We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than an all-inclusive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than an all-inclusive!”
Reviewed 29 November 2008

I was traveling around Honduras for 3 weeks, and West Bay Lodge was the BEST place I'd stayed at. They have it all: Full breakfast included (delicious!), Cable TV, AIr conditioning, a wonderful pool, free pick-up at the Airport or Ferry dock, a private kitchen (in 2 of the bungalows), an on site restaurant and pool deck (being built when I left), a great location 1 block from the best beach on Roatan, and of course the individual attention from the amazing owners Milos and Celeste. All for about $100 per night.

  • Liked — the atmosphere, location, breakfast....everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jobene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
269
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Just got back from a week in Roatan and all I can say is
Thank God for Celeste and Milos at the West Bay Lodge.
Even though we were there during a tropical depression they
still made it a great week. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
They take care of you like you were part of their family. If you stay with them make sure you ask them to take you the crab races
on Thursday night, you will have a great time and get a feel for
Roatan from a local's view.

  • Liked — Personal treatment
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank stevej7966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

If you're reading this review, then you are probably using the internet to research where you should stay in Roatan. Let me save you some time. You want to stay at the West Bay Lodge. You need to stay at the West Bay Lodge. And, you won't regret staying at the West Bay Lodge. I'm really not sure where to begin. Let's just say that after staying at the West Bay Lodge, staying at a regular hotel or resort will be a big disappointment. The proprietors, Milos and Celeste, treat their guests like gold. More on them in a minute.

Let's start with the actual physical structures and grounds that make up the West Bay Lodge. They're absolutely beautiful. Because it's built on the side of a small hill, there's a gorgeous view of the ocean from the breakfast palapa. The grounds are covered with beautiful trees, plants and flowers. The resort is also home to multiple friendly cats and tropical birds (parrots and a toucan- who, by the way, really appreciate a small bite of your breakfast if you're willing to share). The bungalows are very cozy and clean, and have been decorated with obvious care.
Even the smaller ones have a private porch, private hammock, TV, DVD player, safe, alarm clock, min-fridge, bathroom and air conditioner. Much nicer than having a generic hotel room. At West Bay, it's like having your own private "little house." There is also a small pool in the center of the grounds that is perfect for relaxing at night or after an afternoon in the ocean. The Lodge is not directly on the ocean, but this was never a problem, as it is a very short, easy walk to the beach.

Now some words about amenities. In addition to the above, the Lodge has free wi-fi internet access (so bring your laptop if you need to), free calls to the U.S. mainland (just ask and you will be given a cordless phone to use), laundry service if you need it, free breakfast every morning (it's a set daily menu and IT IS DELICIOUS! And don't be shy if you want seconds....), mini bar (which is priced very reasonably- I can't get a glass-bottled Coke in the U.S. for $1, but I could in my room!), free use of the large DVD collection, and pretty much anything else you might need like sunscreen or bug spray, once again, all at very reasonable prices. In fact, this is one of the best things about the West Bay Lodge. They are clearly not trying to "nickle and dime" you for every little thing. Celeste wouldn't even charge us for the laundry we had done towards the end of the week!

Finally, some words about the real magic of the West Bay Lodge- Milos and Celeste. You never feel like you're staying in a "hotel." Rather, they treat you like family. You can really tell how much they care about their guests. Believe me, it shows. Whatever you need, they seem to be able to make sure you get it. They're also very knowledgeable about the island, and can arrange your excursions or dinner reservations. And make sure you try Celeste's rum punch! Dangerously delicious, and again, reasonably priced!

P.S. A couple of tips for your stay: If the weather is cooperative, there is amazing snorkeling on the far left end of the beach (your left as you walk from the Lodge to the beach). You're going to need to swim a ways out to get to the really good stuff, but it's worth it. Don't stop until you're in 20-30 feet of water with huge coral heads below you. I personally feel the "bug" situation was overrated. I have more trouble with mosquitoes in my back yard in Ohio. Just a can of normal "OFF!" is just fine, if you need to wear it at all. I would recommend going to West End for the evening hours for some variety. You can actually take a water taxi from the West Bay Beach to West End for about $3 per person 1 way. Much more fun than a cab ride. Talk to the boat driver about taking you back at night. Some of them are willing to meet you later and take you back to West Bay. Cheaper than a cab, which is about $10.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank EVL_DEAD_ASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed at West Bay Lodge from 9/20-9/27. It was a phenomenal experience and a lesson in relaxation. Celeste and Milos are great hosts. Along with their staff, (Monica in particular) they run a wonderful lodge and create a fabulous home away from home atmosphere. The considerations for your comfort are non-stop: Need a cooler? They'll loan you one to use to bring beer down to the beach. Need more beer? It's in the fridge when you return. Special dietary requests for breakfast—(no onions please)—not a big deal. When our hot plate went out the one night we decided to cook at home, Milos replaced it immediately. The power went out once that we noticed, but the generator kept everything running smoothly and we remained in air conditioned bliss for our entire vacation. As power is unbelievably expensive there, we tried to conserve it by turning off the air conditioner before leaving the bungalow. Within an hour upon returning the bungalow was chilly chill. The beds were comfortable; the shower always had hot water, and the coffee and tea makers work great. There is a TV (plenty of stations available) and a DVD player, both of which were handy as everything seems to slow to a halt at around 7:00 pm, unless you wanted to go into West End. The in-room safe is a cool feature for those of us who worry. The pool is great to star gaze and relax in.

Monica would exhibit her artistic talent by way of petals, her canvas was our bed. She is a real sweetheart and composed a lovely birthday note to me and always left the bungalow spotless.

Everyday at breakfast (which were plenty and wonderful) Celeste would ask "would you like anything special in your room today?" She arranged a wonderful dinner on the beach at Blue Bahia for my birthday, and talk about customer service, she drove us there herself. In fact, the night before at the Crab Races she arranged to have a birthday cake there in my honor. If you want to arrange any tour or activity, talk to Celeste or Milos. They were by far cheaper than going through the booth on the beach.

The thoughtfulness never ended, which is why we left feeling like family. So much so, that I'm bringing several family members back next September for our wedding on the beach; which Celeste has graciously agreed to help me plan.

Can't wait to return to WBL!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Risa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

The West Bay Lodge is absolutely wonderful. Milos and Celeste made us feel like family. Its quiet, clean, great location... My wife and i were planning our next trip before we even left. We cant say enough good things about the West Bay Lodge but will post a trip report to try and sum things up.

John and Martha

PS. Celeste makes the best rum punch on the island.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We had to go home
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pac-nw
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2008

West Bay Lodge is Awesome! The vacation was a dream come true and you cannot find a more tranquil, inviting place on the island. By the end of your stay you feel like family and though you have made so many friends. We met a couple Risa and Brad and what a funny duo they are. They weren't quite the same as the "Canadian" couple, or the "Cleveland" couple as Brad seemed hopeful a dinosour or "sea monster" would appear. It was a great place to visit and everyone we met we enjoyed :)

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank leaping_gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I was tempted not to write a review, as frankly (and selfishly) I would prefer West Bay Lodge to remain a secret.

But this would be an injustice to Milosz and Celeste, whose generosity, enthusiasm and passion make this one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed.

And also previous reviews have done a great job of highlighting just how good this place is.

I won't cover what other people have said apart from to say that the lodge is stunning, the nearby beach spectacular and the water just unbelievable (within half an hour of snorkelling my wife and I decided to do our first ever scuba dive and had the most amazing experience).

Part of the success of West Bay Lodge is in the details. Want a humming bird feeding outside of your room? You got it! Want a toucan talking to you whilst you eat your breakfast (or maybe not)? You got it! Want to spend a day seeing incredible sealife and then chill in your room indulging in Milosz and Celeste's extensive DVD collection (Weekend at Bernies anyone?)? You got it!

And the other part of the success is the effort and flexibility the wonderful family go to to make your holiday as near perfect as possible. For example, it was a huge relief to walk off the ferry at Coxen Hole to be instantly greeted by Milosz (who also very kindly got up at 5.30am to take us back to the ferry when we left).

At the end of our stay Milosz shared his recipe for rum punch and our first night back in the UK we tried to recreate it. It doesn't taste the same!

  • Liked — Our hosts!
  • Disliked — There's nothing to complain about. Free daily massages would have been nice.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hannyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing