We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
So. Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful second stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our second trip to Roatan and West Bay Lodge. The wife and daughter had a massage at the spa and said it was the best they'd ever had. The food was superb at Celeste's. As before, Milos and Celeste were wonderful hosts and were more than helpful in every way. Just remeber, this is not a Sandal's. It is a wonderful lodge/bed and breakfast homey atmosphere that fits the island perfectly. Hope to return again and will stay here, no question!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BroCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
130
268
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonsonate, El Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband & I enjoyed an amazing week at West Bay Lodge & loved everything about it! Obviously Celeste & Milos have worked very hard to accomplish such an incredible dream as this tranquil & relaxed resort offers everything & more! The setting is very exotic & tropical with native flowers & plants everywhere & the ambience of West Bay Lodge oozes tranquility & a very comfortable charming environment! The bungalows are private & surrounded by nature & are very well equipped inside & out with hammocks & balcony furniture. The kitchenette is perfect for preparing light meals if desired & the fridge is well stocked & replenished daily. All these features make West Bay Lodge the perfect island getaway!

Celeste & Milos greeted us warmly & made sure we were comfortably settled in our bungalow which they graciously upgraded from Queen to Royal! Celeste oriented us & made sure we had everything we needed. We loved this personal touch that made us feel warmly welcomed & we knew from the beginning we were going to have a wonderful week! Both Celeste & Milos made sure to ask us throughout our stay if everything was to our satisfaction & if there was anything else they could do for us--the perfect personal touches! The staff are all very friendly, talkative & helpful & it is obvious they are happy to be part of the West Bay Lodge family.

We really enjoyed dining at Celeste's Island Cuisine restaurant & bar which offers a very laid back feel with awesome island decor & excellent food choices. We always looked forward to breakfast which was carefully prepared, presented & served & lunch includes delicious seafood baleadas with very colourful generous salads as well. Dinners are equally appetizing! All food is prepared fresh from the choicest ingredients with many local fruits & vegetables included in the dishes. Also West Bay Lodge's signature rum punch is a real treat! We welcomed dining with the pets of the West Bay Lodge family--meals included the company of the beautiful parrots & the endearing cats are right at home & know how to win the hearts of guests as well as accept tidbits!

West Bay Lodge is also very aware of the Roatan environment, preservation, conservation & recycling & their use of solar energy is commendable. The gardens around the bungalows are kept natural but are also well cared for & the pool is very inviting & clean. There are also lots of choices for seating around & in the pool & beautiful West Bay Beach is less than a 3 minute walk away. West Bay Lodge is perfectly located with a small plaza across the street which offers many choices including a well stocked mini-mart, deli, pizzaria & scooter/motorcycle rentals to explore the island!

The day spa is the perfect place to experience a soothing & professional massage or spa treatment with many choices at very reasonable prices. Seasonal packages at West Bay Lodge often include your choice of massage treatment as well. The decor & atmosphere is peaceful, serene & comforting in perfect keeping with Roatan's West Bay Lodge!

We have many beautiful pictures & cherished memories of our island escape & we highly recommend incredible West Bay Lodge for the perfect vacation! Kudos to Celeste & Milos for creating this perfect Roatan Island haven! Thank you both for everything!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are very private & nestled in nature! Your choice is purely dependent on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank island-4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My family and I recently spent 5 days at west bay lodge and had a wonderful experience,Milos and Celeste are great hosts and made us feel very welcome.we stayed in the Royal Bungalow which was decorated very tastefully . they provided excellent breakfast everyday. They have very friendly and helpful staff. My wife was pampered at the Serenity Day Spa for three hours.It was a wonderful experience for her. when we go back we're definitely staying at West Bay Lodge again.We really enjoyed the sort walk to the beach and their beautiful swimming pool.

Room Tip: Bungalow 8 was close to the pool and their restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlando r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at West Bay Lodge for a couple of days in March. We couldn't have had a nicer stay. Although we had been to the restaurant before, this was our first stay. First the Owners, Milos and Celeste are wonderful people....they just feel like family rather than owners. We were shown to our bungalow by Celeste who orientated us to all of the amenities. The bungalows are very well equipped with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. It was very spacious and the bed was comfy. You will find the breakfast menu for the week posted on the wall in your room.

The location couldn't be better. Alot of people want to be right on the beach, but our preference is to be off of the beach but just a short walk and that's what you will get with WBL....quiet and peaceful when you want it and with the beach nearby. Also you have the West Bay Mall right across the road with restaurants, coffee house, deli and gift shop, next door is the Sushi restaurant....there are lots of eating places within walking distance.

I really enjoyed my time by the pool....very intimate and private....loved it. Thanks to Milos and Celeste for your hospitality!!!!! See you next time!

Room Tip: There was a bit of construction at the resort when we were there, although it didn't affect our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife, sister-in-law and I spent 3 nights at West Bay Lodge on our way to Utila In Apil 2012. The last time we were there was 4 years ago. Milos and Celeste have made many improvements to an already great resort.

Our room had a mini-kitchen, very comfortable beds and was decorated very tastefully.

The new pool is steps from the cabins. It is kept in spotless condition and is in a beautiful garden setting.

They have built a new resturant. The food is fantastic. I especially enjoyed the grouper.

Milos and Cesleste's love for people is very evident in the way they treat customers, their staff and the charitable organizations they are involved in.
Mios and Celeste's care for their staff transalates into a drive to take care of customers.

We go to the carribean once a year for a dive vacation. We have stayed at West Bay Lodge three times. We have never stayed anywhere else more than once.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divingkeepsusyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My friend and I stayed at West Bay Lodge for a few days after Christmas Day. The island was unbelievable and Milos and Celeste were awesome hosts! Milos makes a wicked welcome drink Rum Punch which defiantly had me coming back for more of them. Any question we had they answered and went the extra distance to even order us plane tickets for an early flight we rescheduled for!

Their right hand woman Oyuki was a great host as well. She always has a smile on and can tell you about all the good things to do on the island. She is a super hard worker and always puts the guests first.

When I go back to the West Bay Islands in Honduras I will be staying at the West Bay Lodge.

Mitchell
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our second trip to Roatan and our first time staying at West Bay Lodge. I can't say enough really. The lodge is private, surrounded by lush tropical gardens and a nice retreat from the beach which is only a short 2 minute walk away. They have a beautiful plunge pool that is very inviting at the end of the day where we enjoyed our daily rum punches and conversation with people from all over the world. The staff are hard working and aim to make your stay as pleasureable as possible. Milos and Celeste, the owners, are a lovely couple, very hospitable and always around to make sure you're having a relaxing stay at their resort. We highly recommend this quaint little resort if you're looking for a more personal experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing