We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This was one of the best vacations I've taken. There were no skyscraper hotels, just cabins. It felt like we were outside all the time rather than in a box a person rents for a week. Celeste and Milos were excellent hosts. Very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlajavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
130
268
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The host Milos and Celeste are great host, they took care of us well. We enjoyed our stay very much. The ocean was beautifull . The Locals are friendly and helpfull. It was nice to get up in the morning and have a nice breakfast provided by the host and served by the very helpfull staff. You will find a lot of folks from all over the globe, so it makes for a fun time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kopasz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This place is really like a little home away from home, cozy clean rooms, sweet and friendly staff, relaxed comfy feeling, and good food in the restaurant. I came with a medical condition that limits my diet and they bent over backwards to accomodate me. We liked being a little bit further from the beach (easy to walk across the street, and so much quieter). The pool is so nice, and the rum punch rocks. More than anything else, Celeste and Milosh are the nicest folks, you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leilanijensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

West Bay Lodge is fabulous. This was our second trip to Roatan and we returned to Milos and Celeste's wonderful B&B. We chose West Bay Lodge because it had a pool and is close to the beach (only 900 ft, I think). The bungalows are very comfortable yet somewhat rustic. One of the best perks about not being on the beach is the opportunity to escape the cruise ship crowds that converge on West Bay several times per week. The positive side of cruise ship days is that there is a nice festive atmosphere and you can here island music while snorkeling! Our intention of traveling to Roatan was for my husband to get dive-certifed, which he did. Bananarama was recommended to us and they did a great job. Very safe.
Don't forget to try one of Celestes's baleadas--they are so good!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ComfortCozySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We cannot wait to return to West Bay Lodge. My 8 year old daughter and 5 year old son had a dream-like holiday with my partner and his 14 year old son. Milos and Celeste are lovely hosts; we were welcomed and encouraged to feel at home.
The setting of the bungalows is idyllic with banana trees, mango trees, heliconia plants...our daily routine involved enjoying Celeste's bountiful breakfast, a leisurely walk to the beach for snorkeling and sandplay, followed by a late lunch back at our bungalow. The kids spent every afternoon and early evening at the pool which was 90 degrees!
The weather was ideal, the food was delicious; I miss my afternoon Rum Punches with a sprinkling of nutmeg on top!
We needed a longer stay to explore more of the island. We did the dolphin experience at Anthony's Key which was excellent as well as the zipline at South Shore. Juan Carlos was an outstanding tour guide for us for a day. We ate at his favorite cafe in Gravel Bay; don't miss it! My favorite shop was Waves of Art in West End; what a wonderful place!
Be sure to bring Similac Advance as West Bay Lodge supports a clinic which benefits enfants whose mothers are HIV positive. The local schools can always use school supplies if you can fit anything extra in your luggage.
Skin So Soft worked great to keep the evening bugs away. Bring lots of sunscreen and reapply often!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayaker4life40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

It was two times now we stayed in this place. We loved it first time so much that we knew if we go to Roatan again, we will only stay here. Seleste and Milos do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable as much as possible. The bungalows we stayed both times were great, and they have spa and restaurant now. They arranged a trip for us. It feels like we are in paradise there. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbukhonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Both my husband and I would highly recommend West Bay Lodge. We're both young professionals who usually travel using hostels and budget hotels, but as we only had a week in Roatan we wanted something comfortable and relaxing. West Bay Lodge was a great choice. It didn't feel like a huge resort as they only have 8 bungalows, but rather a friendly comfortable place to relax. The pool was great on cruise ship days as the beach can get busy mid-day, but we still snorkeled every morning and late afternoon. The rooms are great and the air conditioners work well, but there was always a nice breeze so we didn't need it much. The beach is amazing and the snorkeling fantastic although it's sad to see the cruise shippers wrecking the reef (I saw some guys standing on the reef many times). Milos and Celeste are very friendly and it was all around a really great relaxing vacation. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Canadaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing