We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mix579
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our first time to the island, and we lucked out with this rental. First, the management was great. They provided us with excellent information before the trip and helped arrange snorkeling day trips, airport transportation, etc. On our last day we had some rain water come in through the wall during a freak storm with hellish rain, and in no time a whole army of people showed up to help and fix the issue.

Second, the apartment itself was great. Very roomy, large living room with two coach areas, tastefully furbished. Extraordinarily well equipped kitchen, including microwave, disk washer, coffee maker, blender, etc. Fridge was stocked with roasted coffee, beer, milk, banana bread when we arrived. Plenty of fresh bottled water as well. Bedroom was nice too, but wifi got a bit spotty in there.

What we appreciated perhaps most about the accommodation was the beach facing sandy patio, reserved for tenants of St Mac. Truth is, West Bay is a busy place, with lots of tourists from the cruise ships, hustlers peddling their stuff, and the water taxi folks. But despite the fact that St Mac's is right on the beach, somehow the patio provided an oasis of calm and quiet. It's also guarded 24 hours by friendly guards.

The apartment is literally right on the beach. Within a minute you're in the water, and right on the best reef we've ever seen (and we're fanatic snorklers). It makes you wonder how long the reef can survive all the visitors to the beach but for now it makes for an unforgettable experience. Within five minutes of walk, you can reach the local "mall", which includes a decent coffee shop and a small grocery store that turned out to make unexpectedly great lunch sandwiches. You're also close to three or four hotels with associated restaurants and beach bars, if you're into that stuff (we're not). It got a bit noise on weekend nights, but again, somehow St Mac's feels quieter than it ought to be.

All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay at this property and were impressed with management.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldtravel...
ann arbor, mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time at St Macs Beachfront!!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

After a week on the quiet side of Roatan, we arrived at St Macs for a week to find out where the best snorkeling is done, where the divers, para-sailors, fishermen play. Everythings in short walking distance: fun, great food, beautiful sand and warm water. Couldn't ask for a better locale, can't get closer to the water.
The St Macs Beachfront Apt is perfect: up-to-date, well-maintained, clean. We lacked for nothing. One interesting thing we noted as we lounged in the shade in front of the St Macs building: so many people stop to look and admire these great West Bay Village units - they are unique on the West Bay beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Outstanding property with a location that is exquisite. One bedroom, one bath with A/C. Transportation is extra but well worth it. 24/7 armed security, not necessary but a nice touch. We will most certainly return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George M
Malibu, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect except for power outages”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a fantastic place. It is right on the best part of West Bay beach . That section of the water does not have the bothersome see grass that is present at the far right end of the beach. It is also very close to the reef which you can access from in front of the Infinity resort to the left of St Mac. The apartment is spacious and has all the kitchen amenities. The front yard is sandy , right on the beach and has a lot of tree shade. There is a cleaning person who came twice in the week to clean and give us fresh towels. The boat dock is right in front of the unit, but was not an issue.
The property is walking distance to multiple restaurants and a local grocery store which was a major plus.
The main downsides of the unit are: 1- no power generator like some of the other places on the beach. We had several power outages, and while this is not under the control of St. Mac, the owners could have certainly invested in a power generator like other properties on the beach. 2- the Internet was slow and had to be reset multiple times. It had to be reset from another rental unit which made the process a hassle. 3-The beach is busy with people ( even on non cruise ship days ) and sometimes noisy from music playing by the boats and beach side restaurants and there are a lot of sellers of products and services who constantly come up to you to sell stuff. So if tranquility and solitude is a high priority for you, this general beach area on West Bay is not going to seem as attractive.
Overall, however, this was an incredibly nice vacation for us: the water is crystal clear , calm like a swimming pool and warm (84-86 Degrees ), the reef is awesome with a large variety of fish ( Parrot fish Angel fish, Barracuda, Grouper, Trumpet fish) Just to name a few, and lots of corals, and it is easy to hire a boat right off the dock to go fishing which we did or do other water activities.
We would definitely go back to Roatan and specifically stay at St Mac

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Power outages
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esteppe
Goldvein, Virginia
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The staff is amazing and extrememly helpful. The place is well maintained and spacous. It was truly a perfect vacation. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Roatan and recommend here for any of our friends as well. They set up our transportation to/from the airport, recommended excursions that we did and were fantastic. Its right on the beach with our own private area where no one else can use -- truly great! Bars and restaurants close by and the sand/water is breathtakingly gorgeous there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hadams201...
Plymouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place, Romantic Vacaion”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful weeks in the Beachfront apartment. Breakfast was usually on the patio with the soothing sounds of the waves in the backround. Lunch was either local fare or something we prepared, but the Burgers at The Blue Parrot in Sandy bay were the best! Sunsets were spent on the dock with new friends, and the best views you have ever seen. The Steaks at the Argentine Grille were well worth the 5 minute walk down the beach. The. nightly entertainment on the beach (including Firedancers!) was always fun. Watching the dive boats get ready first thing in the morning and early morning and late night walks on the beach were always rewarding. Guieremo the security guard was awesome! We also highly recommend the Cayos Cochinos trip,snorkeling with the dolphins at Anthony's Key, and you must pick up some awesome Roatan Rum from the Roatan Rum Factory just a few miles down the road. The Mango Rum is incredible! We keep coming back to this unit for good reason. Steps from the beach, but just far enough away for privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The Fridge broke due to a power surge, but was quickly fixed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
132bryans
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 1 bedroom on West Bay Beach”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Some of the best snorkeling in the Caribbean is right outside your door! Private beach is huge! Amazing location, great onsite staff. We walked up and down, and both agreed that this is the place to stay on West Bay Beach. I recommend Anemona Divers and West Bay Divers, who have small dive boats and are both fantastic. It's worth the walk to sign up with them, and they'll pick you up from the dock right outside the condo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing