We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at WBL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at WBL”
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Roatan, Roatan. Wherefore art thou Roatan?

Okay, so this review is LONG OVERDUE!! Quite honestly my stay in Roatan is hard to put into words - surreal, life-changing, other-worldly, amazing are a few that come to mind. What a fantastic little hidden gem... I can only hope that my lovely little island will maintain some of it's 'to the core' rawness and enchanting natural beauty as the cruise ships, Starbucks, Gucci, and luxury condos continue to flood the place!

West Bay Lodge - lovely. I can't say enough how hospitable, friendly and warm Celeste and Milos were during my stay. Although I was single female traveller, I always felt welcome, safe and had everything I could want or need at my fingertips. And despite the fact I was a solo guest, I had the most unusual breakfast companion every morning - Hamish, the talking green parrot.

I'll echo the words of other reviews on the mouth-watering breakfasts, the best rum punch ever, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. Think the convenience of modern day technology (phone, internet, TV, AC, etc) juxtaposed with the rustic charm, seductive beauty and chill-out vibe of an undiscovered Caribbean paradise.

And I can only imagine how awesome it is now that the new pool and cabana have been completed!

I can't wait to get back...

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
269
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

An excellent lodge run by a very friendly couple who make all their guests feel like part of the family . The rooms are stylish and comfortable and each cabin has its own verandah and hammock. There's a different breakfast for each day of the week and every single one is outstanding - definitely the best breakfasts we had in all of Central America. The pet parrots join guests for breakfast and are very entertaining. The lodge is five minutes from a beautiful beach with excellent snorkelling, and also a few bars and restaurants. The staff at the lodge are very helpful with organising car hire, snorkel gear, advice on day trips, etc. We loved this place and highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Our stay at West Lodge was very good. We enjoyed the bungalows and the breakfast was great. We stayed the week after New Year's Day and the weather was horrible. It is amazing how the weather really does affect your opinion on a place. We went diving at Anthony's Dive Resort - good place. We also went on the Shark Dive - go on it and get a DVD. West Bay Lodge was very pleasant and comfortable. Take a taxi over to the city and visit the restaurants.

  • Liked — Staff and Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank utcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We enjoyed our stay at West Bay Lodge so much in 2007 that we went back for a quick 10 day trip in April. In fact, our vacation was planned around the availability of a bungalow at WBL. They book up fast and no one wants to leave! The word is definitely out that WBL is the place to stay on West Bay/Roatan. It just wouldn't be right to keep something this fabulous to ourselves! Milos, Celeste and Jacob have created the perfect guest experience at WBL. Where else can you interact with parrots and a toucan while munching on banana pancakes? It has certainly been our observation that the other guests enjoy the birds as much as we do. And the cats are cool too. Ask Celeste to let you give Mama Kitty her morning egg. What a crack-up!! Do yourself a favor book a stay at WBL. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shark2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

My wife, my sister-in-law and I returned to West Bay Lodge in March of 2008. My wife and I spent a week there in June of 2007. Owners Milos and Celeste have improved on what seemed to already be perfect. We were treated as family more than customers.

Celeste booked us a room at Bananarama for our first night because West Bay Lodge was full for that night. We once again did our diving with Bananarama and were again completely satisfied. My wife's sister completed her open water course. She was given one-on-one training for most of the course.

Milos and Celeste rented a bus that took us to the "Crab Races", a fun fund raising activity for local schools put on by another resort. It was heartwarming to see the passion of these business owners who genuinely cared more about helping people than making money.

We loved our experience on Roatan once again. One difference between our trip in March and the one last June was the number of Cruise ships. Last June we had only one all week. This March I think there was at least one every day. Some of the tourist attractions catered mostly to the cruise ships. For example, we wanted to Dive with the Dolphins at Anthony's Key Resort, but all the spaces were reserved by cruise ships. We were there this time in the midst of the high season. I don't believe it would be like this most of the year. We spent most of our days diving with Bananarama so the crowds from the cruise ships did not affect us much.

In short, we loved West Bay Lodge, Bananarama and Roatan. Hope to return.

  • Liked — Great customer service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank divingkeepsusyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

The hustle and bustle of the urban 9-5 had pushed us to our limits. Based largely on the splendid reviews we read on TripAdvisor, we decided to spend a week in Roatan at the West Bay Lodge. As soon as we set foot on the property, we were surrounded by lush tropical plants, banana & avocado trees, and mosquitos! But even the pesky bugs could not stop us from having our best vacation to date.

"Cough, cough...Hola, Como Esta?... Cough, cough" said Haymish as we entered the palapa for breakfast. Haymish: entertainer, lover... parrot! Well, there were five birds: four parrots and one toucan. Haymish and his girlfriend Coco were the funniest, hanging out by our side at breakfast and eyeing our daily fruit. Unlike the review two stories down, we actually liked the birds. Two weeks later, I'm still mimicking them. "Hola, como esta?" Now who's the parrot? ME!

Crab races? Yes, put a bunch of hermit crabs in a cup, shake them up, spill them out in the middle of a drawn circle and pray for your crab to cross the line first. Surprisingly, it's equally as fun as shooting craps. Crabs, craps .... What's the difference? ... The crab race benefits schools on Roatan.

Mama Kitty, she's a fierce one, scaring off dogs three times her size. One of six cats at West Bay Lodge, she definitely won our approval. We knew with Mama Kitty around, the monkey la las would leave us alone.

Last but in NO WAY least, Celeste and Milos ... There's too much to say. In one nondescript sentence (but you should take our word for it), they are great! In a few more sentences ... They felt a lot more like family than anything else. Hanging out by the newly installed pool, buying us avocados, drinking dacquiris by our side, Celeste and Milos were not only accommodating, they were fun to be with too.

As for everything else, the cabins were clean and cozy, the property was gorgeous and the nearby beach was stunning; in response to the power going out, don't go to a developing Caribbean country if you can't take the heat. And anyway, they just got a new generator. Ask Celeste all about it.

  • Liked — Hammocks, breakfast, Haymish, pool scene, Celeste and Milos
  • Disliked — That I couldn't find anything to dislike. And the mosquitos, but that was everywhere.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, On
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

My wife, 2 boys (6 and 3) and I stayed at the West Bay Lodge and had a wonderful time. We found the owners Milos and Celeste to be the nicest, most accomodating, friendliest people we have ever stayed with. We would highly recommend this resort.

Location:
The resort is just down a dirt road from the most beautiful beach on the island. The beach has beautiful white sand and crystal clear water. The snorkeling off this beach is outstanding with the reef starting just off the beach. There are several restaurants and bars close by as well as the water taxi to get to West End. There is also a store/deli accross the street if you need groceries or supplies. The lodge has recently added a nice pool which is perfect for cooling off. Overall a great location.

Rooms:
The bungalows are very nicely decorated and clean. The a/c worked well and the beds were comfortable. The rooms have everything you need as well as a stocked fridge full of beer and soft drinks and snacks which are reasonably priced. Each bungalow has a nice deck with a hammock outside - very nice.

Breakfast:
Celeste and Milos cook breakfast for the guests everyday. The breakfasts are delicious with different items served everyday. Provides a nice chance to get to know Celeste and Milos and the other guests as well as the parrots and toucan.

Overall Experience:
Given the fact that the rooms, location and food are great, the feature that makes this resort so special is the owners. Celeste, Milos and their son Jacob made sure everyone had everything they needed and would do anything they could to make your stay and your holiday special. It felt like we were staying with our best friends and they treated all the guests the same way. Our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

Next time we are in Roatan, we will definately stay here again. Thanks for the great holiday Celeste, Milos and Jacob.

  • Liked — The owners and the service
  • Disliked — The fact we had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing