We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$316
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$458
US$253
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$728
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
462
84
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
84
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchmango treesstocked fridgeceleste's island cuisineminute walksnorkel tourbanana pancakesevery morninghome away from homefront porchkey lime pietropical paradisethe entire stafftwo queen bedscable tvlobstersmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My 2 kids (age 16 and 22) and I had the unique privilege to enjoy the kind, individual and memory building experience when staying 9 nights Feb. 11-20, 2010. Starting from prompt email correspondence to the included transportation to/from the airport we really were treated with personal yet "not in your face" service. What other family run place would greet you with "Would you like rum in your welcome punch?" Can we get you any groceries? (by the way, no extra charge for the groceries...at cost) What else can we fill your fridge with? Coke/Sprite/Beer/wine? (again-the cost is the same as the grocery store) Water cooler in room. The frig had a small freezer compartment-we filled for ice cubes and froze water containers from home for our coolers(also from home). Individually made, included breakfast was filling enough for our 2 tank dives. (protein, carbs and fruit) ...no sloppy buffet service here! Healthy, fresh daily breakfast menu changed. Entertainment with the 5-7 green parrots at breakfast and lunch. If you were not keen on the birds near you there were other tables. Daily maid service. A/C in your cabin. About 60 novels in the office to trade/borrow. 100 + DVD collection all/most PG to borrow. WiFi. Deli and Sub shop about 50 paces from property!
LOCATION was fantastic! It really is a 3 minute walk to beach. 100 metres before the beach is the Dive Shop we used-Bananarama.(we would dive here and no other place next time) There was a variety of restaurants walking on the beach east or west...20 choices. You can catch a water taxi/boat easily to West End...restaurants and trinkets. Walked to West End via beach...45 minutes. Did it once...that was enough for us. Saw maybe one or two large complexes in West Bay Area that provided the granite counter and sterile holidays. But if you have a keen interest in carving out a memory that will outlast the years to come, stay here. It really is like family. By the way, we are a family of 6 people who have travelled through Europe, South Africa, Costa Rica,New Zealand, Australia, Mexico, throughout the US and coast to coast Canada...West Bay Lodge ranks highly for building memories.
Milos and Celeste have created a location in such a way that one cannot separate the 10 day trip without the West Bay Lodge experience. Thank you and Kudos to Milos and Celeste-no wonder you are ranked #1.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Myself and two friends just got back from West Bay Lodge. We found the accommodations very charming, rustic and nicely decorated. It was very clean, well kept and new. The rooms were not large, but just the right size for the 3 of us and found them well equipped and nicely decorated with a tropical island charm. We found that it was very reasonably priced, and the location was good with a short walk to the beach. The breakfasts were excellent, and we looked forward to it them each morning. We also enjoyed playing with, and feeding the friendly parrots in the restaurant each morning at breakfast as well, (my favourite ones are Miss Cleo and Poncho) . The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange and book our activities, as well recommended taxis etc. Milos and Celeste were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately it rained and was overcast for 3 of the seven days that we were there, (but this is typical weather for the rainy season, as we were told by the locals), and we almost didn't get to Roatan due to flight cancellations out of Atlanta GA from the snow storm that disabled the city. Our flight was very late arriving, but we still had a ride waiting for us at the airport. My only negative feedback, was the balcony sliding screen door on our room was broken, which prevented us from keeping the flies and mosquitos out while sitting on the balcony and could not get as much air circulation and breeze into the room to help let the heat out (although the rooms were completely air conditioned - we did not really need to use it because the temperatures were pleasant and could get enough of a breeze to keep the room a comfortable temperature). We also had a difficult time regulating the hot water in the shower, as it went hot and cool while trying to take a shower. The bathroom was very nice, clean and new with nice amenities, and fresh towels daily. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and utensils for our cooking needs and was supplied with a variety of spices etc which was an unexpected bonus. There was also a water dispenser in the room with safe drinking water, and we rented a cell phone while there also so we could call home. We could also borrow free DVD's from the lodges personal library - which was good during the rainy weather. There was construction on the property, but the owners did their best to try not to let the construction interfere on our vacation, the workers did not start until we were awake. The living room couch and chair were a little uncomfortable to sit in, but when you go there, you don't really go to hang around in the room, and this is only a minor unimportant detail. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves, the friendly and safe atmosphere, and the beach, snorkelling and coral reef was the best I have ever seen by far. I would recommend this location, and would consider going back for another visit because it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farm_girl_035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I had a great experience at west bay lodge! Their food was so good, we were eating there, and overheard other couples from all inclusive places that chose to eat there instead. They're by the best beach- a short walk to the beach, but far enough away its private. They also made a sand sidewalk to walk down to the beach. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2scuba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

West Bay Lodge was wonderful for our family vacation in Roatán. Our bungalow (#7) included a separate bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed, another queen bed in an area off the living room, a nice kitchen, great bathroom, and seating for 4 in the living room. On most mornings, the two of us loved going out on the deck (facing West Bay) to watch the community start their day, visit over morning coffee, listen to the birds in nearby tall trees, use the WiFi, or enjoy a good read. We usually met our adult children and grandchildren (who stayed at other properties) for a mid-morning snorkel, and enjoyed dinner as a big group in the early evenings. Celeste and Milos helped us get a great deal on fish and island shrimp for several family dinners that we prepared in our bungalow. The owners were very gracious to invite other family members to enjoy the wonderful pool area, and allowed us to have our grandsons stay with us overnight while the young adults enjoyed the island night life. On our last day in Roatán, our flight was cancelled due to winter weather in the US. However, Celeste was right on top of this and asked if we wanted to be booked on another flight. She took care of us and also did this for our son, even though he was staying at other lodging. We're already planning our third family vacation to Roatán, and we will definitely return to West Bay Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

At last someone who listens to one needs ! OK its not right on the beach like I wanted but so close it did not make a difference and our hosts Milos and Celeste arranged chairs on the beach for us everyday. They made us feel at home ..or like they were "new friends". The atmosphere was totally relaxed and any side trips we wanted to do were quickly arranged with good english speaking drivers as our Spanish is a bit lacking. Good food at good prices as well in their small open air type restaurant surrounded by tropical greenery. Yummy breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solazT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews