We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Tropical Getaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent a fabulous week with good friends at West Bay Lodge. The owners and staff were very accommodating. We highly recommend West Bay Lodge to those travelers who are looking for a local experience vs. a generic resort once can field everywhere. Great location, just 3 minutes from one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever visited. The spa is wonderful and spa services are every bit as good if not better than in the US. We booked the ultimate mind body and soul package and enjoyed great massages and facials from Belkis and Blanca. Davinci took excellent care of us at breakfast not to mention the cheerful company from Cleo the parrot. Many thanks also to Oyuki. The only reason I rated sleep quality as average was the fact that the second bedroom in the bungalow did not have privacy. The bed is separated by a privacy screen from the living area which was not clear to us from the website and emails we sent when we decided to take another couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
269
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We returned to West Bay Lodge after a 5 year absence. We missed the island and this resort so much!! We stayed in Bungalow 5 this time -- it was perfect. We loved having the large porch with the two hammocks. We relaxed there almost every afternoon after a fun-filled day of diving. The fridge kept the beers ice cold. They have a variety of wines to choose from at the office. Celeste, Milos, and the staff are all still amazing. Breakfast is delicious -- we dreamt about those banana pancakes the entire 5 years we were gone. We had dinner at Celeste's one evening and it was fantastic. I can't say enough about this place. We will never stay anywhere else on Roatan (unless we move there and buy a house).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lel7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

West Bay Lodge helped us have the perfect vacation. Celeste and Milos are such gracious hosts and their staff is friendly and attentive. The bungalow was clean and comfortable and the best value on the island. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RickJongkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I take a vacation to somewhere in the Caribbean each year and this year it was my turn to do the planning. I picked Roatan for it's diving and I was not disappointed. The West Bay Lodge was a great place at an incredible rate. The room was the perfect size and had all the amenities we needed. The restaurant was also great and we were always cared for at each meal. The pool was cozy and has shaded areas when we wanted to get out of the sun. There are a number of cats that make the place even more personal, we loved 'mama kitty'. The location was a short walk from the beach and the dive shop. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We found West Bay Lodge on Tripadvisor and were drawn to the great reviews. This will be just one more on the list. It took us a little bit to adjust to the pace of life and work in Roatan. West Bay Lodge is very laid back and, at first, it might seem lacking. However, we soon learned that the sign in the attached restaurant – Celeste’s Island Cuisine – is right on target: “Relax – you’re on Roatan time”. The rooms are not huge and the finishings are not perfect or fancy, but the staff more than makes up for it. Oyuki and Melony work in the office and could take care of any requests and always did so with a smile. Nicky and Davinci were our waiters/bartenders so we spent the most time with them during our stay! Davinci did not know the word no and was always willing to help with anything we needed during our stay. The rum punch Nicky makes is a MUST! We tried others at numerous other places and none compared. Breakfast was included with our stay and we paid an extra $20/person/day to get lunch and unlimited rum punch. This turned out to be a good deal for us. The food was spectacular – very fresh, light and flavorful. Breakfasts included pancakes with caramelized bananas, waffles with caramelized pineapple, French toast, eggs with peppers and cheese and tipico (eggs, beans and tortillas). The lunch we usually got was a baleada, a traditional Honduran dish which was like a large soft taco with meat, onions, peppers, tomatoes and crema. The favorite of our group was the shrimp although we tried pulled pork, lobster and chicken. All were good. One BIG plus was when we brought back a yellow fin tuna one of us caught. We asked Darson, one of the chefs, if he would use it to make ceviche and he did a wonderful job. He served it up in martini glasses and fried up some fresh tortilla chips to accompany it. So fresh!!!
We did not spend much time at the pool, but it was nice and had a feeling of seclusion. The staff cleaned the pool and the surrounding area every morning. We did make use of the snorkeling gear for rent at the front office. This is probably the only thing that I would say really needs some updating. The equipment was very used and could benefit from being replaced.
Overall, our stay was great and I would definitely return to and recommend West Bay Lodge!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great stay in bungalow 4. Staff is awesome. Great location tucked in behind the big resorts...much quieter at WBL. The grilled sea bass is to die for at Celeste's island cuisine at WBL. It was our favorite food on the island. Thank you!

...and now we are also dive addicts!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just returned from Roatan and our stay at West Bay Lodge was wonderful. We were in a Royal Bungalow #7 and it was nice for my husband, myself, and our teenaged son. Everyone at the lodge was wonderful from our arrival and meeting Oyuki and her tour of the property to the awesomeness that is Davinci and his wonderful sense of humor! It was great to see the same folks throughout the week and that they remembered us. Nicky and Melony who also work at the lodge were also so kind and warm. Celeste and Milos are the owners and they also took great care of us. Our bungalow was cleaned each day and had everything we needed. Loved having the water cooler in our room and we were able to fill up our Nalgene bottles that we brought from home. The breakfasts are great, although I wish more fruit was offered during breakfast. My husband has a wheat allergy and they were able to accommodate his gluten free diet at breakfast each day. We spent most our time at the beach but the pool at the lodge is very nice. I do not have any negatives to report at all about our stay at West Bay Lodge and we would definitely go back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HixieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing