We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view of the sea from upstairs balcony...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rose M
St. Louis--Westport, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the sea from upstairs balcony and clean, excellent interior”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This upstairs apartment is clean, modern, well-maintained two-bedroom, two bathrooms with kitchen plates, cutlery, and equipment, and best of all, the view from the balcony where there is a large table and 5 chairs is wonderful. There is only one house between this house and the beach right in front of West Bay Village, which means one avoids direct wind and sun, but you see the blue water in a frame of tree leaves. You can walk to the water in two minutes and walking left for the distance of a block takes you to the end of West Bay beach, where you can walk into the water and begin snorkeling immediately above the very near coral beds and many colorful fish. You can also make it out to the Wall from this beach. Island House Resort management staff are very helpful and responsive. You can't go wrong with the rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view from the upstairs balcony
Liked least: There wasn't any.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toofunnie
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great deck, nice home, close to the beach”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third stay in WBV first time at Tortuga House. There were four of us, two couples. We loved the deck and spent a lot of time out there in the evenings. The house is located about 15-20 steps from the beach. The bedrooms and bathrooms are both nice size and connected to each other. The house has everything you need for a relaxing vacation. We normally have never had any issues with the other rentals but we found two suggestions for the future renters and gave our recommendations to the property managers when we left. One was that the steps up to the house are very slippery when wet (husband fell and hurt his ribs the first day) and there should be a throw rug by the deck door leading into the house as this area can get be very slippery at times too due to the tile. We are quite sure both will be taken care of as Island House are very good about taking care of your every need! We wouldn't hesitate to rent this home again and love the staff at Island House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coffee on the deck
Liked least: Steps are very slippery when wet and missed having a hammock
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
It was great to have you guys back again. As per your suggestion the owners will be bringing non-slip traction tape to put on the steps when they come in March. We will be finding a rug for the deck door also. Thanks for your comments and suggestions in helping us make the home better for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie k
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach house, excellent location”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We LOVED the Tortuga House, it was everything and more than what we expected. We stayed here with another couple, and both had beautiful rooms and ensuites. The location is fantastic, and the village of homes is very quaint and beautiful. The beautiful beach is right there! The people that are in charge of this house are very attentive, helpful, and were very good at recommending things and places as this was our first time to Roatan. There is security and it is gated. Would we return - absolutely! I would recommend this house to anybody, it was a fantastic holiday, and we would return right here the next time we come to Roatan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offonvaca...
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“THE BEST BEACH VACATION TO DATE”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

this was our first trip ever to rotan and we found our own piece of treasure. it took many months of research to find the ideal place and spot to stay. i have to tell you all the research paid off, for Tortuga Beach House was the x...on the treasure map.
I had the pleasure of dealing with michael, who address all my concers and also provided me with a wealth of information. he set it up where a guy picked us at the airport, that guy also came into our apartment one night and cooked a great meal..
Anyway, the apartment is in a little village with beautiful palm trees. Tortuga Beach is on the second level with a priceless view of the beach. my family and i have traveled to many far off destinations, but the combination of roatan and the tortuga beach house is perfect.
the condo itself is very spacious and new. the kitchen is a true gourmet and great for entertaining.
after wondering around the village, although all the units were nice tortuga beach was just a notch above the rest. I look foward in going back especially when the new roof-top deck was added.
thanks for great vacation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: condition of condo
Liked least: no gas grill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Time to Reunite With Family”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I arrived from the West and my cousin arrived from the East, together we met at Roatan after not seeing each other for many years. Torgtuga gave us a 'home away from home' atmosphere. This new beach house includes numerous indoor amenities to make a relaxing holiday perfect (including an awesome housekeeper). Outdoor amenities include 24 hour security, groundskeepers and being steps from the world famous West Bay Beach.

A pre-arranged driver was arranged for an airport pick up. With the help of the driver, groceries were purchased at a local supermarket. However, nightly supper was at one of many West Bay or West End restaurants/bars.

Snorkelling on the reef right off the beach was incredible! The coral is so alive with colour and varieties of fish abundant.

This property is vary spacious and CLEAN!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the beach.
Liked least: There were stray cats hanging around.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmEgg
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach House”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 (2 kids) stayed at Tortuga the last week of August - and thought it was a fantastic place to stay in West Bay! The property was clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. My kids fought daily over the walk-in shower in the 2nd bedroom. I had initially thought the tile floors throughout was a little odd - but after our first day in the water I realized the tile was a huge benefit - especially with kids! It's only a few steps to the best beach on Roatan - beautiful sand and only a short swim out to the reef. There are lots of restaurants in easy walking distance of West Bay Village - and a small shopping center nearby with a coffee/wine bar, small grocery, ATM and souvenir shop. The water taxi dock is also very close. We only got to enjoy the deck a little bit due to the hot temperatures - but it was great spot to set out our beach gear, and has amazing views of the water! The property management staff were so helpful - it was great to have them as a local resource!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing