We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Overall our stay at West Bay Lodge was good, but there were a few things that were disappointing. We ended up staying in one of the older cabins, which didn't have glass on the windows and a really old air conditioning unit. Both of these things proved to be very loud. It was so hot that we couldn't sleep without the air conditioning on, but the unit was so loud that we didn't sleep well with it on. If we did have it turned off for any amount of time, the noise from the road was quite loud. This was even more disappointing considering we had asked specifically for a quiet cabin. One morning the power went out at approximately 5 a.m. and they did not turn on the generator. By 7 a.m. it was far too hot to be inside of our unit. When we asked why the generator hadn't been turned on the owner said that she didn't want to wake us up with the noise of the generator. Considering the heat woke us up instead, this was quite funny. The other noteable negative comment is based on the fact that I'm an avid animal lover and have seen parrots and tucans in the wild numerous times in the past (ironically not far from Roatan). Seeing them as pets whilst eating breakfast (5 birds in all) was a bit upsetting. I discussed this with other customers and no one found the birds enhanced their stay at West Bay Lodge. Having said that, the facilities were clean, the owners very friendly and accomodating, the breakfasts quite good.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Pennywise3TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2008

Our stay at West Bay Lodge was very nice. I could say all the positive things the previous reviews said but I'll try to mention some different things! The breakfasts were large and the hosts offered to give you more if needed. The fresh fruit and coffee and fresh juice were nice touches. The drinks and snacks (sold at cost) in the rooms were a nice touch, as was the unlimited bottled water. The walk to the beach isn't far and I don't know that it would be worth it to stay on the beach. The other hotels look comparable to West Bay Lodge and aren't reviewed nearly as well on this website. Celeste and Milos were so friendly and even invited all the guests to come to the hermit crab races to benefit the local school system. This takes place weekly on Thursday nights. They even provided us transportation from the lodge by bus. We thought that was a very nice touch. The rooms were more modern than I expected though we must have had one of the newer buildings. I would, however, not say that the linens were luxury as the website suggested. They were basic, nothing wrong with them. We really had a great stay and would stay there again! Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karaandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We stayed at West Bay lodge in March for a week. The rooms were pretty much what we expected. They were clean and comfortable and no bugs! There was always hot water and bottled water to drink. The owners are really lovely people and went out of their way to make our trip easier by arranging the things we were interested in doing.

The only complaint was that the power went out many times a day and the generator didn't work. This wasn't so bad, except at night when we desperately wanted the air conditioning and we couldn't use it. There are cheaper places to stay without air conditioning and we picked this place partly because it did have air. We couldn't use it 2 nights and this was frustrating.

But overall, everything else was great. We would still recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelbugbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Last week I became another Fully Satisfied Guest of West Bay Lodge. Celeste and Milos are excellent hosts; the bungalow was well kept; the breakfasts are quite good; and the birds are a delight. I thank all the previous Trip Advisor reviewers whose comments led me to book here. If I get back to Roatan, I am going back to WBL for sure,

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_petrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Just arrived back in the states from a week long stay at West Bay Lodge and I would definitely stay with them again. Here are the reasons why:
- Location - West Bay is at the end of the island and makes up the Roatan Marine park. This means the beaches are pristine and all the best dive locations are a close boat ride. West Bay Lodge itself is on the side of a mountain and only requires a 2 minute walk to get to the beach. West Bay was ideal for me because I cannot stand being around tourists which tend to flock to West End (a five minute taxi or scooter ride). There are a lot of private residential communities developing in West Bay which will further cement it secluded beach area. Annoying cruise-ship people only come to West Bay a few times a week for only a few hours so they are easy to avoid.
- Accommodations - I tend to dislike staying in mega-resorts with a million employees who are all indifferent to you. West Bay Lodge is made up of 6 bungalows and is run by an awesome couple (Celeste and Milos) who will greet you upon arrival and see that your stay is perfect. They are very personal and always make sure your stay is going well. The daily morning included breakfast is an additional plus. We were diving daily and needed early breakfasts and Celeste was more than willing to help us out. The food is tasty and the breakfast palapa is a scenic way to start your day. The birds are a trip as well. Our stay qualified us for airport xfers (Courtesy of Milos) which was a nice touch. The rooms are also nice with a stocked fridge of drinks and snacks (you pay for what you take but it's not expensive). I never had a problem sleeping, showering, or relaxing in general. I will say however that going to Roatan is a bit like camping in the sense that the island has power issues. The power went out a handful of times while we were there which is a problem that I'm told is being rectified. What this means is ultimately no A/C or TV unless Milos cranks up his generator which he is willing to do. I was fine without either however as Roatan is breezy and cool at night and I was too tired to watch TV for entertainment.
- Staff - As I mentioned, the owners are the primary staff. They do have some maids and cooks, all of which were nothing but friendly. Celeste and Milos are with you from the start of each day and are available for questions or concerns until you go to sleep each night. It's a real nice personal touch that capped off the ultimate trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rzk4sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We stayed at West Bay Lodge for the month of January 2008, in celebration of retirement. Add our voices to the chorus of praise for this place. Celeste and Milos were consistently concerned that we have a good experience, with such personal effort to accommodate any needs. We had one of the units with a kitchen (hotplate, refrig, sink), and we were able to cook as much as we liked. Celeste offers to pick up groceries for you at the store or you can go with her. You can rent a car from them as well. The hammocks on the front porch are a nice touch and a great spot to hang out if it rains. The unlimited bottled water is very welcome for travelers south of the US border. After driving around most of the island, we can say that West Bay really is the best beach; beautiful sand, calm clear water, and the reef is so close to shore, with gorgeous channels and walls. We saw many fish, as well as an octopus, turtle, sea snake, and rays. Paying a big premium to be right on the beach didn't make any sense to us. It is a very short flat walk to the beach - you go across the main road and continue about a block. You enter West Bay beach right smack in the middle, next to Banarama. Oh how we miss those early morning walks! One other thing - if you visit their website and look at the pictures of the breakfast plate, well that's no exaggeration - the food is delicious, and breakfast is a complete blast. Between the 4 parrots and the toucan, it's often a raucous party, with guests becoming acquainted quickly. I have to mention that we enjoyed Milos' quirky, dry, Czech/Oregonian humor. I also must recommend a visit to Shashi's wine bar for scintillating, philsophical dialogue (try saying that after a couple of glasses!) The wine bar is right across the road from the lodge. After being at West Bay Lodge for a month, Celeste, Milos and Jacob (their son) had a going away party for us. Celeste, we still talk about the bruschetta, and my goal is to learn how to make your bread. Bottom line, we'll be back. This family has earned every shred of success they're enjoying. Go there! Say hi to the fish for us!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SummGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RPF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
603 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
2.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: £83 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing