yours, don't come here. If you are looking for a complete experience of the culture and hospitality of the island I reccommend Henry Morgan. The employees were amazing, friendly and incredibly kind. It's not like just going to a resort, the people who work there actually try to get to know you and share experiences. The service was great, the maids who clean the room did a great job and always left some artwork they did with the towels on the bed.

The FOOD was GREAT!!! I loved the food, everything was fresh and homemade. The entertainment they had every night was incredibly, fun and enjoyable. The last night we were there they had dinner on the beach with a fire show and a dance afterwards. If you are going to Roatan I would by far reccommend you stay at the Henry Morgan.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel itself looks like it was built in the 1700's by a very drunk pirate (presumably Henry Morgan himself)

The door in our room did not work and the lock did not latch properly, I had to put a chair up against it at night and pray that no one would try to break in. I let the front desk know about the problem the next morning and they said they would send someone immediately... They never did.

The food at the resort is an all you can eat, be sick to your stomach and spend the whole night on the toilet buffet...

Thanks alot Henry Morgan Resort for the only bad experience I have had on Roatan.

Avoid this place like the plague.

Room Tip: Make sure the door actually closes and locks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnnyRodgers504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Bay hotels

Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I spent one week at Henry Morgan. Our room and the property were very clean. The A/C worked great and the room was a very good size, comfortable, and it had a mini fridge. We had a room on the bottom floor and could hear people above us walking around because of the wood floors. It wasn't too much of an issue since the people above us were't up and about too much, but I would request a room on the second floor. There is Wi-Fi available for purchase in the rooms, but the signal was weak. It may be because our room was toward the rear of the property. When we brought this up to the staff they were accommodating and refunded the fee. There is a computer in the lobby that can be used for internet and email access that is much more reliable. There is also a fee for internet access on the lobby computer, but it was very reasonable.

The pool is large and clean. We saw people cleaning the pool constantly. Lounge chairs at the pool were always available and there was plenty of shade. The drinks and bar service were great. As a matter of fact, all the employees were friendly and provided great service. The food in the dining room could get repetitive and there wasn't a huge desert selection but we never went hungry. Most evenings the dining room opened a few minutes late. The food at the beach snack bar was not at all to our liking and very repetitive.

The beach was absolutely fabulous! It was kept clean and raked constantly. Lounge chairs were always available. Sand fleas were a problem for my husband but he didn't always reapply the bug spray after swimming. There were some vendors on the beach, but a simple "no thank you" would suffice.

Overall we had a very good time. The food wasn't gourmet and it got a little repetitive, but the beach, pool, and drinks were great and the resort clean and comfortable. We would return to Henry Morgan.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Not our first time to the tropical jewel of Roatan, Honduras. Our expectations were properly leveled - clean decent hotel, beautiful beaches requiring a little bug spray and tremendous diving. Our early May trip featured absolutely perfect weather and the diving truly met expectations.
It seemed to us that the hotel was getting ready to shut down for the season - the pool water was a pearly opaque blue color so we avoided it completely.
The all inclusive resort included meals and beverages, however, the dinner servings left much to be desired - we are not fussy, but decided to eat at local restaurants instead. The hotel offered plenty of rice or pasta and a choice of fish, poultry and beef or pork but the preparation and quality was sketchy. We passed. Wonderful fruit though!
A couple we had all grown to know, fellow hotel guests, reported a stranger in their room in the middle of the night, sitting beside the bed and uob reporting it, were offered a suite not to call the authorities. We woke that same morning with our patio door open so were quite concerned about security. Nothing stolen - just "weirded out".
We understand that insects are part of life in tropical climates, however, we found it incredibly unusual that staff were using chemical fogger machines, which were quite obviously spreading poison, in the middle of the day! On more than one occassion! There was no notice, no barricade, no concern for the guests. Love Roatan, love West Bay Beach, love the people... Henry Morgan Hotel - we"ll think twice next time around.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor would seem to offer better security. Rooms on second floor would have less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank scubarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

For the most part, our experience was nothing short of perfect. When you go to a place like Honduras, you need to abandon all expectations and focus on appreciating all that you are being offered - a beautiful underwater experience, gorgeous beaches and warm weather. This is what we tried to do. The food was good considering everything needs to be imported, the food service was exceptional and the maid service was great. The TGI Diving centre was phenomenal - great staff, great equipment and great diving.

The biggest PROBLEM with Henry Morgan is security. We had a second floor room and felt safe until we noticed one of the sliding doors to the balcony didn't close all the way. We found out later that this was the case for a number of the rooms. We were cautious enough to take action and prop the door shut with a piece of furniture but others weren't. There was a sign of a break-in in one of the first floor rooms; the guest woke up to find the sliding door open. Another couple on the second floor woke up to somebody in their room who had entered through the balcony.

We would definitely go back to Roatan but not stay at Henry Morgan or any resort for that matter.

If you've already booked your stay, keep your guard up and lock your valuables, do a good walk through of your room and lock all windows and prop shut anything that doesn't close. Also, take a lot of bug spray as the burn and itch from sand flea bites will drive you crazy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mhandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
14.9 mi away
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Media Luna Resort & Spa
#18 of 41 in Roatan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Morgan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Resort

Property: Henry Morgan Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Henry Morgan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort Roatan, Honduras - West Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing