We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Funky beach place”

Review of Monkey La La Upper

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HappyPyra...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Funky beach place”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at both Monkey La La and Mary's Place. Monkey La La was great, I traveled with my daughter, mother and girlfriend and had no complaints.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mommaloha
Weatherford, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I went to Roatan for a "date-cation" and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Monkey La La was cute and clean. I loved the front porch for breakfast and walking the sandy path to the beach. Ryan was great to work with and our driver that picked us up at the airport was great. We would definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Monkey Lala Upper is the Perfect Beach House!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The "upper" apartment of the Monkey Lala House is everything that we could have wanted in a vacation beach house! The decor is very tasteful and relaxing (rather than some "beach" themed decor that can be absolutely dreadful in some beach houses!!). The king bed is so comfortable, the AC in the bedroom works great, great bathroom. Combine the ceiling fans all over the house, being upstairs on the second level, and opening the beautiful barn doors to the porch and you are sure to catch a good breeze.

The house is in a excellent location (within a short walking distance to the beach, stores, a great spa, and excellent restaurants) and don't let this house not being on the beachfront keep you from staying there. It's still so close that you can skip back to the house from the beach whenever you'd like.

Honestly though, my favorite part about this house was pleasant little surprises of everything we wanted or needed already being there - water bottles, ice packs, matches, books, games, beach towels, tupperware, mosquito repelling incense, even cooking spices! If you plan on doing any cooking, which we did, the kitchen is well stocked with any item you might need, including good knives, serving platters, pitchers, everything.

Thank you for a great stay where I didn't have to worry about anything!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AorsiFry1
Northville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location on West Bay”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We Loved the Monkey La La house. A very unique location as it's tucked away down a beautiful path surrounded by palms and a variety of flowering shrubs. Felt like we were in our own little neighborhood. We arrived the end of April so it was extremely quiet even though two large hotels are nearby. Just steps away from the most beautiful beach. Loved having our own house vs a hotel, we were able to cook some of our meals but mostly we had a very private balcony that we enjoyed. We love west bay, the snorkling is amazing, walking distance to restaruants and just a short water taxi ride to west end. Tours and excursions are easily available by local vendors. The local people are so gracious and sweet. Love coming to Roatan. Monkey La La was just what we were looking for. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: air conditioning only in bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analía S
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monkey Lala rocks !!!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house was a dream !! Much better than what we imagined from pictures at the web site. Comfortable, well provided, decorated with taste and lots of local pieces of art and crafts. Thoughtful owners expected us with very much appreciated gifts upon arrival, thanks guys for the beautiful flowers and the cold Barenas!!!!. Definitely we will recommend the Monkey Lala as "the place" to stay when visiting Roatan. Way much better than one of the resorts or condo´s next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy D
1 review
“Great beach vacay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We are here now and it couldn't be any better!! Great location and great beach!! Great beach house!! Close to everything but still plenty of privacy. Clean and comfortable. Would defiantly recommend and already planning to come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora R
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing